We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
520
44
10
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
44
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south beach fish our honeymoon nosy be beautiful island breakfast and lunch white sand boat transfer paradise on earth mini bar spent nights indian ocean marine life amazing experience scuba dive staff were excellent no shoes
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 582 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

I could write a long review but quite simply I could also sum it up by saying that this place is paradise!

Excellent, warm service, every comfort you can expect and more and simply the best beaches, facilities and food. You will be spoilt here and leaving will be sad!

We only wished that we could have stayed longer. One the way back from Constance Tsarabinjina to Nosy Be - the boat stopped as the driver spotted a whale. We were then able to take pictures and enjoy the sight of two whales and a dolphin swimming. That was the perfect end to our stay in paradise!

You need to experience it for yourself. Thank you to the entire staff at Constance Tsarabanjina - you have left us with memories to last a lifetime :)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

It’s not often that places live up to their billing, more so when the translation of your appelation means a “Prize for the Eyes”. Yet the remote Madagacascan island of Tsarabanjina not only does that, but in its own manifestation, it outshines all expectations.

Tsarabanjina lies 70 kms due north of the buzzing tourist trap, Nosy Be, an island province at the north-western tip of Madagascar. The capital village is a colourful hamlet by the name of Hall Ville, charmingly adorned in its vibrant African regalia, functionally efficient with its municipal fountains in splendid profusion, and by the standards of developing countries, delightfully clean. Hall-Ville doubles as Nosy Be’s principal sea port as well, and while ours was only a flirting glance as we passed through, we’ll make a point of lingering next time; fascinatingly, Hall Ville is clothed in a serendipitous blend of the cultures behind Madagascar’s history, African, Indonesian and French.

There is a danger to expectation though, and in the case of Tsarabanjina, it rests in the fact that it is part of the Mauritian-based Constance group’s constellation of high-end hotels; if you arrive at Tsarabanjina anticipating the European-style luxury of the Constance Belle Mare Plage in Mauritius, you’re going to be despondent.

Tsarabanjina has an innocent simplicity to it, a disarmingly relaxed place free of pretence, yet at the same time tastefully and comfortably appropriate for the unspoilt environs of an island paradise. The staff are delightfully obliging, accommodating the communicative demands of Italians, French, Saudi Arabian, Palestinians and South African guests as best they can, and while proficiency can’t be a feature of your conversation, when we’ve removed our shoes and felt the “powder puff” fabric of the beaches, we’re suddenly happy to reach one another through a combination of “pigeon” Malagasy and sign language.

Remembering the remoteness of its location, Tsarabanjina’s cuisine has the capacity to surprise, a happy blend of this morning’s fish, crayfish and crab, a surprisingly good cut of local Zebu beef and a bounty of fresh vegetables, fruits and salads, which adorn the buffet.

The bungalows are generously spacious, with staggering views of the most pristine ocean environs in the world and a cluster of enchanting neighbouring islands. In contrast to many of the world’s marine sanctuaries, where global warming threatens the very existence of their coral reefs, there are encouraging signs under the waters of Madagascar of regrowth and vitality in the countless thousands of acres of coral beds in the vicinity. Fish abound, as does the bird life, and while we’re not necessarily your most avid “twitchers”, Cheryl and I are nonetheless addicted to the wilds, and always thrilled to pick up a “lifer”, including a small colony of Greater and Lesser Frigate birds and the emblematic White-Tailed Tropic bird.

The one “downer” we encountered was the sadly endemic practice increasingly apparent in many exit points these days. On our way out, we passed 5 different customs, police and security checkpoints, and at 3 of these, we were blatantly solicited for a bribe. This is a poor reflection on the immigration officials of such an enchanting country, more so as the “takers” are all gainfully employed, unlike some of the very poor people outside. God help this good country to get rid of it. We found by the way, that a slightly elevated voice in dealing with the solicitations, generally shut these officials up.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank muhtafal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Little tiny but beautiful island in the Indian Ocean.
Madagascar’s best kept secret!!!!
Villas are comfortable and well equipped.
Very friendly stuff, sometimes is difficult to communicate, specially in English.
Food is pretty good, lunch buffet and gourmet style dinner, with not many choices, but good enough for being in a desert island!
Breakfast could be better... but again is a great and luxury version of Robison Crusoe’s style vacation.
Common areas are not very big, could be crowded if there is fully occupancy... but the sound of the ocean make you forget about it.
Perfect place to relax and get really disconnected from the world!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Idillic, romantic, tropical, unspoilt beauty & nature... are some of the words that come to mind. Being a 1-2 hours (depending sea conditions) speed boat ride away from Nossy Be, this is a truly hidden gem. Henry, Elena and their team take service levels to the next level. Although not all the staff are Enlish speaking their friendliness, smiling faces and attention to detail goes along away. E.g. person servicing our mini bar in the room brought me a 2L juice daily, sometimes twice a day after i asked him on day 1 for a fruit juice. If you like fish, seafood & French cuisine this is the place to visit. Fish life in abundance because my husband went on a 6 hour fishing trip and caught 3 Sword fish, tuna & lots of other small fish. The hotel specially prepared the fish for us and it was also on the menu the next day. We had awesome walks & kayaking around the island . There are many excursions available daily, snorkeling, sunset cruises, exploring local villages etc. South beach is definately the preferred beach because it is protected from the wind and afternoon sun. Villa no 14 is very private & closest to spa surrounded by big trees. Even the birds are friendly as we had a daily visitor on our porch, sometimes pecking on toes. Wi-fi is only available at the bar/restaurant area.
With direct flights from various destinations Tsarabanjina is easily accessible.
Cautionary note: 1) dont spoil your holiday with side effects from malaria tablets. This is a malaria free island. 2) ensure all souveniors are packed in checked-in luggage. We were stopped at security at Nossy Be airport with “forbidden” items in our hand luggage 3) Airport officials are asking for “a gift”.

Date of stay: June 2018
4  Thank JanetH2194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We stayed in July last year but I never got around to writing a review. Generally we shy away from inclusive hotels but Tsarabanjina really opened our eyes. Loved every minute of our stay. And so much gratitude we have for the entire team that made our stay that much more memorable. Watching the staff load and unload provisions and supplies to and from a boat (if you stay on the north beach you may get a chance to see this) makes you appreciate them and their hard work. They basically line up in the water and pass down boxes and crates of supplies. And to the "ninjas" who sweep sand from your room, restock your snacks, clean the foot bath (the one outside the door to rinse your feet so you don't drag sand into your room when you're not there, thank you. Thank you for Erhet and Gideon too. Beautiful island and wonderful staff.
We plan to revisit and look forward to that day! And to get our names plaques on the bar ; )

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BBK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews