We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rainforest setting. Great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fabulous rainforest setting. Great restaurant”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here recently for 5 nights to have a break and celebrate my 50th birthday with a family lunch at Songbirds Restaurant. Villas are well appointed and spacious and bathroom has a huge 2 person spa overlooking the rainforest. We stayed in Villa 3 and think this is one of the most private of the non executive villas. We thought 5 nts may be too long, but it was perfect and gave us lots of time to have a leisurely look around Mt Tamborine shops, do a couple of walks, eat out and relax. The restaurant at Songbirds is first rate. We had dinner there one night and family lunch for 14 people on another day. Service, presentation and quality of food were excellent. I'd say it's the best restaurant in Mt Tamborine and even if you arent staying there, you should eat there at least once. Menu is quite small so if you are staying there for more than a couple of nights, you definitely would need to eat out to get variety. We also at at Pethers Rainforest Retreat. Stunning, stunning setting and ambience, food ok, not as good as Songbirds.
Gripes, a couple of minor ones. No lamp or light in villa strong enough to read by. Great for mood lighting, but not reading. I also think it would be a great service to offer some sort of breakfast for in house guests (and perhaps others?). You can order a breakfast basket,but it's expensive for what you get (from memory $36 a day). Other than this, loved it and would stay again.
PS Great place to eat breakfast in town is Spice of Life. Good food and great staff.

Room Tip: We liked villa 3 for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    27
    4
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
104
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My Hubby and I stayed for five nights at this beautiful place, we live by the beach and wanted a relaxing cozy week on the rainforest mountain ..Song birds is on 50 + acres of rainforest, with sculptures in the gardens, fruit orchard and vege gardens, you can walk through their bush walk which is nice, or drive only 3 mins down the road to a gorgeous bush walk called cedar creek falls and see waterfalls. ( dont do the sky walk in the other direction, its too expensive and not worth it) When we arrived there we tried villa 6 for the first night, it was lovely, chilled music was on, king bed, away from the other villas and nice mood lighting, and a warm gas fire was lit already, but we wanted a four poster bed, ( that villa did not have it but the furnishings were alot newer) so we mentioned it to the staff who were amazingly accomodating and we were able to move into villa 3 for the rest of our stay, the next night. Villa 3 was pretty much exactly the same, but the shower was a little worn around the bottom seal, The bathroom was still beautiful with a great big double spa! more secluded with rainforest on the front balcony, there was a mini bar, (which we did not use actually , we bought some of our own food and put it in the fridge) the villa is not self contained though, has a microwave, and The Four poster bed was wonderful, real comfy with soft pillows.. would have been nicer with more drapery on top of the poster bed to stop some sunlight coming in the early morning, but thats a small thing, ( just being fussy) as we loved the whole place!! We were able to have a couples massage in our room, next to our fireplace and the massuese's were great and offered to fill up our spa bath afterwards!
The restaurant food was amazing! and wine gorgeous, beautiful experience, staff were really accomodating, the place looked perfect for intimate weddings.
We definately want to go back again for a weekend..
However; I dont think we will do a whole week again, as the only real problem we found was the cleanliness of the place, as we stayed so long.... better for weekend stays.
We had to do our own dishes in the bathroom sink sometimes ( it was a nice bathroom however) and the sink is not really made for dish washing ( and you dont really want to do that on your break away?!) and nearly ran out of toilet paper one day, which was quite awkward.
The cleaning ladies were lovely but a little laid back, did not change all the bins, or wipe over benches, or the leather lounge or change our bed sheets; they made the bed, but after a couple of days we thought they should be changed ? and they cleaned in the afternoon, so by that time, we had done the dishes anyway so we could eat! We were not sure if they were trying to stay out of our way, or whether that was their cleanliness level.. they were really lovely to talk to and all the people at song birds are wonderful and helpful.. they even gave us a free cuppa, a card and book at the end of our stay!! But to really enjoy, better for a 3 day stay, unless you dont mind cleaning a little yourself.

Room Tip: the rooms are all similar really lovely , 6 does not have the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

From the moment we booked, we were excited about our stay. Cheryl was so friendly and was so helpful in booking our massages and dinner in the restaurant at time of booking, so we didn't have to think of anything when we arrived. Driving up the secret driveway to the unassuming cabin nestled in the trees, we thought for one split second we had made a mistake. But then we opened the door to this lush room with a fire warming the room, chilled music playing and beautiful decor. The four poster bed was huge and so very comfy. There was oil to burn to set the mood, or a bit of incense if we so chose. There were luxury goodies in the bathroom which had the perfect size (and shaped) spa bath for two! Even the mini bar was well equipped for bunkering down, relaxing and enjoying. In warmer weather we could even sit out on our own private deck that was not overlooked by anyone. We started the weekend with an amazing massage each which took place in our room and then followed that with the most delicious degustation dinner with matching wines in the restaurant. Trent and his team have nailed the food - it was superb! So much so, that we decided not to leave the retreat the next day at all and instead had a lovely, long leisurely lunch back in the restaurant to try the dishes that weren't on the dego the night before!! And we weren't disappointed! Overall, we had such a lovely weekend away, we have not stopped telling everyone about it and hope we can make it back next year for our next anniversary! We would recommend Songbirds to anyone looking to get away, wanting privacy, but also wanting class and quality accommodation and dining.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The room was lovely, the service excellent, and the food divine.
nice quiet location in the rainforest, we would love to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A bit disappointing . . .

We had updated out time of arrival, however the receptionist we spoke with didn't make note on our booking . . . so upon arrival, they were not expecting us, & hence the room wasn't ready. They did act quickly & rushed housekeeping into readying another room while we relaxed in the Restaurant.

The Restaurant Manager rudely brushed passed us into the reception area while we were waiting for the receptionist to clear up the confusion with our early arrival. No apology . . . hmmm. The next evening as we were waiting to be seated in the Restaurant, he calls across the Restaurant to us: "You right there!" - giving us the feeling that we were not very welcome - very surprising service from a great Restaurant with a beautiful menu. PS The food IS excellent.

The Restaurant seemed a bit understaffed for a Saturday night, & they did well to keep it under control . . . but only just! If they want to keep a high rating, management needs to consider staffing needs, not just bottom-line profits. Just a thought.

The room quality is good, if not a bit tired. Ours needed a refurb. The couch was almost dead, with great pitholes under the cover to fall into. The edges tired & worn. The bathroom was nice, however the shower screen edges were corroded & rusty in places.

Excellent king-size bed - we slept well. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

On arrival at our room, the gas fire was already lit and the room was warm and welcoming. There is much attention to detail - it's decorated with a personal touch, not the mass produced "niceness" of hotel chains. Set right in the bush: quite charming...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occasionalvisitor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed overnight in a villa. My partner and I had two massages on arrival that were fantastic. Felt completely relaxed and rejuvanated. Enjoyed a luxurious double spa bath before having dinner at Songbirds restaurant. Food was to die for! Menu contained delightful dishes. Evening was very romantic. Villa was always warm and toasty with a constant fire. Would recommend to anyone and will definitely be back for another stay! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygordon90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Tamborine hotels
1.8 km away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.8 km away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.9 km away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.1 km away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.3 km away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songbirds Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songbirds Rainforest Retreat

Property: Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Address: Tamborine Mountain Road | P.O. Box 275, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Songbirds Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Songbirds Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing