We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking down on Onomichi”
Review of Senkoji Sanso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senkoji Sanso
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Onomichi
Reviewed 5 April 2015

my boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in peak cherry blossom season. Our traditional Japanese room was right next to their observation deck, so we looked out over cherry blossoms - beautiful!
Dinner was served in our room and they were able to provide a vegetarian meal for me - the food was delicious!
Breakfast is served down in the banquet hall and was again, delicious. Mine was vegetarian, but my boyfriend had egg and bacon cooked on his own little burner.
We had a toilet and basin in our room, though I don't think they all do. The bath is on the 1st floor (ground level) and is a large traditional bath in very good condtion. Big windows overlook onomichi.
Because we were already at the top of the hill, it was really easy to head up the hill after breakfast to see all the cherry blossom and visit the observation platform. We didn't spend long at the observation platform because it was full of people, and we didn't go up, as the views from the gardens were already lovely.
The only downside to this ryokan is that it is not in the centre of town. You could catch the cable car up the hill, but we walked up, following the Historic Temple Walk, then the Museum of Literature Walk. It took 15 minutes, but it was drizzling and getting dark. Very steep steps, though! Lovely to see the houses and tiny lanes.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking if that bothers you and also Japanese style to fully experience your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2014 via mobile

First is the location. This lodging is located in the Senkouji Park, and the way to reach it by public transport is: Ropeway station (short walk from Nagae-kuchi bus stop, service until 1730) and the Senkouji Park bus stop (last bus around dusk, three bus a day).
This made it difficult to go to the city at night, unless you use private car/taxi or willing to walk through Onomichi's small and steep alleys down and up.

Food are great. Breakfast in the hall and full course Japanese dinner in room. But the menu is left for the chef to choose. You could inform them beforehand for allergies but in general there's no choosing the menu.

Room are spacious with veranda that faced East, overlooking Onomichi, the waterway and you can also watch the sunrise from inside your room.

First floor has a large public bath. But this is not natural spring water. If you want that, there are onsen ryokan further north out of the town.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel so that one of our party could experience a Japanese Inn. The room rate was not cheap but included Dinner and Breakfast.The food was very good and made the the hotel visit worthwhile. The public bath was also nice if dated and the view was interesting.
This is an old hotel that really needs updating, Japanese style hotels are generally very expensive but are very stylish - this one cannot be described this way but if you go for room only you could stay this here for a lot less than most. Nice walk into town were we found a shop that sold beautifully made kitchen knives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I came her with my mother for 1 night. I was pleasantly surprised to find a true Japanese style room with a rotenburo-type bath downstairs at the top of the mountain. As you bath, you can overlook the city. The room was clean and the service very friendly. You can't beat this for 8500 yen per night for 2 people. You can either take the ropeway up or hoof it for a 20 min trek down the mountain and ??? min going up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SportTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank salansalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank OhSeunguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: しまなみ海道の橋、日の出が見れるので、東側の部屋がおすすめです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 太ちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Onomichi hotels
Onomichi Kokusai Hotel
#6 of 29 in Onomichi
91 reviews
Onomichi Station
Green Hill Hotel Onomichi
Green Hill Hotel Onomichi
#3 of 29 in Onomichi
165 reviews
Hotel Cycle
#1 of 29 in Onomichi
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
View Hotel Seizan
#8 of 29 in Onomichi
62 reviews
Onomichi Station
Onomichi Royal Hotel
Onomichi Royal Hotel
#20 of 29 in Onomichi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senkoji Sanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senkoji Sanso

Address: 15-20 Nishitsuchidocho, Onomichi 722-0032, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Onomichi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Onomichi
Price Range: $122 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Senkoji Sanso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryokan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Senkoji Sanso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senkojisanso Hotel Onomichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing