We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant-Great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant de la Poste
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charolles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have stayed at Hotel De la Poste on about 10 occasions over the past 30 years and the restaurant of Daniel Doucet was always the main attraction.His son,Frederic,is now the chef and we were interested to see if the high food would be as good as we remembered. However,the first thing we noticed is the ground floor has been refurbished and extended to include a larger restaurant area,new kitchen,patio area and new breakfast room. The bedrooms have also been enlarged modernised to a very high standard.We stayed in late September in room 9 (a junior suite) at 110 euros for one night.The suite was large enough to have a lounge area,desk & seating area,flat screen TV (with BBC World), air con and everything you could need for a relaxing stay.Our only minor complaint was that the hanging clothes rail was onlywaist-height so any long dresses of trousers trailed on the floor.
In the restaurant we chose a 50 euro set menu of 4 courses plus various extras ( beetroot sorbet-very good) and petit fours.Our main course was a sizzling beef dish which is sort of the 'house signature dish' - which was very good but I would preferred to have had less fat and more lean meat - my wife claims that there are people who actually like a lot of fat!
Apart from that the whole meal was really good and there was also a an extensive wine list with reasonably priced wines as well as the more expensive.
The other impressive thing is that all the waiting staff were very friendly seem so knowledgeable about the food and drink that they are serving.
The hotel is situated in the centre of Charolles and there is ample parking around.
Interesting to see that the recession bites everywhere as the 2 other hotels in the town
(Lion D'Or and Moderne) have both closed.

Room Tip: Junior Suite - room 9 has a ceiling window in the bathroom where you can lay in the bath and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

Dont be mislead by its name based on its location of the old village post office. This is a high design, very refined boutique hotel-inn with a charming annex, Villa Kiwis across the road above a venisian-like canal. The young owner Frederic Doucet is an excellent chef and his personal touch is present from the kitchen through to the rooms. He also makes sure that he is discreetly present and available to meet you in a very modest way. This charming place has four stars when in fact it well deserves 5. Kindness comes with service. It is prompt and efficient. No surprise that it is a member of Chateaux-Hotels. Perfect for sophisticated visitors, honeymoon couples and the like.

Room Tip: I stayed in Villa Kiwis which has a terrace on the river and is relatively private. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We did not stay at HR de la Poste (we were in the lovely and classy Clos de l'Argolay just next door), but we went there for an evening meal. While the little amuse-bouche they served before the meal were very nice, the meal itself was terrible. the fish was not fresh, the chicken was chewy. We should have know from the little details as we entered. A low-ceilinged room badly lit and decorated (plastified posters of flowers stuck on the wall with thumb-tacks...). Cannot recommened this. also, their wine list is completely overpriced, as is their food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank GadjParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We booked this Hotel as a stop over on route to the South of France.

To be quite honest, we did not expect too much and we were a little concerned about the 'laid back' attitude to our resevation. The hotel did not require a credit card by way of guarantee that we would arrive and e mail confirmation was considered un necessary .

On arrival, we were promptly checked in, shown to our rooms by a friendly and courteous man who also helped to unload the cars. The rooms were large, well equiped
and comfortable. One would not say that the rooms were luxurious, but they were more than adequate for our requirements.

We had pre dinner drinks in the lounge which were reasonably priced and came with tasty complimentary nibbles.

The dinner was really special and had I been a Michelin inspector, I would have awarded the Chef 3 Rosettes. It really was that good.

The Hotel is situated in a typical rural town, and the car parking is a bit 'Hit and miss', so we opted to use the Hotel's garage. The garage is small to say the least, and the cars are wedged in. We found it a struggle parking two large 4x4's in there but all went well and apart from getting 'Chalky' clothing were we brushed against the garage walls in the confined space, we felt that the vehicles were secure.

We left reasonably early next morning after a typical Continental breakfast that was well served in a pleasant environment.

For a small rural Hotel, I would award the Proprieter 10/10 for excellence in his catogry.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

It is quite some time since my wife and I stayed at La Poste and since then it has undergone a major modernisation. Our 'black and white' room was certainly very comfortable. Since one consults Tripadvisor for 'facts' it is important to state that there is no hotel carpark. One parks in the public carpark opposite (blue zoned), which is not available on Tuesday nights due to the Wednesday market. So alternative parking has to be found around the town. Inconvenient more than impossible. But the hotel does have a lock-up garage away from the hotel itself.

The hotel would appear to be famous for its food but I fear I can no longer fully endorse that reputation. My main course that included totally tasteless lobster was the least enjoyable dish I had in my two weeks' vacation. But the foie gras ravioli was delicious. The restaurant also has the strangest custom of serving an additional quite large (free) dessert to people who have already ordered a dessert. One can't complain about that I guess, but it did seem rather odd. One clearly needs good digestion.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We have been staying here for the past 4 years on our way through to the Charente. The rooms have been updated since we started staying here and the prices may be a little higher but are still reasonable. I think that the son has now taken over and he was very attentative when we were there even offering us the use of the bedroom next to ours so we could watch TV while our daughter was asleep in our room. The restaurant is fantastic and is part of the reason we always come back. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced considering it is haute cuisine. We don't usually have breakfast and there is a bakery just past the church. You can park on the church car park so long as it is not market day. Charolles is a nice small town and there are plenty of places to discover near by (Paray le Monial, Cluny).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We were looking for an hotel and we weren't sure the price was a joke or real... It's a little bit expensive for the area but the level of services and details justify some more euros:)
The hotel has been renewed in 2007, you could understand from the details that everything has been done with passion...
The breakfast is again not cheap (11 € each) but you are leavbing the table satisfied:)
We didn't check the dinner but the menu looks pretty good...

Definitely a nice surprise:)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cisalpino777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charolles
35.9 km away
Chateau d'Ige
Chateau d'Ige
#1 of 1 in Ige
430 reviews
12.8 km away
B&B Hotel Paray le Monial
B&B Hotel Paray le Monial
#4 of 7 in Paray Le Monial
29 reviews
12.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Paray Le Monial
Comfort Hotel Paray Le Monial
#1 of 7 in Paray Le Monial
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Hotel Nota Bene
Hotel Nota Bene
#1 of 3 in Montceau les Mines
206 reviews
17.5 km away
Le Saint Cyr Hotel-Restaurant
11.9 km away
Hotel Restaurant de La Basilique
Hotel Restaurant de La Basilique
#3 of 7 in Paray Le Monial
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant de la Poste

Address: 2 avenue de la Liberation, 71120, Charolles, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Charolles
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charolles
Price Range: $188 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Restaurant de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Poste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing