We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location and beautiful, spacious...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Piano Alto

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Noto, Province of Syracuse, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jenny20wr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and beautiful, spacious apartment”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We travelled with our one year old (just about walking) daughter and we had a truly brilliant time. We chose the apartment because we wanted a separate room for our daughter to sleep in, which turned out to be ideal. There is a spacious living room with comfortable seating, as well as a small but well-equipped kitchen. Angelica had left us with a welcome basket of food and some wine, which was very thoughtful and very kind.

Parking was no problem even though there is a hugely popular patisserie just down the road. Walking into town was more than possible, even with a one year old on your shoulders!

Overall, we had no complaints and would definitely stay again.

Oh, and Angelica's recommendations for deserted beaches were perfect!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, with lovely location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee F
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful , Rewarding and Fullfilling Experience”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2012

Have I said too much ?
Not really , if you chose Sicily , and off course if you landed in beautiful Noto
...
when i write rewarding and fullfilling, i refer myself to PIANO ALTO,
the upper part of NOTO , the most secret , quiet , residential
with a view on the countryside, mountains, seaside , with a marvellous sunset
with the 2 best restaurants in Noto, the best patisserie....
and the best host , Angelica , the owner of Piano Alto
she'll make you feel comfortable , tell you stories about the city
and why she moved there ( from Rome....) and wellcome you in
her beautiful house ( 2 different choices , terrace or garden , you pick )
her home is like her, no fuss, chic and refined
a true warm and fullfilling experience
LF

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“live like a local - spacious quirky apartment”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the upper apartment for a late season holiday. Noto is a beautiful city - great to wander around and enjoy the atmosphere and beauty and drama of the churches and old palazzos. The apartment was very well equipped - great to have a self catering apartment with such a good supply of basics, kitchen equipment and cooking facilities. Lovely too to have a wonderful selection of fresh vegetables waiting for us. Rooms are huge, quirkily furnished and very comfortable. The terrace was big and well furnished but the view isn't that special. Parking was a nightmare too and I wouldn't recommend this apartment for anyone who is nervous about negotiating narrow streets, Sicilian drivers and tight parking spots. In hindsight 5 nights out of season is probably too long in Noto - lots of the restaurants were closed (including the famous Caffee Sicilia) - Ortigia would be a better bet at such a late time of year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious and very well equipped
Liked least: lack of parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Noto itself - and the food
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah W
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the first floor apartment. It was lovely and spacious, and a great location in the town. A few negatives
- bathroom only accessible via two bedrooms (not stated on any of the information)
- most of the crockery was chipped or cracked
- we lost electricity for an evening and overnight (no fans, no fridge, ...). The owner was slow to rectify the problem and did not volunteer compensation. We then discovered it was an existing problem which had not been fully fixed before we came.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayle F
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, Excellent value”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the downstairs garden apartment for a week at the beginning of October. It's a quiet, comfortable place, very spacious for just the two of us. Angelica is the perfect hostess....friendly, charming, professional. She provided wine and enough food to get by for a day so we didn't have to rush out for food right away. Also, plenty of helpful information for our stay. Well stocked kitchen with everything we needed. Also nice to have a washing machine available. When suddenly wifi wasn't available, we went to a cafe/bar, emailed Angelica, she called Maria, the very efficient housekeeper, and it was working again within the hour. The flat was clean, nicely and interestingly decorated, and has a unique, historical atmosphere. We didn't use the garden, except for picking some basil and a hot pepper, because of mosquitoes. The flat is very peaceful and private, though we occasionally heard music, television, or voices of neighbors. The bedrooms are away from the street . Parking is on the typically narrow street in front of the building. Depending on the time of day, it was usually easy to find a parking space nearby. The location is great for walking down into the main parts of town. Plenty of things to see and places to eat and drink. We found it relatively easy to drive into Siracusa on a Sunday, park in a lot, and enjoy a morning walking around Ortigia (recommend Caseificio Borderi, an excellent deli in the Ortigia Market). Angelica provides a great list of cafes, restaurants, and bars, as well as attractions in Noto and the surrounding area. Much enjoyed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing