We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Gros Tilleul
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Argoules
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Just back from a 4 night golf trip with a group of friends. We were happy with the comfortable beds and pillows in a relatively small but very adequate room overlooking the garden
Breakfast was continental with baguette, croissants, preserves, ham and cheese. There were also cereals and fresh fruit, coffee and tea. Very adequate and all fresh.
We had to choose dinner in advance and each choice on the menu was delicious. The only little snag was that it was the same menu for the 4 nights but the dishes were so good that we did not mind repetition.
Our shower in room 20 was rather powerful and tended to soak the small bathroom floor. Separate loo.
Convenient stop on the way to Calais. Good parking. Very picturesque village and area.
The owner was really helpful and friendly. It was something of a pleasure to stay there so thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Gros Tilleul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016

We only stayed over for one night on our way to Calais but we were very happy with our choice. We've stayed in some beautiful 4 and 5 star hotels but you can't beat 3 star hospitality! We had a ground floor room opening out onto the pretty garden at the rear which was ideal as we had the dog with us. The room was simply furnished and very clean and warm. A definite bonus was the provision of a kettle in the room! We didn't eat in the restaurant but probably would next time as the food smelt delicious. All in all we couldn't fault the service and hospitality. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

When first visited this hotel back in the late 1970's we had a terrible time. What 40 years and a number of changes of ownership have achieved is remarkable. We had a lovely welcome. The rooms are small, but comfortable and the windows look out over the gardens and the surrounding forest. The bathroom was more than adequate, with one minor minus; why do some French hotels not provide a shower curtain or similar. Breakfast was standard, adequate and fair value. The swimming and work-out areas are good.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't like stairs, otherwise all the rooms are fine
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stay for one night on our way back to the UK from Deux Sevres, we arrived around 7pm. The restaurant was closed on Wednesday evening, which the owners had kindly email us about beforehand so it was not a surprise. The owner did offer to show us places we could dine if we wished.

We stayed in room 12 and had our small dog with us for which there was a 9€ charge, the gardens at the rear of the hotel provided an excellent area for us to exercise our dog which was great.

The room was clean and adequate with a large double bed, separate toilet and bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities.

The hotel was quiet but in a lovely location, having said that some sat navs may take you down some very narrow single track roads and may not even have the road name, however there are good signs and we found the place after driving road down the village once.

All in all the hotel and room was pleasant and we were well looked after. I'm sure the Abbey would be a lovely place to look around had we been staying longer.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We were staying at a gite in the village and went across for a drink most evenings. We had a 3 course evening meal on my 65th birthday and were not disappointed. The quality of the food was excellent and we felt we paid about the same price for a similar meal back home. For starters we had escargots, pate and the ficelle de Picardy. We most enjoyed he pork for the main meal, which was cooked to perfection. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and mainly got by in O Level French, but there was help in English if we needed it. The surroundings are beautiful and to eat on the terrace on a fine summer's evening is a joy.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Stayed here as a Friday stopover and arrived just in time for dinner. Pleased to say the food and service were really excellent. This is a really good provincial hotel, far enough away from the Autoroute to be really rural yet handy for Calais too. Private parking was good for our bikes and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdeGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

A super en suite double with everything provided. Good continental breakfast. Good English spoken. Restaurant was not open for the evening meal on Tuesday but there were good restaurants within 3Km. Well worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argoules
10.8 km away
Le Fiacre
Le Fiacre
#1 of 2 in Quend
231 reviews
3.9 km away
Hostellerie Le Clos du Moulin
13.0 km away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Belle Dune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
459 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
#1 of 1 in Gouy-Saint-Andre
149 reviews
29.3 km away
Camping Le Val de Trie
Camping Le Val de Trie
#1 of 1 in Moyenneville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Gros Tilleul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Gros Tilleul

Address: 2 Place du Chateau, 80120 Argoules, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Argoules
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Argoules
Price Range: $83 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Gros Tilleul 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Auberge du Gros Tilleul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing