We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Have just spent a week at the hotel on an all inclusive basis. Only have good things to say the staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel clean and comfortable. Great choice of food and plenty of it. The rooms were kept spotless and beds made with lovely crisp high quality bedlinen. Beautiful view of the sea and castle from our balcony. Although a busy and popular place you could still feel in certain areas that you might be the only ones here,extremely relaxed unhurried atmosphere. This was our first experience of all inclusive and it was great. Would recommend it to anyone also good for young families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,787)
There are newer reviews for Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,291 - 3,297 of 5,787 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just back from an 11 day stay at Dream Gran Castillo resort and we have one word that sums up our stay - fantastic. We had already booked a sea facing room at no extra cost but where fortunate enough to be allocated a junior suite free/gratis. Everything was first class - the room, the view, the food and the availability of spirits via the all inclusive menu. The room was cleaned every day and new bed sheets provided and the staff where all very friendly.

We cannot praise the hotel highly enough - make sure you hire a car (which is very cheap and enables you to see the island) and try and secure a room in the middle of the complex on the 4th, 5th or 6th floor.

We both found the asian and italian restaurants to be good - just enjoy the ambience and don't try to work out whether it is 4 or 5 star - the hotel is good quality at the right price. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MojoBlackfordby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

must say this hotel is the best in lanzarote, all staff work to make your stay fab. can not fault in anyway!! a very big thankyou

Room Tip: room 6444 penthouse amazing
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank graeme b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent a week at this hotel in April.The staff were very helpful and friendly.The entertainment team worked continually throughout the day encouraging holiday makers to join in their activities(but not pushy)-dance,stretching exercises,cooking,team quiz,aqua exercise and many more sports-evening entertainment was good as well.
The restaurants were very clean and breakfast,lunch and evening meal were varied with buffet style,the food was delicious.It was well organised with so many people being seated -there were two sittings.The chefs were on hand to cook whichever meat or fish you chose.
The rooms were spacious with large bathroom-bath,toilet and seperate shower,also a sitting room leading onto a balcony.The pools were clean and many beds for sunbathing.The complex was a very tidy and clean .
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would recommend this to both families and couples.We booked with Lowcost Holidays .com.We were impressed with their pricing for Hotel,flight and also their organising-for transfer to hotel and return,flight times and also their help over the telephone when trying to book.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea or overlooking pool around the pool bar area. Rooms overlooking pool near spa...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We took a week vacation in the Gran Castillo in March. The weather was bait cool in the evenings but the days were fine and sunny. The hotel is well managed and clean and the staff helpful.

The food service was excellent although the specialist Asian and Itallian restaurants were very basic and frankly the food quality in the main restaurant offered excellent choice and well prepared meals.

Playa Blanca was a short taxi ride / long walk from the hotel and the harbour / marina was a beautiful spot to relax

Would recommend it for couples outside school holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 15th - 23rd April and really had a wonderful time. My wife, 2 year old son and I visited with 3 other family (my college friends - all had children). From the day we arrived till the time we left, we were always treat with a pleasant smile. I have been on group holidays before and you get ignored when you are on a big group. But staff at this hotel has always been very helpful. I'd like to give 5* for this.
Rooms were fabulous! Very spacious with balcony.
Food was amazing...lots of variety but it can be repetitive - I cannot complain on this because there were so many variety and you cannot enjoy everything in one day.
It gets really busy but the chefs has always been pleasant.
We stayed in all inclusive basis and there were no shortages for drinks.
Walk to Playa Blanca was great but it was bit tiring for us to walk with kids. The scenery was amazing.
Overall, I like to thanks you for a great service you provided!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karuna_Ahilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great hotel. Food good, especially in Chinese and Italian restaurants. Animation team super fun and all staff very friendly. Ask for room with sea view and enjoy.

Room Tip: Sea view !
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theslanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.2 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
10.9 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,932 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2.5 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,300 reviews
31.6 km away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $198 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing