We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still worth the drive from Owen Sound”

Harvest Moon Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Lion's Head
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Description: Charming country bakery set on a 25 acre farm. Specializing in local, seasonal, and organic artisan baking. Fresh fruit pies, pasties and other savoury iternationaly flavoured items. Desserts such as awesome butter tarts, brownies, sticky-toffee pudding and much more. Baking on the Bruce since 1996!
Restaurant details
Description: Charming country bakery set on a 25 acre farm. Specializing in local, seasonal, and organic artisan baking. Fresh fruit pies, pasties and other savoury iternationaly flavoured items. Desserts such as awesome butter tarts, brownies, sticky-toffee pudding and much more. Baking on the Bruce since 1996!
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

I wrote a review last Labour Day weekend about doing a 2hr. round trip drive from Owen Sound to Harvest Moon to get some pies for a family and friends end of summer gathering. I said it was worth the drive then - and it was again.

We called ahead to order 1 mixed fruit, 1 apple, 1 wild blueberry and 3 peach pies. All of them - fantastic.

I also can't praise highly enough the friendly staff.

Harvest Moon is a gem on the Bruce.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank GMLOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2017

This place has limited opening hours and days, as we found out the hard way after showing up twice when it was closed. It is tucked out of the way and reached through a side road of highway 6, the main thoroughfare in the peninsula. Yet, our wait was well worth it. The baked goods are delicious Yet what really stands out is the possibility of sitting outside on a quaint porch and even nicer garden surrounded by walking paths lined by wildflowers, sculptures and installations. It is truly a unique place with the feel of a family business and an edgy vibe.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

The organic, vegan and gluten free baked goods will certainly be a draw to a number of people seeking this kind of fair. However, this type of baking seems to always be on the dry side, so choices such as the cream type desserts or the fruit pies may prove to be the better choices. We tried the chocolate brownie but it was extremely dry. Tasty, but due to the dryness needed something like a moist icing for balance. The butter scones with the cranberries again had a good taste but was also quite dry. These, I would slice open, add butter and heat. The Cornish pasties looked interesting so we bought a couple of these as well, however, I prefer these heated so these will be tried later at home. Again, being vegan, these may not be to everyone's taste. We really wanted to try the pizza, but unfortunately this is only made on Sundays. Quality offerings but for a more limited clientele.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arranlad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

I really wanted to try this place, all the reviews are amazing, I promised my family to do that, then to my shock found out that they close @ 4:30 in a long weekend !!! who does that !!! Anyway I understand the lay back attitude but guys you can't close touristic attraction at 4:30 PM on a summer long weekend.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrASM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Driving south on Hwy 6 from Tobermory, we were looking for something to eat. We spied the sign on the west side of the road for the Harvest Moon Bakery (almost missed it, so keep a lookout for it). It's an out of the way bakery, organic and homey. The options were great and tasty. Staff is inviting and friendly. Cash only establishment.
There is a garden on site as well and we enjoyed walking around enjoying our bakery items. This is a place we'll always stop at when were up in the Tobermory area.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank rgkuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harvestmoon2016, Owner at Harvest Moon Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Thanks so much! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest Moon Bakery also viewed

Lion's Head, Bruce Peninsula
Lion's Head, Bruce Peninsula
 
Bruce Peninsula, Bruce County
Lion's Head, Bruce Peninsula
 
Lion's Head, Bruce Peninsula
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Harvest Moon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing