We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lake Tekapo Village Motel(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
US$98
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Three Rivers Lodge(Lake Tekapo)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lake Tekapo Cottages(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mantra Lake Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakeview Tekapo(Lake Tekapo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cairns Retreat(Lake Tekapo)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
82
28
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
28
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch housegarden studiooverlooking the churchmary macsquaint cottagedog statuenew zealandstayed nightsa lovely staymin walkelectric blanketsvillage centrefull kitchenretreatshepherdaccommodationproperty
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 129 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved the estate and Patricia was extremely accommodating. The cottage was so cute and the view was amazing! Staying here was an added bonus to our honeymoon! I would recommend Parkbrae Estate to not only couples for a romantic night/weekend but also for families. A great place to stay and somewhere we will most definitely be returning to.
Hayley and Brad

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking to write such lovely comments! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you both again! Maybe for an anniversary celebration ;-)
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My Family and I went to New Zealand for Christmas 2012 and stayed in Lake Tekapo on Dec 31st.

The room we stayed in was a beautiful little room on the top of the garden tower. In all honesty, this is the best view in all of the south island. The view we were provided was an unfettered view of the Church of the Good Shepherd and of course Lake Tekapo itself.
We can highly recommend the accommodation and the staff.

As a side note, my wife lost her wedding rings whilst we stayed at the garden tower, quite a stressful moment whilst on holidays. The staff at Parkbrae basically pulled the room a part brick by brick in their efforts to help find our rings and once found they coordinated with ourselves to get the rings couriered back to Australia in a very quick manner.

I was very impressed with the honesty and integrity of the staff and their willingness to go that extra mile to ensure my wife had her wedding rings back. As matter of fact, Parkbrae paid for the courier back to Australia and spent countless time on the phone, sometimes at their own expense working through where we think we lost the rings and finally filling out the bloody customs forms for my over protective country.

A top effort.

Travis Maher
Melbourne, Australia.

Room Tip: Choose the Garden tower, top level.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travismaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Travis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Really delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and even more that the "precious" rings arrived safely to your hands!
Send our best regards to your family and please ensure you return a next time.
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and friends all stayed at Parkbrae estate for my wedding, we had people come from all over the world, and everyone was impressed with Parkbrae, it really is a magical place.

Patricia was extremely helpful and welcoming, the wedding reception was on the estate too, all went to plan. A fantastic place for a wedding and reception

Thanks again and we will be back for a winter visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hi Maria,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments! I have to say it was a pleasure having you all here! Especially for such a beautiful and meaningful occasion.
Delighted all went to plan and your friends and family enjoyed their time with us.
We would love to see you again and Winter is a magical season in Tekapo! You'll love it!

Keep us posted and hopefully see you in a few months.
Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We took a deliberate detour from Queenstown to Christchurch to visit Tekapo for the small town's quaint setting and unique range of cottage homes to select from.
Upon alighting from outside the Church, the trek along the gravel road with luggages was an arduous challenge. Sought the help of Estate staff (without realising later he was Graeme Murray, the owner of Parkbrae Estate) and he kindly provided a truck with hydraulic featurers to lower/raise the carriage for the guests boarding/alighting and driven along the uneven grounds to our place of stay. The unforgettable check-in stay was further enlivened by a free-spirited girl who ran near to Church House seeking 'refuge' and hiding behind the tall Lupins - from the beckon of calls by her mother. The stay was enlivened by the glorious view of the Lake and majestic sight of snow-capped mountain in the distant. Despite the lack of functional modern TV programmes or cable channels, most visitors are here to bask in the glory and beauty of what Nature has to offer. Starry night and when luck has it in the right time of the year - Southern Lights.

Room Tip: Refer to its website for its different cottage houses of different beds/number of guests configurations. We chose Church Room for its 2 rooms with 4 guests and its proximity to the landmarks of Tekapo - Church of Good Shepherd & Statue of its Shepherd Dog. The front porch of room has a magnificent view of the night sky - unforgettable and must-do when in Tekapo.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emersonlou9285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments!
We so appreciate your opinion and description of our property.
Delighted you have enjoyed your time with us and thank you so much for the kind gift.

We would love to welcome you once more to our paradise by the Lake, so please keep in touch.
Merry Christmas!
Patricia Baptista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed for two nighst en route from Dunedin to Christchurch. Accommodation was roomy and comfortable but found the heating wasn't really adequate to cope with the particularly cold frosty nights we encountered. The stting was perfect with a short walk into the village and a choice of some very good value restaurants. Had problems with wi-fi connection but could not fault the owner in her efforts to solve the problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments as we value honest opinions! We appreciate you patience regarding internet access and were happy all worked out in the end.
We were delighted to have you with us and really look forward to another visit in the near future :-)

Best wishes,
Patricia Baptista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews