We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quite Stunning”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights ( got deal direct from the Hotel ) at the Bela Vista. It is really quite stunning .The Hotel was until 1920 ish a private residence but then became a Hotel.The current owners have recently spent 10 million Euros re-doing the whole place and the re opened this year . The room was amazing the service great, special thanks to Marta and Carlos.The Hotel looks like its on a pretty large second rate beach but do not be fooled the beach is wonderful and was almost deserted when we went May 17 -23 rd ....although be warned we chose the beginning of the season so guess it will get much busier. Breakfast was lovely ( included ) and the restuarant looked great but was tad expensive for our budget. There are loads of places to eat but liked a lot one on the Beach below the Hotel called Casalinho which is run by a family ( ask for Paulo ). My girlfriend thought the Spa was great and was offered a discount ( which I liked ! ) My only dissapointment was 2 loud American familes...theres a surprise ....at the end of our trip. Go you will love it.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginald8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    86
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
409
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portimão
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Beautiful iconic building located dramatically over the cliffs with top view of Praia da Rocha, great job on rebuilding with sensibility. Amazing pool with opium beds and all the treats you could want from a 5*. Although it´s located on a busy area it was quiet enough, you just can´t have thw windows open if you want silence.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget you have plenty of choice with value and amlmost all of them have a great s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djlofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Professional, attentive and well mannered staff at all times. Breakfast was areal treat, very nicely done. However this hotel did not meet our expectations despite extensive research undertaken months in advance of our stay. Contrary to trip advisor declaration, all rooms do not have a sea view despite the hotels dramatic sea front setting.
Do not stay at this hotel if you want spacious rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated however they are very small in the main house with no balconies. The rooms in the annex have balconies but are box like and are Butlinesque. Most of them do not have a sea view and if you want a sea view you are require to pay disproportionate surcharge. I think ... this hotel flatters to deceive. Bela Vista based on the location but due to the foot print of the hotel the bela vista is not present.
The rooms are not sound proofed adequately and we could hear the people next doer who were not being particularly loud. You can hear the music from the disco from the strip.
If you want a quiet, restful stay with good views and space this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diogo S, General Manager at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
We are always happy to receive guest comments but in this review there are some inaccuracies that we want to clarify.
The reservation was made through our website where all the rooms are well described and you decided to booked a classic room (we have only 5 classic rooms) that do not have sea view as well mencioned on the website.
When you arrived at the hotel and saw the room you asked to be upgraded to a deluxe room, that is 2 categories above the classic.
We asked you to pay only the difference between the classic and the elegance and to free upgrade you to a Deluxe room but you did not accept it.
We have 38 rooms and only 5 do not have sea view.
In all our rooms we use soundproof windows and all of them have been tested and certified.
Diogo Fonseca e Silva - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Spent 4 nights at this beautiful hotel. We stayed in the main part of the hotel (room 105). Really beautiful decoration and spacious room.

It was a bit noisy. Not from any parties or anything specific but you can basically hear all of the comings and goings of the whole place. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Spa was nice. Had a good massage and spent a little time in the sauna/pool area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibraltar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

On arrival and through to departure the staff could not do enough for us helpful in every way the food was first class and being centrally located it was very easy to access surrounding towns and villages.
The rooms and comfort of the hotel are certainly worthy of 5 star.

Room Tip: maybe not room 101 can here noise from the bar/saloon if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susieGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIGHTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
241 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Bela Vista stands out amongst the numerous huge tower blocks on the strip. The hotel is individual and truly charming. From the moment we drove through the gates the staff could not do enough to accomodate us and to make the stay memorable. Our package included a room with a balcony if available, the first room we were allocated was beautiful but no balcony. We aksed on the off chance that there might be one available and were rewarded with an upgrade to one of the larger rooms in the new building. Like one of the other reviewers we were aware of the disco about 100m away. Our first night this went on till six am with the party people shouting and laughing more or less below our balcony. We do not hold the hotel responsible for this noise, we wanted to hear the sounds of the sea so kept our doors open, we did eventually give up and close the doors, once the AC was on you could hear some noise. The staff were very conscious we might not have had a good night's sleep and sought us out the next day to offer a room change. But the view and room were too much to give up for the irritation which was more or less taken care of. Whatever the hotel said to the disco the following two nights were much quieter.
The beds are extremely comfortable rooms smallish but so elegant and well appointed could not see what there was to grumble about. Other reviewers commented on the wifi, when we mentioned we did not have a good signal in the new block they immediately took some action, (not sure what re-boot?) the problem was solved and we were back on line and able to send emails.
We did not have breakfast, but did eat in the hotel one night and used the bar each night. The staff were very knowledgeable and wine recommendations were excellent

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver British Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for four nights in April and had a very restful stay with a few glitches. The first night we arrived we were kindly upgraded to a view room and were served a drink with registration. The bedrooms are quite small and the beds take up most of the room. The views are wonderful although, because we were an end room we faced construction with graffiti buildings very reminiscent of the philipines. this was very low season. In spite of that we stayed awake most nights until four am by the drunken shouts and music from the disco. The Friday night was especially loud. There are no restaurants worth going to in the entire area. The hotel,s restaurant is the best although very limited. The breakfast was wonderful. Probably the best l have have in an inclusive room. Ewe got a jug of freshly squeezed orange juice each and fabulous coffee. The eggs were cooked to order and there were platters of fresh fruit and baked goods served individually on the terrace. There is no internetavailable in any of the rooms Ever. They pretended that it was a temporary glitch but this is not so. The only connection is in the hotel lobby. If this is important to you this may be a concern.
If you want a good meal out we suggest the All Beef restaurant within easy driving distance or take a cab. Unless you are not discriminating about your food we warn you about the restaurants in front of the hotel.
The local museum is quite a surprise. You walk along the river for a great distance feeling very vulnerable at the isolation of the three mile trek and finally arrive. The museum is entirely devoted to the processing of sardines and the history of canning within the last fifty years. There are two display cases of roman antiquities thrown in for good measure. The town is dispiriting. There is no need to go there and is for the most part new build residential.
In summary what we liked was the warmth and hospitality of the staff and the great breakfasts.

Room Tip: Go to All Beef restaurant and order your breakfast room service if you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Haroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 km away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
959 reviews
33.1 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
14.2 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.1 km away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
930 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bela Vista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bela Vista Hotel & Spa

Property: Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bela Vista Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Bela Vista has been completely renovated and it's now a 5 star Boutique Hotel with 38 rooms. The restaurant has a unique view and fantastic food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bela Vista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing