We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location fronting the water's edge”
Review of Solthus am See

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solthus am See
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ostseebad Baabe
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We approached this hotel by bike from the west and took a rowing boat ferry across the water to it. The hotel had a welcoming glass of Prosecco for us on arrival and all the staff gave us a friendly welcome. Nothing seems too much trouble. Meals can be taken on the balcony overlooking the water. There's a small swimming pool which didn't seem to get much use by other guests so great for us!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Discerning74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Solthus am See
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2016

We spent two nights at this delightful reed thatched hotel while on a cycling holiday around Rugen and were not disappointed, both nights were fantastic.
The check in staff were most efficient and friendly and locked our bicycles in a purpose built shed each night.
Our room was comfortable and cosy, with all the regular modern conveniences.
We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool each day after our cycling and also made use of the sauna.
The vast selection of food for breakfast and dinner a deight to behold.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river for better views.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rochesterrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We stayed here for a couple of days recently. The check in was fun and painless, information provided, options given, evening meal booked.
We rented some bikes for the next day, again, efficient and good value.
The location is a bit out of town, but the location itself is still excellent, nice harbour, its enjoyable.
We ate at the restaurant, food was superb, couldnt fault it.
Well done to everybody, a job well done!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brades1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

We spent two nights in this hotel. Clean, nice surrounding, off the beaten track. Nice staff. Great choice for breakfast. And what was really surprising for me: minibar free of charge.
Unfortunately I had no time to check the swimming pool :(

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Gosia_S1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with our family for Christmas - the highlights - the cuisine is superb! It is surprising that such excellent chef isnt seen in the restaurant - every menu is a true composition of flavours and textures! The wellness area is just perfect for a small and cosy hotel, watching a sunset from the pool relax room is recommended. And finally - the library - this room speaks for his own with a cup of tea and a good book! Also this is a great place to do some beautiful walks from, a little train connects it to Sellin and Baabe to enjoy the beach side.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maztaz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Talk about feeling like you're at the end of the earth! Maybe not for Germans, for whom this area is a highly popular tourist destination, but certainly for us Americans. The design of the building and rooms is like nothing we've ever stayed in before. Very cool. Not upscale to an American, but with nice touches like a spa, pool, near a ferry dock. Nice views from our room overlooking the canal and further off, the larger water. There are nice walking paths along the marshland, and bikes are free to borrow. We cycled only a few minutes to the beach in Baabe. The breakfast is great. There are no museums, restaurants (other than in-house) -- but that's the point. It is a quiet retreat. Service is great, with good English Overall -- charming!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank richard_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were entirely satisfied with our stay in the hotel. The booking was handled professionally, we were given a warm welcome, the rooms are roomy and pleasant, and ours had fantastic views over the lake. Management and staff display a very nice mix of friendly familiarity and professionalism and are very help- and thoughtful. We also enjoyed the wellness-area, equipped with a small pool, sauna, steambath, solarium and offering a range of beauty treatments.
Solthus also pride themselves with their restaurant, which offers a small and select dinner menu (choose three courses out of a range of 10-12 dishes). The price is reasonable, given the dishes offered and considering the local alternatives. A good selection of wines and digestifs is also on offer. Regrettably, of our 5 menus, 3 dishes were spoilt by excess of curry respectively mustard and also with the other dishes we had the impression that the ambition expressed in the menu somewhat exceeded the abilities of the kitchen. Maybe the head-chef was on leave??

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostseebad Baabe
2.0 km away
Strandhotel Baabe
Strandhotel Baabe
#4 of 12 in Ostseebad Baabe
69 reviews
2.2 km away
Cliff Hotel Rugen
Cliff Hotel Rugen
#5 of 20 in Sellin
232 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Hanseatic Rugen und Villen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
#1 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
261 reviews
1.7 km away
Familien und Gesundheitshotel Villa Sano
Familien und Gesundheitshotel Vi...
#3 of 12 in Ostseebad Baabe
32 reviews
7.6 km away
Hotel Am Meer
Hotel Am Meer
#2 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solthus am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solthus am See

Address: Solthus am See Bollwerkstr. 1 | Ruegen, 18586 Ostseebad Baabe, Rugen Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rugen Island > Ostseebad Baabe
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ostseebad Baabe
Price Range: $159 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solthus am See 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solthus am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing