We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly and helpful staff, good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estudios Tropicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Estudios Tropicana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Staff always helpful, recommended the best beaches to go to (Cala Conta is beautiful) and an excellent restaurant with amazing typical food from the island and very friendly staff (Sa Soca in San Jose). I would definitely recommend these apartments if your budget is limited, but still want to have some quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    72
    11
    2
    10
See reviews for
23
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

My daughter had booked us a studio apartment for a week with Tropicana while we were visiting Ibiza. Having never been to Ibiza she made the decision from the description online and after an absolutely fantastic week in the sun we would recommend Tropicana to everyone.

We arrived successfully with the details provided and were very pleasantly greeted by the wonderful reception staff before being settled in our apartment within minutes.

Our studio was immaculate and was serviced every second day during our visit. As we’d requested a sea view we faced west so not only could we enjoy the amazing views, we also had the opportunity to sit on the balcony and watch the sun setting each evening.

Our apartment had everything we needed for our week away and with the complimentary air conditioning meant it was a pleasure to return to after a day in the sun. We also enjoyed many afternoon/early evening swims in the complex’s pool and can highly recommend the very comfortable sun loungers.

Tropicana is based in a fantastic location, literally less than 100 metres from the bus stop, which services local towns and the airport, numerous bars/restaurants and holiday shopping and more importantly a wonderful Suma supermarket at the top of the hill.

Many beautiful beaches are well within walking distance and even the 4km walk into Sant Antoni isn’t a problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We booked the Tropicana as a cheap holiday, hoping that the rooms would be at least basic and clean. It transpired that the Tropicana was better then we expected.

The roomswere basic, however, they did have everything you would expect, including air conditioning. The only thing missing from the room was a kettle, my wife needs her cup of tea in the morning, these can be hired from reception. The balcony was completely isolated from the next door studios which made it feel very private. The studios facing the pool don't get the sun early as they are facing west, however they do get the sun until it goes down in the evening.

The studios were cleaned and the towels etc replaced every two days. Very clean.

The pool area was again basic but clean. No need to rush to get towels put out to get a sunbed. It's Ibiza and any young people at the Tropicana tended to get up at the crack of mid-day. It was fully occupied when we were there and there was not issue with getting a sunbed. The Tropicana does not have a bar, however at reception which is staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week, you can buy cold drinks, ice cream and sanwiches. The staff were excellent and offered to phone the bus company for us to confirm our pick up time for returning to the airport.

The Tropicana is in a great location if you want a quieter holiday. Numerous bars and clubs are within a 5 minute walk, however you do not hear anything at night as the Tropicana is situated in an almost residential area. Out of the Tropicana turn left and it is a 5 min walk to the bars and clubs. Turn right and it is a 5 min walk to the supermarket the locals use, Suma, which is much cheaper than the various Spar stores on the main street. It also has a better range including more fresh and spanish food.

Eating out is aimed I'm afraid mostly at the Brits, chicken and chips, burger and chips, pizza and chips etc. However if you want to eat local food and incidentally eat cheaper then the best place we found was the Bar Restuarante Aljovic on Carre de Lugo about a 10 minute walk from the Tropicana. Lots of very nice Tapas.

The Tropicana is not near the busy centre of San Antonio, however, buses run past every 15 minutes and a taxi was around 10 euros.

Would I go back? No, only because I would not go anywhere twice. Would I be happy to recommend the Tropicana to friends and family, absolutely yes. All in all a really great value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanGray2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My other half and I booked a last minute trip to Ibiza and decided to go with this hotel, which was suggested by the tour operator. We were pleasantly surprised. Its basic but absolutely immaculate in terms of presentation and cleanliness. Staff are so very friendly and helpful. The pool area is an amazing sun trap, wall to wall sunshine all day long and the best bit is that if you are in a room at the front of the hotel you get to see the legendary Ibiza sunset from your balcony. We stayed for 4 days and had a great time. The room we had (2nd floor) was spacious for 2 of us. Like I said, the place is basic but we were out and about a fair bit so this suited us. Air con in the room is free and works brilliantly. The safe cost us 10 euros for 4 days, which we thought was reasonable. The hotel isn't right near San Antonio bay so you get a quieter vibe but its not too far away from the action. There is a fab sunset bar called Kuhamaras (I think) just down the road, definitely worth a visit. All in all, we had a great time and will definitely be back to Ibiza. For our next trip, we will seriously consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the building, 2nd floor ideally, will get you great views over San Antonio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

This was my first self catering holiday. The hotel was basic but clean. Kitchenette was a little less than basic. It has;

2 ring cooker (more like heat pads)
fridge & small freezer
2 x plates
2 x bowls (by your own)
cups, cuttlery (no kettle)

Its about 200 yards to the nearest pub and about 500 to the nearest beach. Its relativley quiet which was what we wanted and had a nice adults pool. There was also a childrens pool (but no children in the hotel)

A regular bus service outside the hotel and also a hotel ferry taking you from san antonio bay to san antonio every half hour till around midnight which is good because its a hefty walk.

Lovely reception staff and very helpful.

The is no bar in the hotel but I would recommend it to others

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krystle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

the apartment was big enough for three adults Maids come round three time a week. There is a two ring electric cooker and a fridge .one big pan one small pan and a frying pan thats all you have to cook with. pool area clean and pool cleand everyday but the pool is cold be prepared. staff very friendly and helpful. location is great just 5min walk to all the noise and mayhem but far away for a quiet night sleep... turn left out of hotel there is a supermarket top of hill to the left called sumas.....mobey dicks is good great food and stuff for the kids to do... the old tavern also has great food. u can catch the boat from melord hotel to san antonio ruffly 2.50 euro each last ferry 12pm or catch the number 2 bus this takes you to san get this top of the hill from hotel just turn right and cross road the best beach id cala bassa this is a must, think number 7 bus takes you there but you can take the boat 9 euro return catch it same place as ferry.over all great time hotel great would recommend it and i would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spake31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We went to stay in San Antonio for a month and during the time we made lots of friends so were luckily enough to see and stay in various accomodation throughout the island but Tropicana was by far the worst place to stay. I would not reccomend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank princesskerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.4 km away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#45 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Apartamentos Monterrey
Hotel Apartamentos Monterrey
#58 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Apartamentos Club Maritim
Hotel Apartamentos Club Maritim
#4 of 6 in Port d'es Torrent
3.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#46 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
2.6 km away
Hostal Tarba
Hostal Tarba
#10 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.3 km away
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
Aparthotel Reco des Sol
#50 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estudios Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estudios Tropicana

Property: Hotel Estudios Tropicana
Address: Calle Madrid 25 | Baleares, 07839 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estudios Tropicana 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartaments suitable for couples, familys and people who want enjoy a quiet and relaxing holidays.Far away from the noisy area but close to shops and leisure locals.Two minutes from the airport bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Estudios Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Estudios Tropicana Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing