We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, but you can't charge those prices for what you get”

Restaurant du Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$35
Cuisines: Barbecue, French, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Traditionnel, Produits Frais Faits Maison, Et Grillades Au Feu De Bois A La Cheminée Devant La Clientèle, Viandes Et Poissons ,plats Desserts,vins .salle Cosy Climatise. Ouvert Du Mardi Au Samedi le Soir et dimanche midi, Réservations Fortement Conseillées.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

The meat cuts are very generic - $35 for a piece of steak that would cost half in the States. 18euros for store-bought raviolis (trust me, they didn't make them in-house). Salad and dessert were very good, but the bill for two people @ 90 euros is way too much for what you get here. Their niche is a grill in the middle of their restaurant, so my guess is this excites/attracts those that don't really know what a premium piece of steak is.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 428 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2017 via mobile

Setting is Provençal in style and cosy on a winter evening as per our visit
The food is the show and particularly food cooked on a charcoal barbecue
We had staters of home made octopus salad and a goat cheese salad : both delicious and fresh and just the right size
The barbecue dishes are mainly some meat cuts and one fish I think but well worth the choice. The selection is not extensive but certainly of high quality : we choose lamb cutlets and a andouillette both succulent and perfectly cooked with enough delicious chips and a simply well seasoned salad
There are other dishes that are not barbecued.
A perfect simple meal focusing on great flavours
The service was faultless with good advice given, no hard selling.
Dessert of tiramisu and chocolate fondant were good
Good value prices
Would go again for sure

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank FranckyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

The food here is delicious. If you want a good-sized steak in Sanary-sur-Mer, this is THE place to visit. The service is excellent and the owner is very welcoming.

It's tucked away from the main street by the port, but it is a hidden gem, and I'm so pleased we found it - you won't regret eating there.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irenebrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Had 2 steaks with home made chips . Great taste as cooked over open fire . The duck with honey sauce and potato purée was excellent , at its point and great taste . Very nice staff really looking after their guests. Can only recommend this place although from outside not looking so impressive.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Torsten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2015

We were made to feel very welcome in this very pleasant restaurant. The proprietor and his wife created a very friendly and easy going atmosphere with many diners obviously very familiar with the restaurant. My wife and I both had sea bass cooked on the fire which was excellent and cooked to perfection. For dessert we went for the cafe gourmand which again was excellent. It is an easy restaurant to pass by on outside appearance alone but if you love fresh fish straight from the sea try this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant du Theatre also viewed

Sanary-sur-Mer, Var
Sanary-sur-Mer, Var
 
Sanary-sur-Mer, Var
 

Been to Restaurant du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing