We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star trullo”
Trullo from main drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard Trullo looking down drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard
Trullo looking down drive
Trullo bedroom from the courtyard
Trullo sitting room from kitchen
Trullo kitchen from sitting room
Sitting room from the kitchen
Trullo bedroom with en suite bathroom. Mattress size 140 cms wide.
Courtyard in bloom
Garden - evening light
Trulli cones of main Trullo
Olive blossom in May
Olives - ready for picking in October/November
Pool from far side
Sitting area on main garden side by the pool
Time for an aperitivo!
Magical pool by night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AKP61
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5 star trullo”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Trip Advisor comes up trumps yet again!

My wife and I are fanatical lovers of Italy and are thoroughly enjoying discovering what each of the different regions has to offer. Puglia was high on the list of areas we hadn’t yet visited and a stay in a trullo was an absolute must. After many hours on Trip Advisor reading countless reviews of trulli rentals across the Val d’Itria area, Trullo Caterina seemed to offer all that we were looking for, with a unanimous thumbs up from all its reviewers…….and they weren’t wrong.

The accommodation is absolutely perfect for two, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with everything that you would ever need. However, apart from sleeping and cooking, the rest of the time was spent outside: and this is where Trullo Caterina really excels. The private courtyard next to the trullo is just that: a lovely, very private space in which to relax and sit outside in the evening over a bottle of local wine. The rest of the gardens are simply stunning and Andrew has worked wonders with his seemingly never ending landscaping project (I am deeply envious of his dry stone walling skills). The pool area is undoubtedly the best of any we have found in any rental property and a very relaxing spot to sit and do absolutely nothing other than take the odd cooling dip when the heat gets too much.

Location wise, the trullo is in the perfect spot when it comes to getting out and about and seeing the area. The two nearest towns, Cisternino and Locorotondo are great for just wandering around and getting lost in the maze of whitewashed streets. Ostuni too is lovely, and Polignano a Mare on the coast is a charming place to spend the afternoon. Don’t miss the caves at Castellana, they are absolutely awesome and well worth a visit. Alberobello has to be seen, but you do have to look very hard to see past the tacky commercialism that comes very close to spoiling what should be a truly magical place.

As for the hosts, I can only repeat what everyone else has already said on this site. Jill, Andrew and James are all absolutely lovely and we came away after two weeks feeling more like we were close friends rather than just guests. A special recommendation too for James’ pizzas, freshly made and straight from the wood fired pizza oven by the pool. Probably the best I’ve ever tasted.

Finally, this review would not be complete without giving a special mention to the other hosts…. the four legged ones! The three cats and two dogs were constant companions wherever we wandered in the gardens and we were particularly honoured to be asked to 'baby sit' them while Jill and Andrew were away visiting family near Rome. Charlie Pickle is a real star and I only wish there’d been enough room in my suitcase to sneak him home!

In short, I can thoroughly recommend Trullo Caterina. Thank you once again Jill, Andrew, James……..and Trip Advisor!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding trullo & hosts
Liked least: Mosquitos!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew_B...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning trullo in a perfect location”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Trullo Caterina is based high up on the hill just outside of Cisternino. It was conveniently located for Bari airport (and Brindisi) and perfect for day trips in and around "trullo country" and the coast. Having said that though, you really don't need to go anywhere else. The local supermarket has everything you need to stock up with and the Trullo is really well equipped for you to cook and spend the night by the pool with a bottle of wine. The swimming pool is the real piece de' resistance: a great place to spend the day which we did pretty much every day we were there! Jill, Andrew and James were fantastic. Like me, you might be apprehensive about staying somewhere on the same site as the owners but they've really got the balance right and were never intrusive. They gave good local advice and were more than happy to advise and book restaurants for you in Cisternino. I would definitely recommend this place for any couple - the only cause for reservation would be if you have an allergy to animals! They have two wonderful dogs and three (maybe four?) cats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the swimming pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“La Bella Vita”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent a truly wonderful week's holiday in Puglia, with the benefit of the delightful hospitality provided by Jill, Andrew & James. Having travelled from a cold and wet London, we arrived at Trullo Caterina to experience our own little taste of paradise.

The trullo gave us a great feeling of seclusion and our hosts provided us with some top class recommendations for day trips and more importantly those little local restaurants that we never would have found by ourselves. I won't say where they are ... you'll have to ask the hosts yourselves!

The Trullo was in excellent condition, and along with the house, garden and pool, had been beautifully restored. It was a genuine pleasure to spend a week at the Trullo and to explore the locality. We have every intention of returning and taking Andrew up on his offer of baby sitting duties!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCKEssex
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday getaway”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Trullo Caterina in June and had a fantastic week. Jill, Andrew and James go to great lengths to make their guests feel welcome and are always willing to stop for a chat and to offer advice and information about the locality and to recommend restaurants. (and barbers).
Trullo Caterina and its gardens are beautifully maintained with every thought being given to making this a perfect holiday destination. This was our first time in Puglia and hopefully not our last as we feel there's more we'd like to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming accommodation and beautiful gardens
Liked least: Due to the weather the pool hadn't had a chance to heat up very much.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin K
Tartu, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful place with the sweetest owners”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent 6 oh-so-short days in Trullo Caterina in mid-May. On arrival we were greeted by cheerful dog Charlie Pickle, kind and friendly Andrew (who has built a truly beautiful garden - considering I can't tell a difference between a lily and a tulip, that's a real compliment) and Jill, who besides everything else also has a brilliant sense of humor. She showed us to our pretty little trullo that had field flowers on a kitchen table and two bottles of wine and taralli waiting for us. Felt as if we have arrived to visit long-lost relatives in Italy. The trullo is beautiful, clean and cute, and the pool area - ahh! It is in a quiet corner of the garden, away from the trulli, with a nice little reading corner with a bookshelf and a possibility of connecting speakers to your IPod or phone to listen to your own music. I have to say it was a nice change after a week of radio stations. One night Jill and Andrew offered for us to dine by the pool, which we gladly did and very much enjoyed, together with one of their three cats. The owners - Jill, Andrew and James - were there for absolutely every single question and favour we could ask, helping us with everything. We really loved that place, the people, the pets and Puglia in general. A wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and warm atmosphere
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing