We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Service!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aia Del Vento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aia Del Vento
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cisternino
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Five Star Service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

The service encountered at the Aia Del Vento was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful and friendly staff and our room was spotless. The only drawback was that the restaurant wasn't open during our visit but eating out presented no problem. We were even given a lift into town one evening so that we could have a drink! Our room was spacious, immaculately clean and air conditioned. A small balcony meant that we could enjoy our generous and delicious breakfasts al fresco. Cisternino is a pleasant and interesting small town with a couple of good restaurants. Providing you are adventurous you won't go hungry. There are numerous 'worth a visit' towns in this area that will keep you busy for a week and beyond although tourism doesn't seem as well developed as in other parts of Italy and it will probably help if you speak a bit of Italian. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing and 'slow' holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lost_in_Braintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    51
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
76
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

A comfortable, immaculate family-owned hotel. Vittorio, the owner, and all hotel staff take warm, professional and utterly sincere hospitality to a high art. Wonderful breakfast. Convenient location within easy walking distance of the historic centre of beautiful Cisternino and a good base for exploring the Itria Valley. Aia del Vento is great value and an exceptional find.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

We LOVED staying here. It is one of the best experiences we had in our 5 weeks in Italy. The hotel itself is nice, it's a typical 3 star, well maintained, very clean and nice. It's owned and run by the most amazing family. Only the son speaks English but that doesn't hold back the rest of the family making sure you're having the best stay possible. It started when I went down to reception to get help booking a special place for dinner. I bought my laptop so that the uncle on reception and I could communicate via Google translate. He told me that the specialty of the region was orecchiette, that at the hotel's own restaurant all the pasta and orecchette was handmade and that the 2 lady chefs were locally famous and had written their own cook book on local cuisine. He basically sold us the restaurant and so we decided to go down there for lunch. The uncle rang ahead so by the time we walked down the stairs, there was a prime table prepared for us, right in the midst of their Sunday family 60th birthday party lunch. We were treated like royalty. They introduced us to the whole extended family, and without us ordering bought us several local traditional dishes to eat and local wine, which they were bursting with pride over. The owner, his wife and son kept looking at us to check that we were eating and enjoying it. In between courses everyone got up and danced traditional dances and different family members who could speak english would wander over at different times and explain the particular dance, or particular dish we happened to be eating. They wanted to know where we were from and did we like Cisternino. When we had stuffed ourselves to the absolute brink, they insisted on dessert. We asked the son to choose a dessert for us. When the dessert of fresh fruit came, his father (the owner) came over to see it, clearly didn't think it was good enough so went out to the kitchen and re-appeared with another dessert which he thought was more appropriate. He said through his son that fruit wasn't a typical local dessert and he wanted to make sure we tried typical local food. We were so full we did not need dinner that night.
I should also say that the breakfast here is amazing. The best and biggest we've ever seen or had. Everything is handmade fresh in the kitchen, it was delicious.
When we came to check out, we had to make them charge us for the lunch, and even then they only charged us EUR15. They were just outstandingly lovely people who seem to just love helping people. I wish we could have stayed here longer. The surrounding area is beautiful and there is heaps to see.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTravellers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

I just stayed here for three nights. It had one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. The staff were really friendly, however for those that care about these sort of things - they did not speak much english. A smile and a nod got you what you wanted though. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Lots of storage, large balcony, it was really quiet and best of all, well air conditioned. 10 minute walk to the town centre.

Just ignore the funky decor! :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ariidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

I booked Christmas week 2007 at the Aia del Vento, intending to visit friends and explore the area with them. The hotel looked good, situated just outside the town, a short distance from the shops and the centro storico with its bars and restaurants.

In real life, I arrived in Cisternino with no luggage - lost in transit - only the clothes I stood up in, and no friends - they'd had to go back to the UK. A disaster - but the management and staff at the Aia del Vento turned this disaster into one of the best, most relaxing hotel stays I can remember.

From the start, the welcome was warm and friendly. One of the girls at the hotel took me shopping for essentials, and helped me find a padded jacket and heavy sweaters [it was really cold, and all my winter clothing was in the lost bag!]. As I don't know the area, they organised restaurants and arranged transport for me that night and every night. Every day I was able to use their internet service to keep in touch with family and friends. They phoned Bari airport for me constantly and when my bag finally turned up four days later, at 5pm on Christmas Eve, they were as pleased as I was.

As soon as I got settled in my room, I realised that I'd picked the right place to stay. The hotel was high on a hillside, very quiet, but with easy access to the town centre. The view from my room - olive trees and trulli with little walled towns in the distance - was just great. The room itself was simple, clean, neat and attractively decorated, the beds were comfortable, the pillows were excellent and the heating was nicely cosy. This is a big plus point for a winter visit, as Italian hotels can be economical with heating in bedrooms and I like it warm! There was a pile of big fluffy towels in the bathroom. A small fridge and a room safe added the final touches to a well-thought-out room and the large balcony was ideal.

Breakfast was generous, with a good range of cereals, bread, cakes, fruit and cold meat and cheese, and tea or coffee of your choice made to order. The hotel does not provide evening meals, in the winter at least, but Cisternino has a number of very pleasant small restaurants and the food is good.

Such a nice hotel. I had the most relaxed Christmas ever. I had such a good time I had to drag myself away, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — an ideal location, well positioned with good parking and communications
  • Disliked — a tad difficult to find the first time . . more signboards would help
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank baystarblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

My dad's parents were both born, baptized, raised and married in Cisternino. My younger brother has been to this area many times over the years and my parents have also been there twice before us. In January 2006, my brother (coming from Romania) and my parents met up with my husband, me and our then 20 year old son. My brother had stayed in the this hotel several times and always went back.

We were impressed with their professional, courteous treatment and their overall easy-going hospitality. The rooms were certainly not like a "chain hotel" but instead each had their own, local, basic charm. Our rooms and bathrooms were always extremely clean and were in good shape...no tattered upholstery, bedspreads with holes,etc. like some places we have stayed. Breakfast was ample with a nice selection of breads, fruits, yogurts, cold cereals, breakfast cakes and pastries. Like our rooms, the dining area was bright, relaxing, inviting and very, very clean.

We stayed at the hotel for a few nights and then moved on to other rooms in Monopoli. The rooms were so unappealing, that we ended up calling the Aia Del Vento and practically begged them to put us up for a few more nights. They were getting ready to close for a few months for remodeling but graciously took us in with no problem!

The surrounding countryside is amazingly beautiful. We were surrounded by farms and some private homes. The roosters woke us each morning and we could hear the cows mooing as we took our showers and got dressed for the day. A nice setting to relax in before a busy day of sightseeing and after it was over at day's end.

Although the hotel did not serve dinner, unlike another reviewer noted about the local restaurants, we were quite pleased with the local places in both selection, taste, quality, service and price. Since my brother has been coming here for many years, he took us to all of his favorite "haunts" and we enjoyed each one for its unique setting and food.

  • Liked — Close proximity to Cisternino where my dad's parents were born.
  • Disliked — Very limited television channels to view - tv's did not work well. Also, no internet service.
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bmzr1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath / Bristol, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2006

My wife and I had decided that we would look for a property in the Puglia area in Southern Italy.

We needed a couple of weeks first off just to get a feel for the area and started scouring the hotels for accommodation.

Something about the information on the net made me ring the Aia Del Vento to ask a few questions and we ended up booking in for two weeks.

From the moment we arrived very late at night until the day we left we were made to feel comfortable.

Two of the front desk ladies in particular were always running through our itineraries and making sure we always knew where we were going.

Our only disappointment was that their own restaurant was not open for evening meals during our stay, which meant that we had to eat out all of the time.

I think that we tried about 9 different restaurants and pizzerias in the area and have to say that we were overall very disappointed with the menu's and more importantly the general standard of the food that actually arrived on the table.

However, the breakfast in the Aia Del Vento was more than enough to set us up for the day, fairly sparse, but sufficient.

The area for about 30 miles around the hotel is beautiful and we did actually end up at the end of our two weeks buying not one, but two adjoining properties about 5 miles away from the hotel.

So, for the foreseeable future, we will be dropping into the hotel Aia Del Vento for the odd couple of nights as we flit back and forth to sign papers and all the other paraphernalia associated with buying a property in Italy.

If you’re traveling through, why not stop by for a nights rest at this hotel, I can promise you’ll drive off the following day relaxed.

Gerry Rigley (Bath / Bristol area. UK )

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gerryrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cisternino
2.9 km away
Relais Masseria Villa Cenci
0.8 km away
Hotel Falco D'oro
Hotel Falco D'oro
#5 of 5 in Cisternino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.8 km away
Lo Smeraldo Hotel
Lo Smeraldo Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cisternino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 21 in Ostuni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
14.4 km away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
1.4 km away
Agriturismo Masseria Calongo
Agriturismo Masseria Calongo
#1 of 21 in Cisternino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aia Del Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aia Del Vento

Property: Hotel Aia Del Vento
Address: Via Locorotondo 79, 72014 Cisternino, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Cisternino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cisternino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aia Del Vento 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, Hotel “Aia del Vento” has 28 rooms, all en-suite.Each suite’s private balcony gives a spectacular panoramic view of the “Valle d’Itria” and “Trulli”.All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, a direct telephone line, colour TV, safe-deposit box, minibar and hair-drier.Guests are welcome to enjoy the spacious breakfast lounge, private bar TV, internet and satellite facilities, and a modern reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aia Del Vento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Del Vento Cisternino
Hotel Aia Del Vento Cisternino, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing