We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pretty place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clive Colonial Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had a lovely stay in Clive but unfortunately the weather was terrible so we were unable to make the most of the very pretty grounds surrounding Colonial Cottages.However the billiards and darts helped! Excellent location equidistant to Napier and Havelock North, and plenty of nearby wineries to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Many thanks for your review, it is really appreciated. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our last stop in NZ, and by far the most pleasant place we stayed. Neil and Sandra were the perfect hosts, and a pleasure to get to know over our 5-day stay. The cottages are well situated for easy access to all that Hawke's Bay offers.

Richard & Doris, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard8Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Richard & Doris, it was a delight to meet you and so glad that the cottages were your trip highlight! Many thanks for the fantastic review and comments, it is really appreciated. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We received this referral from a colleague who had stayed there the previous month. The owners were very good and helpful, making us dinner reservations at one of the wineries in the area. The cottage is well kept, clean and all things in the cottage was functioning. There were provisions for breakfast which included eggs from their free range chickens on site. There is also laundry facilities as well. We enjoyed our stay at Clive Cottages and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

So glad you had a great time Sharon and thanks so much for your kind comments. It is really appreciated. Kindest regards, sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and had an amazing time. We stayed in Tui cottage which was absolutely beautiful. Really quiet, really spacious and comfortable as well as beautifully decorated. Loads of information on the surrounding area, and the owners were super friendly and helpful. Really appreciated the provision of breakfast ingredients (eggs, bread, juice, cereal etc) and LOVED the shower - spacious and ridiculously hot and powerful.

Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

What a wonderful review, many thanks for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Many many thanks, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Relaxing stay in gorgeous cottages... We stayed for one night in the Bellbird cottage and couldn't have been more impressed. Cottages were beautifully appointed and exceptionally clean and tidy. Hosts Sandra and Neil were very attentive and made sure we felt at home. Would love to have benn able to stay for longer. Awesome place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thanks for your great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you back here again in the future. Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights and loved it! Felt like we were staying with friends.The attention to detail by Sandra and Neil was delightful and they made us feel so welcome and looked after. Beautiful place to stay with that extra point of difference that truely makes you want to go back for more....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thanks so much for your kind review. It is really appreciated and it was so nice to meet you guys and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed two nights at the Clive Colonial Cottages and they were absolutely wonderful. Very clean and tidy with a well appointed kitchenette with everything we needed. The provision of breakfast ingredients for the first morning was hugely appreciated. We would definitely stay here again if we are back in the area. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thanks so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
11.3 km away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
2 km away
Clive Studios
Clive Studios
#1 of 1 in Clive
36 reviews
0.2 km away
Lawn Cottages
Lawn Cottages
#2 of 5 in Clive
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4102, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Clive
Price Range: $140 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clive Colonial Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing