We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average in every way”
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“average in every way”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

No frills hotel only really just should be a 3* in every way. Staff not very friendly everything seemed to be a problem, felt they where just doing a job. Entertainment ???? Was none just on a Tuesday nite1 man singing in the bar area to be avoided........... Even the barman was bored as he was found outside sleeping Faulty Towers ???????????
We went half bored big mistake …. a la carte NO WAY … So ended up eating else where .......
Rooms badly needed updating ..... SEA VIEWS ??? We paid for a sea view room ONLY to be told you had to book hotel direct and they would not move us so we had a good view of the cafe beside the hotel ...LOVELY NOT !!!!!! The hotel has only 6 double bedded rooms so good luck laying in the single hard beds on offer ....
Would not go back to this hotel would rather stay at home ......
Location good and close to beach and good restaurants . A good restaurant to try in town called the voxx steak and sound.

Room Tip: book hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernIrelandCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    201
    73
    13
    17
See reviews for
73
342
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

what was supposed to be a 4 star hotel turned out to be no better than a hostel.the staff are ignorant.breakfast was crap.my husband and i were disgusted,we were given a tiny dingy room with a COT for our 10 year old daughter.we would never stay there again,so disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tinylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests, however we know we are not flawless and all our costumers comments are important to help us improve the standards of our service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at the Hotel Oriental and were not disappointed at all. We had stayed here in 2002 and decided to return as we had enjoyed it so much the first time. The hotel is in an excellent location at the quieter end of Praia Da Rocha but still close enough to all the bars and restaurants and is right on the beach. Our room was very clean, the cleaner comes in every day. We had a room on the first floor towards the front of the hotel which had a fairly good side sea view. Although the balcony was not massive, it was adequate. As other people have mentioned, we had also asked for a high level floor (both through Thomas Cook and by e-mailing the hotel direct) and did not get it. When I asked at reception they also told me that the hotel was full and I have to say I don't think that it was. We decided to accept the room we had been given as although on the first floor it did have a nice view of the gardens and beach and was far enough away from the adjacent cafe bar. We did experience some noise from rooms above us, mainly early in the morning but this did not cause us too much of a problem. The breakfast is served until 10.30 and is plentiful, you can help yourself to as much as you want and we found there to be plenty of choice even if you got there quite late. The staff on the whole were helpful. The kitchen facilities were fairly limited although there was a kettle. This did not bother us as we had no intention of cooking anyway.

Praia Da Rocha itself is lovely, it was fairly busy considering we were there in May. The highest recommendation we can say is to eat at Titanic and Atlantis the staff are excellent and food out of this world! There are plenty of other nice ones too - didn't get a chance to sample them all in two weeks!

All in all we had a fantastic holiday, the weather was great and you didn't have to fight for a sunbed by the pool. I would definitely return to Praia Da Rocha and the Oriental.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Catwoman456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

when we arrived at oriental the room was on ground floor and was disapointing.but we were given a room that was much better with a great view.i tought it was a great hotel right on the beach staff were very friendly and helpful.except for one baldy guy with glasses behind the desk ..who had a bit of an attitude,but we soon forgot about him and had a great holiday.would return again.rob from dublin

Room Tip: dont be afraid to complain if room is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dublinbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

On arrival we were allocated a room on the first floor, we were not impressed with the room, it was dark and dingy. We were unable to open the curtains due to being on a level and right next door to a busy cafe. We enjoy having some privacy, this was not possible, we did not want to sit on the balcony with the inhabitants of the cafe eyeballing us. Like other reviewers I did request a high floor with a decent view especially as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my birthday, this obviously fell on deaf ears. We returned to reception and asked to be moved to a better room, our booking stated we would have a sea view, we did not, we had a cafe view. The person at reception told us there were no rooms availlable as the hotel was full. We persisted and said we would not be unpacking and would wait until next day. We did get anotherroom eventually with a good view and a private balcony. We missed the first day of our holiday, the hotel was not full, there werent many people around, there was lots of empty sunbeds, we were the only ones in the bar.
The hotel was very clean, beds, towels changed regularly. The bed was too hard for me, so I did not sleep too well despite the peace and quiet.
We did not eat food in the hotel, the kitchen area poorly equipped, just as well we ate all meals out. Take a travel kettle as nothing to boil water.
This hotel was dead at night, no atmosphere, no entertainment, centre of hotel wasted with a huge water feature which hardly worked, this space could be used as a central seating area and the bar opened up onto it with maybe a pianist. There wasnt a gym or any other facilities which gives the hotel only three star status in my opinion.
The staff were pleasant, although only ever saw receptionist. We did complain that the bath water was not draining properly, after a few days the problem got worse and we had a total blockage. Someone eventually came with a plunger and cleared it, I had a feeling that it was an ongoing problem and needed a plumbers attention.
The resort especially the beach was so lovely, beach easily accessed from hotel via steps. The cafe/restaurant Senhora good quality food served all day and night.
Our favourite restaurant was Casa da Rocha, amazing views and food, glad we found this place as we had some pretty awful meals in some of the eating places although they were on highly recommended list.
The aforementioned cafe next to the hotel was also quite reasonable and of good quality, the staff were friendly.
Prices of drinks was amazingly cheap, 1E in a lot of bars for a large beer or a glass of wine, the most we paid was 2.50E.
All in all this is a lovely resort the beach being the star. Hotel a little tired, in need of an injection of enthusiasm from the management. Despite our initial problem we did have a enjoyable and relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Persistence, as e-mail did not work for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests, however we know we are not flawless and all our costumers comments are important to help us improve the standards of our service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The hotel was recommended by a friend. We enjoyed our stay in the Oriental (bed & breakfast) - its position was ideal for us - just outside the main hotel centre looking out onto the beach. Lovely gardens, peaceful - ideal for lazing around, reading etc. Our room was spacious with cooking facilities and fridge. It was cleaned everyday by a very friendly maid. We would go again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I booked a Junior Suite for five nights in April and was delighted to get a full sea view room with a private terrace for the price of a side sea view. Room was great, very spacious and with a huge terrace that wasn't overlooked.

The room service was terrific value and I rarely ventured out, choosing instead to enjoy the privacy and the view, enjoying lunches and a bottle of wine served in my suite with a smile.

There were downsides though - no porter service - surely a must for a four star - I am disabled and had to negotiate steps with my luggage on my own. Breakfast was very poor and there was no member of staff to meet and greet, and the pool was tiny.

When I was checking out a business traveller who had clearly arrived at reception after me was checked out first - this was pretty shameful I thought.

All in all though - a fabuous location and a lovely building: it just needs a little bit more attention to detail and to customer service to make it brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SickGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLeitao, Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Concerning your comments, which we have apreciated, we will try to improve our services, on the matters that you have mentioned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.4 km away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
984 reviews
0.5 km away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
611 reviews
0.4 km away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,083 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
866 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing