We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect mountain hideaway”
Nestled under the Dome du Gouter at the foot of Mont Blanc, the Lodge  has stunning valley views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled under the Dome du Gouter at the foot of Mont Blanc, the Lodge  has stunning valley views
Unrivaled views of Mont Blanc, its glaciers and the entire Chamonix valley from our Jacuzzi. Private garden with glorious views towards the Fiz and down the valley from Les Houches.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Nestled under the Dome du Gouter at the foot of Mont Blanc, the Lodge  has stunning valley views
Unrivaled views of Mont Blanc, its glaciers and the entire Chamonix valley from our Jacuzzi.
Private garden with glorious views towards the Fiz and down the valley from Les Houches.
Magnificent mountain views in every direction.
Set in a large private garden in a quiet spot on the mountainside above les Houches.
Modern, fully-fitted and well-equipped kitchen with its own patio.
Our snug, complete with log fire for chilly summer evenings or the perfect post ski retreat.
Our kids corner, some where just for them to enjoy playing a game or two.
Super king sized beds with gorgeous linen and soft towels.
All our bedrooms are en suite and have the option of super king sized or twin.
Family suites with twins, super kings and bathrooms makes sharing with friends and family easy.
Modern, stylish decor throughout.
Beautifully finished shower rooms complete with Gilchrest and Soames soaps.
Welcome to BlackRock - or Roche Noire as they call it in French.
Welcome to BlackRock Ski Lodge
A winter paradise in the family friendly ski area of les Houches.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TheSecret...
2 reviews
“Perfect mountain hideaway”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We may be biased because we have known Paul and Lizzy who run BlackRock for a few years, but this is still our go to lodge in the French Alps. The lodge is wonderfully designed, chic yet very welcoming. Perfect location for a ski in ski out holiday, however our latest visit was in the summer with bike a trainers. Four days of outdoor nirvana with amazing riding and trail running from the door. Paul and Lizzy know just what athletes are looking for in terms of food and drink and make sure you well are set up for the day ahead and looked after upon your return. If we wanted to create the perfect mountain lodge it would not be much different from BlackRock, location, atmosphere, welcome and design are all spot on. Very fortunate to have such a fantastic place in the mountains that we can return to year after year.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Thatcham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing holiday once again!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Fantastic place, fantastic people, fantastic holiday!

We had an amazing week with Paul and Lizzie and cannot thank them enough. The food and drink was great and the company even better.

Looking forward to returning next year.

Thanks :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robsyd1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star ski holiday”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Being a skier for many years I took my family for their first skiing holiday with trepidation - after a week at Blackrock Lodge they are totally sold and can't wait for next season!
We drove to the Alps from Colchester and on our arrival Paul and Lizzie, our hosts, couldn't have been more welcoming - Lizzie, with only a few weeks to go before her first child, immediately put my snow socks on the car as there had been a fresh dump of snow (excellent start) and once we were esconced in our plush rooms we were invited to have a drink at the bar and instantly made to feel one of the family.
Our passes, lessons and ski gear had all been prebooked and were ready for fitting that evening after which we had the first of many sumptuous meals round an enormous table in their stunning dining room.
The chef, Emma, created a wonderful selection of meals always ensuring the younger children were entertained and provided with tasty dinners and the adults had a fantastic array of cooked from scratch recipes.
Paul and Lizzie were the perfect hosts and were always at hand to ferry us about in their Defender whether it was to take us to the slopes or for a day trip to Chamonix town. Also, the hot tub was amazing with dramatic views of Mont Blanc - we did not want to get out!
All in all this was the best skiing holiday that I have ever been on and my family are still talking about their experiences even now.
I would not hesitate to return again to Paul and Lizzie's superb home and I recommend it to anyone who wants a holiday that goes the extra mile!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShellTim
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding holiday”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We have just arrived back from our half term break skiing and stayed at the wonderful BlackRock Ski Lodge. Paul and Lizzy who own and run the Lodge are the most amazing couple who went out of their way to make sure our holiday with a group of friends and our children ran smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble, from dropping us to and for ski school, the slopes, to and from lunch, always on hand when we needed them.

Emma the cook makes the most wonderful meals, and is sooooo happy go lucky! Such a nice person. The food is so nutritional and nothing heavy and fattening, all local produce and scrummy! Wish I had an Emma at home!

Paul went out of his way to take my boyfriend to the Vallee Blanche for the day which he loved!

We all loved the jacuzzi, especially the children, they loved the back garden, tobogganing down the hill, building a snowman and having snowball fights! So lovely to watch them all having such good fun.

We were a group of 4 adults and 8 children, had great fun and we could not recommend this place more highly if we tried! We will definitely return to this most amazing place!

Thank you, Paul, Lizzy, Emma and Coda (the dog)!

Xxxxxx

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattio57
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
“Our holiday at Black Rock Lodge couldn't have been any better!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Lizzy and Paul are fantastic hosts! They went above and beyond our expectations....from the fabulous selection of breakfast food to Emma's creative dinners. We could not believe the weather they ordered up for us for skiing powder and piste. The location to the slopes made it easy for everyone to come and go. The hot tub and sauna were well used and appreciated. The lodge is so well designed and comfortable we didn't want to leave and look forward to a return trip soon. Thanks again for a wonderful family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 wonderful days and nights in the Chamonix Valley”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just had 4 fabulous days and nights. This is a gem . We were a father and 3 mature sons . The chalet is seriously comfortable, the other guests a really interesting cross section of people. Skiers from excellent to beginner. Everyone felt at home. The real secret is the service and support from Paul and Lizzy. Nothing is too much trouble . Our transfers, ski hire and lift passes were all in. No catches. They also transported us when required and gave us unbelievable guidance and knowledge of where to go at different times and in different snow conditions . We are well traveled and experienced skiers but we have never been to the Chamonix valley. You can ski in and ski out of the chalet but the separate non connected ski areas in the Chamonix Valley means that the Blackrock package is tailored to this unique area . If you are a beginner whether as an aspiring triathlete or skier or you are at the top of your game, Paul and Lizzy have done it all at a high level and they love what they do. I want to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowboard...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“top marks”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

What is the best thing about the Black rock ski lodge?
The warm welcome?
the great food?
the clean warm rooms?
the comfortable beds?
the vin chaud?
the family dog?
From the moment we arrived and Paul said please treat this chalet as your home, we knew things were going to be OK, but the best thing about this chalet is Lizzy and Paul, their enthusiasm and commitment to enable us to have a fantastic time , knew no limits, their local knowledge had us snowboarding in 300mm of fresh snow when others were stood waiting for lifts to open, one of our best days riding ever, then at the end of the day as we stood and watched 150 people try to squeeze on to a 50 seat bus, Paul arrived in his landrover and took a shortcut to get us sat in the jacuzzi drinking vin chaud , try to put a price on that.
You could do a lot worse than Blackrock ski lodge, you will have a difficult time bettering it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing