We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
127
216
116
52
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
216
116
52
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff dinner buffet half board walk in dressing room overlooking the sea stunning views choose this hotel swimming pool four nights large balcony buffet style the air conditioning reception staff costa brava salad lola voyage
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 569 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2018

Spent 7 nights here in early December. What a treat! I had read the reviews but was not prepared for the experience. This is not a boutique hotel but it is very individual, quirky and quaint. The whole reception and public areas are festooned with flowers and greenery, although many are artificial. There is a wealth of antiques and object d'art and the whilst it will not be to everyone's taste, not even mine, I found myself loving the overall statement. We were checked in efficiently and courteously, given a free upgrade to a sea view superior room and what a room! The sun was setting and our large balcony, complete with lounger table and chairs, was perched above the rocky cove and rolling waves. Walk in dressing room, large bathroom with spa bath and lots of complimentary bits and bobs. Very comfy beds. Not a modern theme, slightly dated but clean and appealing. Yes, there were paint scuffs to door frames but it didn't spoil the ambience.

The spa pool was also a bonus; tranquil, clean and refreshing and mostly we had it to ourselves. There is a refundable towel deposit, otherwise there is no charge to use the pool.

Food was varied and plentiful at dinner and everynight there was beautifully cooked fish, salads, all you would expect I suppose. Breakfast was also buffet service and you could always find something you would enjoy and if the sun was shining they opened the terrace which had a sea view all around. I would describe the food as more than adequate and on occasion excellent. We were on a half board basis and could choose lunch or dinner and change each day if we wished. The dining room staff were very pleasant, efficient and helpful and always had a smile and time to chat.

The staff that serviced the rooms were also so pleasant and obliging. Our lady couldn't do enough for us. It is the most comfortable I have felt in a hotel for a long time, completely at home.

There are negatives which may be of concern to some visitors. The hotel is reasonably isolated (set back from the main road but no bars, shops etc., in the close vicinity) although there are good bus services right outside. If you are mobile it is about a twenty minute walk into Platja d'Aro, slightly downhill. There is a lovely walkway along the cliff path but if you want to leave it to get onto the road at any point, it is quite a climb (there is a lift inside the hotel down to the path and back up). It is well worth walking the cliff path, in either direction it leads to lovely secluded sandy beaches. Beautiful area. The only other disappointment was that although it was warm and sunny, the pool terrace area was closed and you could not sit in the area, which was lovely.

I would return in a heartbeat and whilst it won't be everyone's cup of tea if you like modern and uncluttered, it was most certainly ours. We thought that ambience and good service were in abundance. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our holiday lovely.

Room Tip: Your experience here will be enhanced by a sea view room, therooms are large and the view is wonderful.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElleJamJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Dear Elle,

We really appreciate your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we will be very happy to welcome you at our hotels in the future.
Thank you for trusting us.

Best Regards,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

I choose this hotel, based on reviews and I am so glad I did! The hotel has some old charm, but not too tacky. It is located on a cliff, looking over Mediterranean, and you fall asleep with sound of waves hitting the cliffs. The hotel staff is nice and helpful, rooms are basic, but comfortable with large bathroom. Food is excellent, good, fresh choices, all very tasty. You have beaches on both sides of the cliff, or you can spend the day by the pool. Very quiet, no loud noises, very peaceful. It is a 20 minutes walk to downtown Platja d'Aro. I would recommend this hotel for those who are looking for calm and peaceful holiday with good food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ranija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear Ranija,

Thank you for reviewing positively your stay in our hotel. Reviews like yours encourage us to keep working and striving to offer the best of us.
We hope to see you soon again in our hotels.

Thanks for your confidence,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

I can only recommend Cap Roig hotel and luxurious Marivent apartments! We were lucky to get a free upgrade offer and enjoyed our one-week stay at the luxurious residence with an amazing view. Manager Cristina was very helpful, competent, and supportive. All apartments are completely new, decorated with great style, and are very convenient. Moreover, we had our private whirlpool on our p (private) roof deck, facing the sea. Truly luxurious! Breakfast was served right at the apartments side, so that one did not have to walk down to the hotel. Breakfast buffet was very reach and cozy, too: due to the not so many guests, the atmosphere was very quiet and peaceful. Ksenia, our waitress, was super nice and attentive. Dinner buffet at the hotel is very reach, fresh and tasty. I forgot to mention breath-taking view outside the dinner room at the hotel and extremely convenient beach access. Thank you very much for our stay at Cap Roig - two thumbs up and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ganna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Ganna,

We really appreciate your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we will be very happy to welcome you at our hotels in the future.
Thank you for trusting us.

Best Regards,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

We lived close by for three years and never used this place. The property is nice, if not a little dated, but still nice enough. The sea views just stunning. Other likes; the pool, the pool bar and the spa.

Biggest surprise was the team - couldn't do enough to make you happy and always with a smile. Super friendly.

For us it was a working weekend, we were closing up our apartment. So we were looking for comfort and sleep.

The only thing we wasn't wowed by was the grill restaurant. Buffet style and food, whilst wholesome, was still buffet food. Most likely great for families, not really for us. That said it was great value for money and by now the customary service with a smile also extended to here. Besides people who know this area also know that one can get spoilt for culinary choice.

For sure this place is a keeper - but it's amazing how much difference it makes when the team want to make you happy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 315davec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Dave,

Thank you for reviewing positively your stay in our hotel. Reviews like yours encourage us to keep working and striving to offer the best of us.
We hope to see you soon again in our hotels.

Thanks for your confidence,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Platja d'Aro is one of our favorite areas in Spain and we are repeat visitors to Hotel Cap Roig. The hotel is situated on a beautiful cliff with incredible ocean views and exterior pathways leading to lovely coves/beaches. During our most recent visit we felt that the staff from reception to restaurant/bar service was not as friendly, helpful or welcoming as in previous years. With the exception of a few people, they just didn't seem very happy or eager to assist guests. Our family room was clean with very nice/new furnishings, comfortable beds, big TV, couch, outdoor patio and a lovely ocean view. The cleaning staff do a great job! The entire hotel and bedrooms are immaculate. The hotel is over-decorated (to the point of being tacky), but it still feels comfortable and does not detract from the beautiful location. The pool area is beautiful and the ocean views are priceless! A few suggestions: Somewhere to hang wet swimsuits/towels on the patios would be good. Spacious bathroom, but no shelf or cabinet for personal toiletries/makeup. Our room needed a second garbage bin and new commode in the closet (broken). Hotel should stock higher-grade alcohol with better bartenders, but the indoor/outdoor bar spaces are very enjoyable. For the overall price, we feel the hotel just needs to "step up" on everything a little bit more from service to quality to offerings. That being said, we very much enjoy staying here and would return again. (The views!)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sunshine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Sunshine W,

We would like to thank you for your time writing a review about your stay with us. Your comments are very important for us, and they help us to improve our service every day. We would really like to welcome you at our hotels again in the future.

Thank you and best Regards,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews