We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit ...”
Review of A Table

A Table
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Sanary-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

... is the best recommendation!

"A Table" serves the best fish this reviewer has ever eaten. Anywhere! The dourade is steamed in a pot with local seasonal vegetables and herbs, and is served in the pot. It's a culinary delight - absolutely mouth-watering and delicate, and it leaves you feeling happy. The French-Portuguese cuisine here is diverse.

We are very impressed by the husband-and-wife owners. He is in charge of the guests, she is in charge of the kitchen. This family-run restaurant also gets very high notes for cleanliness - in the diningroom, the kitchen and the restroom.

"A Table" is a favorite of locals as well as visitors who are lucky enough to stumble across it or smart enough to consult TripAdvisor. Reservations are a must. The restaurant is small, with seating indoors and outside.

There is a spin-off on the German saying "living like God in France", "eating like God in France" - "manger comme Dieu en France". Have you ever noticed how much time the French seem to spend eating? Do they set their watches by mealtimes? Is God in France all day every day? Rest assured that you will eat like God in France at "A Table"! Bon appetit! Bom apetite!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 2FlyingCoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2018

This is a little family run restaurant a few blocks up the hill from the port. We loved our dinner here! The couple who run it are Italian and Portuguese and the food is hybrid French/Italian/Portuguese. The specialty is Cataplana and it is spectacular. The pichets of wine -- we had blanc -- are delicious. It's a small restaurant and very friendly. If you come to Sanary-sur-Mer this is the place to go.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

"A Table" is a small jewel of a restaurant on a side street in Sanary-sur-Mer, on the Mediterannean Sea. We had passed by on an earlier walk and we stopped for lunch. We were greeted with a big smile by the owner and he showed us to a table. It was like walking into a restaurant in a fishing village.

The menu was written on a chalkboard and was placed on a chair next to us. My niece and I had already decided on the "dorade", sea bream in English.

The dish was steamed in its own pot - a wonderfully fresh fish, with potatoes, tomatoes, peppers and garlic steamed in white wine. The herbs were fresh and lent a lovely flavour to the fish. Both of us are fish-lovers and we agreed that it was absolutely the best fish we had ever eaten.

I chose a glass of rose wine from the area, my niece opted for mineral water. The crusty bread from a local bakery proved to be much better than a spoon to mop up every drop of the delicious wine and vegetable sauce.

The chef personally inquired how we were enjoying our meal, and the charismatic owner did so as well. "A Table" will be the first restaurant I dine at the next time I am in Sanary-sur-Mer!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 2FlyingCoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2016

This lovely little Portuguese restaurant in one of the little side streets in Sanary was absolutely delightful. We visited this restaurant twice during our holiday. The husband and wife team work really hard to make sure your meal is perfect and it did not disappoint. We would certainly go there again next time we visit sanary

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Jackymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

This tiny Portuguese resto specializes in Cataplana, the metal clamshell cooking and serving utensil.
The cabillaut Cataplana was delicious, somewhat better than the stewed calamari which was a bit bland. Both dishes were garnished with excellent roasted tiny potatoes and chorizo. The vino verde , a low alcohol petillant wine from northern Portugal was perfect with the cuisine.

Dont miss the delicious chocolate dessert.
Good value in a funky attractive setting. Be sure to book, it's tiny, although when warmer, pleasant outside tables are available.

Family run with Monsieur and Madame both checking on customers.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Table also viewed

Sanary-sur-Mer, Var
Sanary-sur-Mer, Var
 
Sanary-sur-Mer, Var
 
Sanary-sur-Mer, Var
 

Been to A Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing