We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel at a reasonable price!”
Review of Byzantion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byzantion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mystras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Situated in the village of Mystras, near to the World Heritage site of Mystras. Clean, comfortable, with outdoor pool and free wifi, good breadfast and lovely gardens. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovel square nearby!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gojojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Extremely comfortable hotel with swimming pool, situated in a small village about one kilometre from the Byzantion World Heritage site of Mystras and five miles from Sparta. The village was very peaceful with four good restaurants.

This is a family run hotel and staff were very helpful and friendly. Very reasonable price with breakfast included. This could be eaten on the balcony overlooking the pool and back garden. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: A small village so all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was the third hotel of five on our seven day trip to Greece. (Jun 3, 2012)
This hotel is located in the most adorable village (Mystras)! We spent hours walking and exploring every street, alley, and walkway. We picked oranges from the over growing trees, best oranges I have ever eaten... And I live in Florida for 16 years! We had a great view of the ancient fortress, which was lit up at dusk. We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant across the street.
The hotel was very nice, bedding was 5 star, breakfast was traditional, rooms were clean and well stocked with toiletries.

Our reservation stated our room would have a balcony, but did not. :(
The room had an independent AC unit and due to the temperatures reaching almost 90 F, my husband wanted to turn on the cool air. However the unit would not turn on so my husband went down to the front desk to find out why. The front desk told him that they had not changed the unit over from heat to ac. Not only was the room hot from the weather, but with four people showering the room became extremely humid as well. We had to open all the windows and even kept our front door open. Thankfully, the people drinking across the street left around midnight and we were able to get a few hours of sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeninfer_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

When I was in Paris, I heard that the best view of the city is from the Eiffel Tower, because you can't see the Tower itself! This description fits perfectly the Byzantion Hotel in Mystras: the building is not charming at all (it's the only big, two-floored building of the village), but the view from it is beautiful. All the rooms are small, but convenient, with little balconies that look to the hill of Mystras and the main road of the village. The location is excellent, the staff helpful, breakfast is tasty (traditional, contains fresh oranges from their trees), the garden and swimming pool perfect for a rest. In the lobby you can find books with information on the area, maps and computers with free access, to make plans for your excursions. Restaurants and shops are nearby and the archeological site is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froso_palaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

From the outside this place looks uninspiring. Do not despair. We arrived in the last week in April after a long hot thirsty drive from Athens and arrtived to be overwhelmed by the smell of orange blossom. The small car park is full of orange trees,, and there is an excellent swimming pool in a lovely garden behind the hotel. As we were travelling off peak- highly recommended, by the way, especialaly for the spring flowers- there were few people here. Room 101 (and presumably 201 above) is a double aspect room with a balcony overlooking the main road and taverna, and the other with an incredible view to the west, to Sparta and the hills beyond. I spent a long time at sunset just gazing.
The staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help you. Breakfast is excellent and best taken on the sunny terrace, Our room was great, and recently refurbished in quite a modern style, very clean and very comfortable, with double glazing as well as shutters. Off-peak, the prices were a bargain. Mystras itself- not just the Byzantine city on the hill- is a joy, not to be missed. If you enjoy walking, follow the recommended route up into the mountains in the Bradt Guide to the Peleponnese- it is wonderful.

Room Tip: 101 and probably 201 above - double aspect at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottemose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We got two rooms - a double and a triple instead of a quadruple + extra bed that we had booked, for the same price. The rooms were simply decorated but clean and had everything we needed. We could see Mystras site from our balconies! Hotel staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is a great location for seeing the Mystras site. My room was comfortable and roomy, with a small balcony overlooking the street and the ruins in the distance. This is an older property, and has the feel of somebody's grandmother's house. It might not please those looking for the most modern furnishings and decor, but it was clean, conveniently located with tavernas close by, and has private parking. Breakfast can be eaten indoors or out. Breakfast was good, not different from breakfasts I had in other Greek hotels. The outdoor tables filled up fast in the morning. There are several steps up to the front door, but there is an elevator inside up to the rooms. The proprietor did help carry my bags up the steps, but this might be an obstacle for people with mobility problems.The large public rooms offered computer access and space for reading. I didn't try the pool as I was only there for one night and returned from the ruins late in the day. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystras
0.2 km away
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
Hotel Pyrgos Mystra
#2 of 9 in Sparta
135 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Dioscouri
Hotel Dioscouri
#6 of 9 in Sparta
124 reviews
4.9 km away
Lakonia Hotel
Lakonia Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sparta
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
Pritanio Guesthouse
Pritanio Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Polydroso
161 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Maniatis
Hotel Maniatis
#5 of 9 in Sparta
142 reviews
24 km away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzantion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzantion Hotel

Address: Central Plaza, Mystras, Sparta Municipality 231 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta Municipality > Mystras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mystras
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Byzantion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byzantion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byzantion Hotel Mystras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing