We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
409
114
66
25
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
114
66
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cantina gordon ramsey wine cellar tuscan countryside pool area the hotel manager star hotel converted monastery our honeymoon salt pool spa experience spa facilities each morning large bathroom spent days junior suite small group
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 622 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Been all over the world and have stayed in other castles. This resort is gorgeous and in the heart of Tuscany! Plan to spend a day just enjoying the grounds and the spa and the multiple pools and great eating. Also you can walk about 1.5 to another castle. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food was amazing, the wine was great. Views from every room. Perfect!

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graziella A, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear Laurie K,

Thank you for choosing Castel Monastero and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. My staff and I are delighted that you had an amazing stay in our Resort.
We hope to have the opportunity and the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
All my Best
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

It was the best hotel in entire trip. A rustic luxury hotel in the middle of tuscany. The environment is calm, silencious and brings peace. A good gym club with an amazing view to the castle. The breakfast served in the garden it is a perfect way to start the day. The swimming pools are beautiful and has an amazing view

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Renata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graziella A, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear Renata M,
It is wonderful to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our (restaurants/SPA/pools) . We hope agues. We hope to have the opportunity and the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

All my Best,
Graziella
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

My wife had a fantastic 3 night stay here and would recommend this hotel highly for anyone looking to have a luxury Tuscan retreat holiday.

The hotel is located about half an hour away from the beautiful city of Siena, and feels like it is in the middle of no where and just surrounded by picture postcard countryside.

The hotel itself has been fully restored but keeps its history which really helps set the hotel apart.

The staff were outstanding and really couldn't have done anymore to make our stay anymore enjoyable.

We were given a room upgrade when we arrived and this room was just amazing, with a great view from the window to accompany how big and nicely the room had been laid out.

The food we had in the restaurant was very good also. We ate in the contrada restaurant which is the Gordon Ramsay restaurant however we weren't able to try the contrada menu because of hotel was still in a quiet period so this wasn't available. Instead we had the cantina menu which was great and probably would have been even better if we were able to eat down in the cantina restaurant which looked great and very atmospheric but was also closed due to the Time of year with it being a bit chilly down there still

The hotel had a great looking spa by the looks of it but we were to busy doing other things like visiting Siena.
We did however do the beginner Tuscan cooking course with the executive chef which we would highly recommend doing for anyone that doesn't mind spending a bit of extra cash for the experience. We had two hours with the chef to create two dishes and he was great, answering questions, telling stories and to top it all off we were able to go and eat the food we made at the end of it all.

If you didn't drive to the hotel, then it will cost around 40-50 euros to get from the hotel to Siena by taxi. I would highly recommend renting a car though either before the hotel or from the hotel as the surrounding countryside is something you really have to see.

Overall great hotel!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank medc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016

I actually visited and stayed here in June of 2013, it was hands down, one of the most gorgeous and best places I have ever visited. The staff was awesome and extremely helpful and courteous. Food, well it's Tuscany.....it can't get any better! Wines are out of this world and the scenery and countryside are magnificent! Enjoy it for a night or several. Each room offers it's own old world charm but has been modernly renovated to please everyone.

Room Tip: Every room gorgeous and unique in it's own special way.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Niles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2015 via mobile

This has been a very nice place to stay. It's a 5 star hotel so expectations are very high as well , but they delivered , every time. Breakfast is as it should be , the spa looks great but isn't for me, I've only tried the Cantina as restaurant and it was fine. The room I was staying in was perfect and very well equipped, and clean.
The staff is very friendly and tries to go the extra mile , as the manager does also.
Had a great time in the bar !!!
Only minus ; a bit far from the city center of Siena . But no regret from that !!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank peeweedegrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews