We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CHS56
England, United Kingdom

Oh dear!!!!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 17, 2019
We came here on our tour of Canada booked through and agent. I was completely astounded when I saw the “shed” we were given the key to and immediately turned around and went back to reception. I told the owner we could not stay there but he did offer a room in the main lodge. This was slightly better than the previous room we were given, although a large bright room it sadly lacked in maintenance and care. Unfortunately this place is very worn and tired looking it great need of an upgrade.

We had dinner and breakfast there and these meals were okay not great - homely rather than outstanding.

However that said the owner was extremely friendly and tried hard to please. The surroundings were incredible including the chipmunks on the front porch. The lake was lovely and I am sure there were wonderful birds etc all around.

I am glad we only stayed one night!
Date of stay: September 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Patio amenities building
    9.3 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$285
    • Expedia.com
      C$297
    19.9 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$238
    Join Wyndham Rewards Free
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$216
    • Booking.com
    19.9 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Ascend
      C$179
    • Priceline
    19.9 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$178
    • Expedia.com
      C$225
    20.0 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$351
    • Booking.com
    20.0 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$379
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Hampton
    • Priceline
    20.1 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$254
    Fully refundable
    • Wyndham
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    20.1 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$143
    • Expedia.com
      C$162
    20.2 km from Lac Le Jeune Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lac Le Jeune
    Reviews (241)
    Filter reviews
    241 results
    Traveller rating
    91
    72
    40
    25
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    91
    72
    40
    25
    13
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 241 reviews
    Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

    This hotel is in a tranquil and picturesque setting right next to the lake. A warm welcome awaits from the staff and the food is freshly cooked and wholesome. That said, the decor is rather dated, the wi fi is spasmodic and maintenance could do with an upgrade. A kettle in the room would also be appreciated.

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank R2002MOsaraha
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

    I hardly ever experienced such a dirty, bad smelling, rotten place : I cannot really believe that it is
    well rated in Tripadvisor with such untrue pictures. It is a Shame. The lake is nice but sleeping in such a Room is a nightmare.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank cinziam616
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jason Upton, Owner at Lac Le Jeune Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2022

    Please accept my apologies for this situation. The previous owner of this resort abandoned it in fall 2019 and neglected to turn off the automatic bookings here. We don't know the circumstances of Derick's disappearance, so we hope he's okay and don't want to cast judgment. However, this should not have happened to you. Please be aware that we are in NO WAY associated with him or previous ownership, but will take over the resort in January 2023 and look forward to reopening its doors after 3.5 years of closure. Reach out to us, please, as we want to make up for this inconvenience with a voucher. We are going to give it a deep cleaning throughout and make repairs, of course, with updates coming later and regularly. We look forward to seeing you. Jason Upton

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 26, 2019

    this place is not worth the money it is very dirty and the linen looks worn. Owner not very friendly. You are better off camping at the provincial camp ground It is a lot cleaner that this so called resort. save your money

    Room tip: save your money
    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank micmac69
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Jason Upton, Owner at Lac Le Jeune Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2022

    Please accept my apologies for this situation. The previous owner of this resort abandoned it in fall 2019 and neglected to turn off the automatic bookings here. We don't know the circumstances of Derick's disappearance, so we hope he's okay and don't want to cast judgment. However, this should not have happened to you. Please be aware that we are in NO WAY associated with him or previous ownership, but will take over the resort in January 2023 and look forward to reopening its doors after 3.5 years of closure. Reach out to us, please, as we want to make up for this inconvenience with a voucher. We are going to give it a deep cleaning throughout and make repairs, of course, with updates coming later and regularly. We look forward to seeing you. Jason Upton

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

    Built in 1970s and extremely worn out and very dirty. Three stars are all entirely for the lovely grounds and wildlife and the good food. Nothing else. Proprietor very vocal about his support for Donald Trump and negative about anyone who feels otherwise.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank wellwandered2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

    Enjoyed our stay as a stop off point - Wally was very friendly and helpful. The rooms itself need a bit of a refresh. However it was relaxing and quiet with wildlife close by and great views. Breakfast and dinner were okay.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank EE15
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews