We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very helpfull staff at "tired looking hotel"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chris-Tal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chris-Tal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Les Houches
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very helpfull staff at "tired looking hotel"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and had a lot of help from the staff with sorting things out, they were really helpful!! Hotel needs some updating and is quite expensive compared to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    34
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
31
33
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

Normally my friends and I stay in Chamonix town centre for our mountaineering trips in this area but this time we decided to stay in Houches, mainly so as not to get sucked in to too much evening drinking.

According to the Internet this hotel appreared to have good facilities so I booked us in. I wasn't disappointed. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. All the facilities that were listed met or surpassed our expectations, and the hotel was generally in very good order. The room rate was extremely good value for money in my opinion.

We ate in the restaurant a couple of nights and the food and wine were at least as good as anywhere else I have experienced in the area, and very reasonably priced.

I found the staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and entertaining. The hotel manager took time out to help us plan our excursions, and was always keeping an eye on the local weather reports for us. He spoke good English.

We might be heading back to the Chamonix valley later on in the year - if we do we will definitely be booking in to this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattwebb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

We had a great week in Chamonix and at the hotel. The hotel is nice and clean, with a great cuisine. And with Exelent weather and great skiing, it is no better.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — too litle snow in the slopes
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petthell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

I have never encountered such an unfriendly, rude and downright unpleasant attitude from staff at any hotel. Our group were 6 snowboarders on an off-piste holiday course, all in our early thirties, professional, polite, we all spoke good french, didn't drink, went to bed early, left early and were gone all day. Dinner was included in our rate and oddly we were asked quite forcefully to label a linen napkin with our name and re-use it each dinner time all week, which got a bit unpleasant after a few meals. I'm all for recycling, but our bath towels, which we were happy to re-use a few times, were changed each day.

Ordering a cup of tea or coffee (not included with the food) was not allowed in the restaurant. We were sent through to the bar where this irksome request was usually met with sighs and much huffing and puffing before a drink was resentfully produced. On one such occasion, the owner's son threw a teabag at a cup which was on the bar and said "your friends already have some hot water." Charging drinks to the room was apparently "tres genant" or a very annoying request
I could go on, but hopefully you get the picture..

On the plus side, the facilities at this hotel were good, although the communal areas are kitschly decorated with slightly macabre stuffed animals. Rooms were reasonably spacious compared to many at this price in the area, as well as clean, there is a well maintained small swimming pool. The food was unremarkable, but of good quality, similar to what you'd be served in any restaurant in central Chamonix . The Raclette evening is good. Worth knowing that Les Houches is a very quiet hamlet and getting to and from Chamonix centre takes 40 minutes as buses are not that frequent. I would say the hotel's preferred clientele are quiet families or older people, who like being in the mountains, but perhaps aren't too bothered about snowsports. Getting to breakfast early to be first on the powder is definitely disapproved of, as is any apres ski joviality over afternoon tea. And I 'm not talking about drinking here - just laughing!

  • Liked — Good sized room and bathroom, clean
  • Disliked — Rude staff with a miserable attitude
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHEROLD, Owner at Chris-Tal Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2009
I'm very suprise about this review. Maybe some information not well understand. Maybe gest was not well.

I don't understand why your only friends was the taxidermy animal in the restaurant.

I dont understand why charging your drink on the room bill was a probleme for them.

Of course our hotel is not a multi internationnal language that just do welcoming. Maybe we are not so perfect in this. Why ? Because Chris-tal is a small traditionnal mountain hotel buisness. Human size and family run buisness.

We are not standard Hotel . When you go to Chris-tal Hotel you go for a special "ambiance" of long tradition hotel owner.

But your description does not sound to be a good experience to you. I cannot accept that you are able to say "we are RUDE and UNFRIENDLY" as if this where true, today i would not have any customer any more. We welcome about hundred people every mouth and some people do came back, even if they 're not interresse in taxidermy. See other reviews, other people are happy to stay to CHRIS-TAL hotel ... are they sadomazo ?

Best regards

Flo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Les Houches hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed at the Chris-tal towards the end of March and found the hotel to be clean & comfortable.

Breakfast is the standard buffet found in most hotels and the dinner menu provides reasonable choice.

Staff on occasion unfortunately proved to be a little difficult often serving others first or walking away from reception/bar as if we were invisible. However this was the only experience of bad attitude we encountered whilst staying in the area.

Although I have basic French language skills I would recommend those who do not have any to prepare themselves and take a phrase book.

Despite this I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location/Views
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

We had a great week in the Hotel Chris-tal in March 2007. This is a lovely hotel with great rooms and good facilities. Our room was spacious with great views of the Chamonix Valley, a good clean bathrooom and nice balcony. The swimming pool also commanded amazing views and was a nice way to unwind at the end of the day. The ski/boot room was adequate and the boot warmers were very useful. The owners were very accomodating and friendly, breakfast was good with boiled eggs, croissants, jams and fruit available. Although we hadn't opted for half board we ate in the restaurant on a few occasions and found the food to be very good, especially the famous Savoyard scraped cheese! There is a good nursery slope just opposite the hotel but this may be a little slushy in spring conditions, otherwise the 'ski bus' stops just outside to take you up to Les Houches (5 mins) or down to Chamonix (15 - 20 mins), there is also a good ski equipment/hire shop just next door. My only complaint is that after an evening out in Chamonix it is difficult to get transport/taxi back to Les Houches, but this is not the fault of the hotel!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank MP1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Chris-Tal in early April 2007. I echo the other reviews about this hotel. The family who owns/runs the hotel could not have been nicer. The beds were very comfortable, good pillows and the food was AMAZING!!! The pool was a wonderful oasis while looking up at the Aiguille de Midi. I read a review before we left that stated it was the best hotel the people stayed on their entire vacation...well, it was close. We spent 3 weeks driving from Paris to Italy and then to Provence. We spent two nights there and it's all my 9 year old talks about. We are not skiers but enjoyed going into Chamonix and going up to the Mer de Glace. Each night we ate at the hotel. Oh, the food! And the views! In addition the breakfast was great!

BTW-the son speaks perfect english which really was welcome.


Again, I strongly recommend Hotel Chris-Tal. My wife and I are jaded travelers and would love to stay there again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wheelerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.4 km away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#1 of 15 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#4 of 15 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#3 of 15 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
#5 of 15 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#10 of 15 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 76 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chris-Tal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chris-Tal Hotel

Property: Chris-Tal Hotel
Address: 242 Avenue des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chris-Tal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the authentic village of Les Houches, in the heart of the Chamonix valley, and only 6km away from the centre of Chamonix itself, the Hotel CHRIS-TAL is – and has been for generations – a business based on family tradition. Nowadays, Florent Gherold and his team will give you a warm welcome at the hotel, and will ensure that you have wonderful and relaxing break.Free wifi acces, indoor swimming-pool, Restaurant, Sauna, Game room, loung-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Chris-Tal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chris Tal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing