We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and relaxing in a good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Limones Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Playa Limones Apartments
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing in a good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Playa Limones.
The complex itself was clean, quiet and peaceful.
The bungalow we had was clean and spacious. It had a private terrace with its own sunbed and table/chairs.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The only slight inconveniences that might affect people – although we weren’t bothered by it – is that reception is only open 9am to 9pm and the bedding is only changed once per week.
Breakfast was pretty good with a large selection to choose from – everything from cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, bread and pastries, and a selection of hot food (fried, scrambled & boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, etc.) that varied from day to day.
Plenty of sunbeds around the pools - although we preferred the sea and sand as the complex is also well situated with a just short walk down to Flamingo Beach.
What we really liked was the pedestrian promenade that’s about 4 miles long and Flamingo Beach is situated at the midway point. From here, you can walk west all the way to the lighthouse or east all the way to Rubicon Marina - a really nice walk either way in the sun.
At night we would walk the promenade east to the town area where all the restaurants are situated overlooking the sea with plenty of choice of restaurant style. We ate in a different place every night and didn’t have one bad meal.
There are also a couple of decent restaurants, (we had a lovely meal in the Greek one), if you head west along the prom as well
We also did the South Tour of the island taking in Timanfaya & El Golfo and on another day, the Cesar Manrique Tour which we thought was even better, taking in the water caves, the artist’s house and the amazing cactus garden.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Playa Limones/Playa Blanca and haven’t got a bad word to say about the place.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank bluevaleCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    95
    57
    19
    9
See reviews for
69
118
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Just got back from staying at Playa Limones and loved it there. Staff we're perfectly friendly, so these review of them being rude is rubbish they couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome! (If you're rude, don't expect people to be nice back!) It is just a sort walk away from the beach and lots of restaurants. Expect to see cockroaches in places where it’s hot, we saw one but it was dead. I was sceptical after reading the reviews but found none of the bad ones to be true. Would highly recommend Playa Limones!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhotoMad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I went on a girl holiday just the other day, there were 3 of us so we all staqyed in 1 apartment. there was 1 bedroom and a sofa bed, this didnt bother us though. the room was very clean and a decent size with a fridge and cooking aparatus. the cleaner came basically everyday and changed our towels and tidied our stuff up (poor lady) but when i met one of the cleaners she was very very lovely. the Pools were lovely and there were lots of sunloungers and shade so no problem there. There is a bar next to the pool which was nice. We stayed half board, so 2 meals a day, the food was lovely and there was plenty of it (less options for vegetarians, lots for pescatarians though) Now the staff. i have never met such friendly and useful staff, the male receptionist was very helpfull and funny and seemed very happy to see us. My favorite member of staff was Luis the barman, he spoke good english and we were there on his last working night, so we went out on the nighttime to celebrate with him. The man that served us our drinks at dinner time was lovely and made our meal time much more pleasant. Playa Limones is a quiet site suitable for all i feel. The beach is literally 2 minutes away, cross a road and then walk down a small hill and you are there. there are resturants tehre aswell, but the better resturants are abouts a 15 minute walk along the beach and your there, theres a funfair, irish pub, kareoke bar and lots of nice little tourist shops. Also if you are looking to go out during the day the receptionist will help you book that, i would highly reccomend the texas ranch zoo, £17 euros to get in for the dat, and £4 euros for the coach, there are loads of things there, a sea lion show, water park...WHITE TIGERS!! and its all humaine as they are rescued animals. i had my photo taken with a sea lion called nemo. i would also reccomen the Teguise market, Bur look around the shops first as i paid 10 euros for a belt, but the shop was sellign it for 5. you must also be good at haggling else they will try and rip you off! but lovely day out. i would reccomend this clean and friendly place to anyone (but if you are looking for clubbing areas playa del carmen is the place to be as there are no clubs in playa blanca) but if you old young, got kids or a couple i would reccomend it. i hope to go back next year!!!

Room Tip: there isnt a sea view but a room with a pool view looked loveley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charliesangels1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We have just returned from our 15th stay at the Playa Limones bungalows in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. I think it being our 15th stay says alot. Bungalows clean tidy and very quiet. The staff are all very helpful and very friendly. Its like going to vist family. I would recommend these bungalows to anyone!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ILoveLanzarote100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

This was our second stay (half board) at Playa Limones. We arrived after the restaurant had closed but Roberto made us up a meal - thanks. It is just what we needed - peace and quiet and very relaxing. Staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobermory69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

The bungalows were neat and tidy and very spacious. the grounds were very pretty and were regularly maintained. Pool area was good, clean and safe (no life guard) and there were plenty of sunbeds to go around. If you wanted a beer you just went to the bar - they didn't speak great english and I don't speak Spanish but "dos grande beers" seemed to work. Also if you want an icecream you nip behind the outside bar and then go and pay for it. Not ideal.
Just to confirm another report - the hotel bar does have a local clientele, we found them very friendly if you stop and talk to them.
Hotel reception was good, the receptionist was German so was quite "to the point". You could have taken this as rude but what do you sound like when you speak a foreign language? We were given a map of the complex and told where our bungalow was.
The food was basic and there wasn't a great selection but we didn't go hungry. There was usually two meats or fish, a few veg, chips and a basic salad and plenty of bread. There was always chips, sometimes pasta, twice potatoes but always chips. Pudding was tinned friut, ice cream, melon. Breakfast had an english option or european. I had to heat my food in the microwave every time as it wasn't piping hot. Most of the guests staying half board were European and didn't seem to mind that the food wasn't hot. Having said this the meat dishes were very well cooked and we had no concerns about eating any of it. It was, as I said before, very basic and needed warming through. I think this was because there were so few guests so the food wasn't replenished every 30 minutes like you get at the busier hotels.
The Flamingo Beach (50 metres away) was under repair so we got the bus to Playa Dorada - 12 euros for a family of 4 each way -or you could take a lesiurely 30 minute walk.
Overall the Playa Limones are quiet and clean and we would go again BUT only on a B&B or self catering basis - by self catering I mean eating out every night. The kitchen area in the bungaows if very limited - no kettle, two hot plates. If you like you food basic with chips and don't mind it not being hot by all means go half board. There are three or 4 restaurants close by (2 mins walk) and loads a 15 minute walk into Playa Blanca centre. Indian, chinese, grills, local seafood etc.
Oh, there is a money exchange a few minutes walk from Playa Limones called Foto Shop, by the Iberostar - we went to exchange some euro trav chqs and after we were quoted and signed the cheques the guy said he didn't realise they were Euro ones and we ended up paying 10% commission. AVOID this ripoff merchant. You can exchange small amounts money/TQ's (100 - 200 euros) at the hotel reception for 3% commission.
Summary - Clean & tidy, Basic food, Good Pool, Safe, Eat out!! I would only recommend it on this basis.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillCee0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Myself and my husband stayed here for the first week in September. On arrival, which was about 8:45pm we were told by the german woman at reception that we were just in time because reception was about to close. I don't know what would have happened if we had been delayed. On a first impression the receiption was very shabby and old fashioned. We asked the rudest receptionist in the world where to go i.e. where was everything and how did we get there. She told us to go out to the main gate and turn left and keep heading down the roadway. We only realised that this was completely the wrong way to send us. The fabulous walk along the beachfront is the way everyone goes to get to the the restuarants etc. Not down this unlit busy roadway.

On first inspection of our bungalow, we thought it was ok, basic and needed updating but ok. We didn't know at that stage that we would be SHARING OUR ROOM WITH COCKROCHES AND BEATLES.

The pool area of these apartments is lovely, mainly because it was very quiet. Either there was hardly anyone staying in the apartments or people chose not to hang around the pool during the day.

During our first day we went to the poolside bar to get some lunch, the guy we approached had very very limited english, when we asked for lunch he said no so we had to go down to the beachfront for lunch. The next day we tried to get an icecream at the poolside bar and the same guy rolled his eyes to heaven because we were distrubing him. We did notice that they had signs up (in Spanish) for pizzas but we were told that there was no food. We asked at receiption as the rude german woman told us that there might be a chef available next week for food.

During our week at the pool, we were joined by many of the staff of the poolside bar's family and friends who quite frankly took over the pool area, they were loud, kept spitting on the ground around the pool and drank there all day we couldn't get into one of the pools because they had so many infaltable beds floating around. The staff at the hotel had no problem setting up barbeques for their friends and family but would not accomodate their guests who only seemed to be a nuisance to them, instead the guests had to leave the complex to eat. The bar at night time also seemed to be set up for family and friends.

Overall I would say that these apartments would be fine if they had the right staff and a friendly receptionist, they are in a good location with a large pool area. The bungalows themselves need to be updated and more effort put into pest control.

I would say to people who are thinking of staying here to give their business to a hotel that appreciates it and where the staff are more friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MaryDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
2.0 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
1.6 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
2.7 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.9 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,542 reviews
0.6 km away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Limones Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Limones Apartments

Property: Playa Limones Apartments
Address: Playa Limones Apartments Avenida Comunidad de Canarias 6, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Limones Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Playa Limones Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Limones Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Playa Limones Apartments Lanzarote/Playa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing