We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded my already high expectations”
Trullo from main drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard Trullo looking down drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard
Trullo looking down drive
Trullo bedroom from the courtyard
Trullo sitting room from kitchen
Trullo kitchen from sitting room
Sitting room from the kitchen
Trullo bedroom with en suite bathroom. Mattress size 140 cms wide.
Courtyard in bloom
Garden - evening light
Trulli cones of main Trullo
Olive blossom in May
Olives - ready for picking in October/November
Pool from far side
Sitting area on main garden side by the pool
Time for an aperitivo!
Magical pool by night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Maggs464
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceeded my already high expectations”
Reviewed October 30, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed from 22nd September to 5th October. Had perfect weather in a perfect location. The trullo is just the right size for two, very tastefully furnished with all one requires for self catering. It has fantastic views from the trullo itself and the extensive grounds, with the added bonus of a beautifully located small swimming pool. It is ten minutes by car from the centre of Cisternino and is well placed for day trips, or shorter ones to Lecce, Bari, Matera, Giovinazzo, Alberobello, Ostuni etc. It is also about 20 minutes to the nearest beach where we often stopped off at the end of our day trips. The surrounding countryside is very nice with many a thousand year old olive trees - amazing. Our hosts Jane, Andrew and James were extremely hospitable and helpful. We especially appreciated useful local knowledge such as there is a "park and ride" on the outskirts of Bari and the best and most scenic way to reach Matera. Another highlight was being invited to a meal eaten overlooking the pool and enjoying very tasty pizzas cooked by James in the authentic pizza oven. Altogether a very special place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location. Peace and beauty . Swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catchuptr...
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and relaxing stay at a beautiful trullo”
Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay that we would recommend to anyone - after a few days it really felt like home. The guest trullo is beside the owners' main house (also a trullo) on an elevated site in the countryside about 2 miles outside the small town of Cisternino - it is therefore perfectly quiet at night and we were never disturbed by any noise during the 9 nights we stayed there.

The trullo is charming and perfect for a couple - have a look at the photos on the owners' website which really give an accurate impression of the accommodation. There were some really nice touches when we arrived - wine, local biscuits and so on and absolutely spotless accommodation. Jill, Andrew and James are very welcoming - they are really helpful with information and advice, even invited us to a lovely dinner one evening.

There is a pool for guests to use and an enclosed "courtyard" beside the trullo itself with outside table and chairs and sun loungers which we found really pleasant.

We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet & relaxing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunReay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat for a relaxing & romantic honeymoon”
Reviewed July 21, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Trullo Caterina was everything we'd hoped for and more, we were looking for a peaceful retreat after spending the previous week sightseeing in Rome and Venice and were not disappointed. Jill, Andrew & James were the perfect hosts - we were greeted with a warm welcome on arrival and their kind hospitality and helpfulness continued throughout our stay.
We had a fabulous time and hope to return and would definately recommend the Trulli to anyone wanting to visit Puglia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adams217
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magical place to relax”
Reviewed July 17, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed for a week and it was a truly relaxing and interesting part of our holiday, with Andrew and Jill being wonderful and welcoming hosts. The area is wonderful with great towns to explore, the trulli are set in a wonderful garden, Andrew's work on the pool area has produced a very restful area to go and chill out, the accommodation and pool are immaculate and the guests' area very private and well laid out and the trulli have been converted to a very high standard. Would we go back there again? You bet!! ...and we hope to soon.

Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayDe...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Trullo in a georgeous setting, Great Hosts - Great accomdation what more could you ask for”
Reviewed July 5, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome, shown around and even an evening meal provided, which was a pleasant surprise after travelling. The trulli had everything one could ask for and was well equipped and very welcoming. A truely relaxing break with great hosts who were there to give advice on what to do and see. We could not have asked for a better break and wish Andrew and Jill every success for the future. We look forward to returning one day and seeing the trulli, Andrew and Jill once more.
First visit to Puglia and a great experiance of this part of Italy, highly recommend this area and accomodation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dekoboko
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Complete relaxation in a beautiful, immaculate place with friendly hosts and adorable animals”
Reviewed June 5, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

If I were to run my own self-catering place, I'd like it to be at the standard we experienced at Trullo Caterina. The accommodation itself was immaculate and very well equipped. Our hosts were so warm, welcoming, generous and helpful. They gave us recommendations on where to eat, where to go, what to do, and were happy to be as involved, or as little involved as we needed.

The weather wasn't as warm as we hoped, so we had to stay in some days, but the trullo was so cosy that it really was a home away from home. Trullo Caterina's resident furry friends were always relaxing outside and a constant source of entertainment. We were more than happy to while away the hours playing with them.

The trullo itself is warm in winter and cool in summer, but during spring it got quite chilly inside -- we had to use the heating. House slippers are recommended if the weather is unseasonably (and unreasonably) chilly, as the stone floors get very cold. Our hosts made sure we were comfortable enough, offering lots of extra blankets, and jackets!

We spent a week there, and made day trips from the trullo. The location is peaceful and near great beaches, restaurants, a friendly supermarket, sightseeing spots.. you couldn't ask for more.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill97
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite intimate hideaway for two.”
Reviewed April 24, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Jill and Andrew were the perfect hosts.We received excellent instructions for finding their place and welcome guidance when exploring the local area. The trullo is beautifully appointed, private and surrounded by wonderful gardens in which to relax. We were made to feel totally at home. The charming rural location is central to many of the wonderful attractions of Apulia as well as being close to the coast. We loved Trullo Caterina so much we extended our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing