We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
168
78
25
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
78
25
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool taxi ride orange groves stayed here for three nights the owner local ingredients a lovely place to stay air conditioning lovely setting nice pool working farm main building relaxing holiday first floor fresh fruit two nights cakes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 291 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel but you need to be aware of the benefits and disadvantages. It is a classic country house set around courtyards and manicured gardens. Think wedding venue and you will get the idea. During the summer it is full of Italians but I understand other nationalities visit in the spring and autumn when room rates maybe discounted. It is just outside Noto in citrus country. However you will need a car here as although the outskirts of Noto are maybe only 2km away the old town is nearer 5km with busy narrow roads not suitable for walking. Parking in Noto is very difficult but there is plenty of free parking at Villa Favorita. The rooms are nicely furnished in 19th century style and both our bed and pillows appeared to be latex which was comfortable but not soporific. We had an upgraded room overlooking orange groves and the distant sea which was fantastic. The shower room was clean and small but the soap supplied (olive) was poor. There is a great swimming pool with views over Noto. TV does not have any mainstream UK channels. The internet via wifi did not work well although the 4G mobile data connection was fast. The running of the hotel is slightly quirky with lots of rules, some of which are displayed on notice boards. For instance you have to hand in your key on going out and there is a €50 charge if lost, no eating is allowed other than in restaurants so you can’t bring you own snacks in, you have to book all meals except breakfast. Most importantly there was no written information about all this which would have been helpful and we were referred to an email sent from reception (not very informative) and Wicopedia for information on the local area. The food is good with a well supplied breakfast buffet and opportunity to ask for freshly ground coffee (although this was not volunteered or stated anywhere). Dinner consists of Sicilian specialities which are wholesome and well cooked. If you had this cuisine in a UK Italian restaurant you would be pleased. There is a small bar but nowhere where guests congregate to drink although there are plenty of communal sitting areas. Eating in every night would be repetitive and judging by the wine stained and well thumbed menus I doubt what’s on offer changes frequently. There are plenty of good and some exceptional restaurants in Noto. The dining room itself opens onto a large terrace. However the indoor area is bland, to say the least, and the atmosphere is very quiet bordering on the miserable. It is not somewhere for a romantic dinner or where you would want to linger. This is a pity and could easily be improved by removing the stacked seat cushions, laying the large number of vacant tables with cutlery, dimming the bright lights, and placing candles on the tables. The costs of a full dinner with plenty of drinks and decent wine is about €50 although this could be considerably reduced by having just 1 course. The staff are polite but some are not particularly helpful and most speak a little English. After dinner there is really nothing to do but go to bed - possibly in high season there is more activity. It is also a pity that there is no information on local walks, particularly through the citrus orchards. In conclusion this is a great place for exploring the local area by car and will provide a relaxing holiday but if you want more action you may spend most of your time away from the hotel. We would certainly return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrada G, Proprietario at Relais Villa Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear guest,

we are glad you enjoyed your room, the pool, breakfast and our restaurant.

All hotels have some rules in order to give a better service to all guests. It's strictly forbidden to bring food from outside, picnics around the Villa are not allowed. We kindly ask to leave the room keys at the reception in order to avoid them from being lost and to let us know witch guests have yet to return. We send a free guide (that I personally wrote in English, French and Italian) with some tips about the Val di Noto area, then if you need more help the reception is open 24h and everybody speak english and another languages (Spanish, French or German). If you want information about local walks the reception can book a private guide for you.

The restaurant area was an open court built in 1752. Maybe the night you had dinner wasn’t very busy (the restaurant is for guest only) but on most nights we use all our tables. The number of table it's commensurate to the request we have. We offer 7 outdoor lounge area and a chat room before restaurant with sofa, chairs and tables. However normally our guests choose Villa Favorita because of the calm if you need more action, as you said, it's better to stay in Noto or Siracusa where you can find clubs and bars. Hope to see you again for a relaxing time!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We had the marquis room and it was exactly as the photos ! Lovely terrace, great bathroom, very comfy. The location is wonderful with great views. The public terraces are very comfortable and the wine ( their own ) is great. Breakfast is good, could do with a fresh orange juice maker perhaps. The owner was very friendly and informative. We did not use the pool but it was a nice area. Plenty of parking. Would certainly recommend this place. Only about 10 minute drive to Noto. Very good evening meal and reasonably priced.

Room tip: Marquis room was great with lovely terrace.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RosieW49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrada G, Proprietario at Relais Villa Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and our wine ;). Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

This was a lovely old country dwelling, most likely a farm in earlier times. You were either in the main building (we were) which was charming or in any number of out-buildings and no-one had any complaints at all. Good breakfast, we had a good evening meal here also, comfy beds, congenial surroundings - all very OK.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrada G, Proprietario at Relais Villa Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Villa favorita was built in 1752 and was the summer house of my ancestors. Hope to see you again one day!

Besta regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of the Jules Verne trip. It is a refurbished country dwelling and we were in the old store houses which have been transformed into rooms. All facilities were as one would expect. Some people found the rooms dark but we thought they gave shelter from the pervasive heat and they were designed to let air flow as well as having very welcome air con.

The meals were very nice. Our one included dinner was well presented and generously portioned. We opted to eat again on another evening and it was again good.

Breakfast was the normal self service style.

Nice pool.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Glynis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrada G, Proprietario at Relais Villa Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

We stayed 5 nights in August and fell in love with Villa Favorita. It's an authentic ancient masseria-type villa with a beautiful garden and a stunning swimming pool with a view on the charming town of Noto. The room was large, silent and comfortable and service was welcoming. The food is sourced locally with authentic recipes from southern sicily. The breakfast was rich and varied; we were particularly impressed by the jams that were all homemade with local fruit.
Overall, great stay, highly recommended and look forward to visit again.

Room tip: View on the orange garden
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexcostalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrada G, Proprietario at Relais Villa Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews