We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice, tranquil and wonderful views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice, tranquil and wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for 4 nights there in Jan 2012 and were totally satisfied. Hearty welcome, very good service with a professional touch to it. Breakfast was very good, we missed nothing. Hosts gave us lots of information about the place and walking / cycling tours around the lakes which were very useful and made our stay even better. Go there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markus252_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Our hosts were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The guest breakfast room has lovely views over the lake.

Our room was small but beautifully decorated and very comfortable.

The continental breakfast provided was amazing including home made yoghurt and freshly made bread.

The location is a little way out of the town but not a problem for us as we had a car.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney_geek_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Chris has got the balance just right. We were so glad to take her advise and walk up to St John's Ovbservatory. The lake was unbelievable from that vantage point and the walk/hike made it such a good reward. The bedroom and en-suite was spotless. Breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit, cereals yoghurt, home made bread and quality preserves. The outlook from the table was something special and has imprinted itself on our minds.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Glacier Rock B & B. Room was cosy, comfortable and clean. Chris was a hospitable host who had great knowledge of Lake Tekapo and its vinicity. Breakfast was rather good with home made bread, yoghurt and cereals and that is complimented with a spectacular view of the lake. In the night, you can comfortably see the twinking stars from the terrace which was designed with that in mind.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin and Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to Queenstown. Very nice home with amazing views. Chris was a very nice host and breakast was average. She upgraded us to the bigger room with a private deck that was amazing!!!! During breakfast we were seperated from the rest of the home by closed doors so it gave us our privacy but it also made it feel like a hotel and not a B&B. The conversation with the hosts was minimal and it almost felt forced but since Lake Tekapo is so small it would be impossible to not find your way around. The real attraction of this B&B is the location and the views.
The food in downtown was great (MacKenzie's) but the biggest letdown was the Observatory. They require 8 people minimum and it was upsetting not to go since we had 6 people ready to go.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSV-PMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

This is a great place all around. Great base for Mt. Cook. Very good breakfast with freshly baked bread. Nice and helpful host. Room was very nice and clean. But the highlight in my opinion is clearly the views from the room and the open porch, both of the lake and surrounding mountains (including amazing sunrises and sunsets), and also the night sky (saw the Magellan clouds for the first time - and with naked eyes). Winner of best view on our trip!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jsdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hosts were very welcoming and full of local knowledge. room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was very good - freshly baked bread and wonderful local produce.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PershoreRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.5 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
1.3 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.0 km away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 35 Lochinver Avenue | P.O. Box 109, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Rock Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing