We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly there!! Such a shame! Needs Attention and a good manager!!”
Review of H.TOP Platja Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Platja Park
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Reviewed 10 October 2011

When we arrived at the airport, we had booked transfers, but they never arrived! We rang the hotel but they were not interested and said that it was the agents fault - 50 euros later we arrived at the hotel!!
Its very clean inside, the rooms are mopped and beds are changed every day. The food is fine, there's always something to eat you just have to try a few things!!
The hotel caters mainly for the Spanish and the English were in the minority! Our saving grace was meeting some really nice English people who all had the same opinion of the hotel. If a little more effort was made the hotel would be so much better. The manager isnt interested, he spends his time watching guests play chess! He doesnt meet and greet! The staff are miserable! They slam your drinks on the bar - they just dont want to be there! The only decent bar staff is the girl with the pink hair who was always polite (she deserves a pay rise if you are reading this Mr Manager!)
The pool area is dirty - we shared a few days with Mr Roland Rat who was running around! A lady saw a rat drinking out of the pool and another rat was inside one of the cups! The paving is broken and when you try to sunbath you are covered in flys who are living in the cracks in the paving! If you use the internet (we had to use it to get in touch with our holiday company) the area is covered in ants!!
I'm no snob, I went 2/3* last year to Turkey and it was immaculate in comparison to this place! That hotel was down graded and it baffles me why!!
The hotel chain/management needs to be addressed. Just some small changes would make the place a whole lot better. The pool area needs to be relaid and pest control needs to go in there. The pool area was empty even on a boiling hot day because parents didnt want their kids by rats! The staff need to have some training on customer service (being polite to them doesnt make them any more pleasant!) this includes the reception staff not just the bar staff.
We left on Sunday and they were closing the hotel down, not sure if it was due to lack of guests or whether it was because of the vermin.
Its okay saying that you get what you pay for, but manners cost nothing and there's no excuse for having rats and fly nests all over the place.
I am so glad that i didnt go to the hotel in the main summer holidays, it would have been absolute chaos.
I hope that they address these issues for people that are going on holiday next season. Its such a shame really - the hotel needs some TLC.
I am the first to admit that people moan for the sake of it, but this is an honest and true opinion of the hotel. I would definately go back to the area, but not the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifer_kedihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

Returned on 5 October after a week's stay and totally agree with what donna d says.

We had to wait one and a half hours at Gerona airport for transportation. 15 of us not very happy.

On the food front after a few days of similar food some of us English and Scottish rather liked some of the soups. Other comments are that we found the plastic glasses were 'tumbler' size. As donna says, Yula, the Russian 'pink haired' girl behind the bar was always smiling as too was another barman who wore glasses but the other girls did look rather stern. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

We had 2 good dancing shows while we were there, Tropicana and Brazilica, although rather short. Beware there is a rat living at the top end of the pool area, which we named Rolands Corner.

A Belgium lady had a slight accident while we were there, she moved her sunbed and her foot went through a patio tile and our Glaswegian friend, nicknamed Nightingale, went to her aid. Nightingale went to the staff and they handed her some first aid kit which she used on the lady. We did think it a bit off that the staff did not seem to care.

We met a lot of Scottish people there and we all had a nickname, Dolphin, Bailey Kid, Ghenkis Khan, Simba, Godfather, Screech, Nightingale, Flash, Bobbie and Skippy are some of them. We all had a real laugh together and as with every holiday, it is what you make it.

We found the rooms to be spacious, good pressure shower, air con worked, clean and at night the hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

i have just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel and had mixed views after reading some of the reviews. i got through the week but if i had the choice again i would not go here. checking in late at night was fine, pleasant reception staff, the room was fine. it went downhill from there.
the hotel is not geared towards the english - mostly french, spanish and german.
the hotel operates a card for all inclusive which you show at the bar for drinks. the confusion starts here. the plastic glasses are tiny yet you are allowed 1 drink at a time and the queues are a nightmare. the staff behind the bar are sooooo miserable - except the russian girl with pink hair, who always has a smie - it is quite intimidating to go to the bar and as for a drink. sometimes they will allow you 2 drinks but seconds later you can go back and ask for another 2 drinks and they will say 1 drink per card. it seems if your face fits you will get 2 drinks.
the entertainment was a joke, 1 spanish guy who repeated everything in 4 languages so it took forever and he was so rubbish you had to laugh at him.
the pool area is small but there are plenty of beds and tables, the pool is freezing.
rooms are ok and the towels are changed daily but the sheets dont get changed at all, you have to pay if you want to use the fridge - 5 euros for week. there is a hairdryer but i could blow stronger.
the biggest let down was the food, im not a fussy eater and for the price we paid for all inclusive i wasnt expecting much but it became a joke. after 2 days i resorted to chips, chips and more chips. there was always plenty of choice but it was different types of fish constantly, as soon as you entered dining room the smell of fish hit you. there was pork, chicken and veal but they were not nice at all. i think they must have bought whole pigs as they seemed to use every part of them including the trotters. what was served at lunch and left over was made into stews for dinner. lunch was always nicer than dinner - if nice is the right word.
i think its fair to say everything is recycled. the good news is there is plenty of salad and fruit. if you have young children or fussy eaters, you will struggle to feed them.
all in all i will definitley not be returning to this hotel
the resort is a nice place, very clean and lots of shops if you love shopping, however you are quite isolated unless you hire a car. the beach is lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Well we arrived at the airport, we had to wait 1hr to be collected by the hotel minivan, due to it not being big enough.

Lets start with the resort as this is positive, the resort itself is very clean and nice, lots of cafe bars and eateries, good job as you will need them!

The hotel is ok, dated is probably the best way to describe it, the room was ok the bathroom was in black tiles ? the beds are slim and hard.

The food on the first 2 nights was good, then it got very samey, contrary to some reports it was hot enough to eat, however we ate out most days in the centre and a few nights in the week too as it does get very boring, the hotel is supposed to be open till 10pm yet a few nights this closed at 9.30, the pool bar was also closed for end of season ? one can have too many chips at lunch and rice and veg at dinner, but dont despair there is a mcdonalds just down the road!

Now lets come to the staff, hmmmm rude, ignorant, can hardly speak english, the bar is a joke, you have to queue and can only get one drink per person and the glasses are tiny! the reception which we visited on many occasions can hardly speak english and they dont ever crack a smile, the bar thing gets on everyones nerves it just doesnt make any sense the way they do it. the all inclusive drinks are a con its more money for branded or even a large beer, do not pay the upgrade its not worth it.

The hotel is full of french people and even though the school holidays are over there seems to be loads of british families with lots of children, which if you like peace around the pool forget it as they took over the whole adult pool which is tiny and didnt use the kids pool at all.

its really hard to express into words how poor this holiday has been, we know it was cheap but its not a 4star, 2 plus at best but all that glitters is not gold here.

my advice is to pay another 100 quid as you will end up spending it anyway in town on food and drinks!!.

You have been warned...........

Room Tip: ask for a balcony with the evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

If I trusted the reviews of this hotel, I wouldn't have stayed there. In fact, if I based every holiday on Tripadvisor' I would spend most holidays in my garden shed. A lovely hotel at an excellent price which is ruined by the idiots who show up and refuse to accept that they are in Spain. Not Brighton, but Spain.

Most people say the food isn't varied. Absolute cobblers. Maybe the chips weren't chippy enough or something but I found that there were than enough options.

The staff were more than polite as I decided to try treating them like human beings. I overheard some of my British chums calling them every name under the sun because the rooms were not up to standard (no balcony, hard beds, cool air conditioning, no Sky World family pack and so on) and when we decided we wanted to be moved to a room balcony - we asked and they obliged without any fuss. Perhaps it was because I managed to ask them for a change without using fifteen expletives and bringing their parentage into disrepute.

Excellent value for what we paid for it. I turned up expecting a 3 star ish establishment and I wasnt disappointed. Everyone who turns up looking for a fight should try somewhere more English, like England.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank badgerlemerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

we booked this hotel from teletext holidays 3 weeks before we flew, it was our last minute honeymoon, when we landed the hotel had arranged a private transfer for us from the airport which was fantastic, no long coach trip! we arrived at the hotel at 10am but werent allowed food until 12 noon that day, the staff gave us drinks cards for the time being. Whilst the food was not brilliant it was adequate for what we had paid for the holiday. The staff were friendly enough, there were a few in particular that made us feel very welcome, the rooms were standard and provided everything you needed! if anything that stopped me from rating this a 5 was the location, for a yound couple Platja D'Aro was not the place to be. There was nothing to do in the place and the water park was a let down! All in all the hotel was good for what we paid and the holiday was good!
As for the comments saying it is full of foreigners that is what we are to them, its Spain where the spanish live so what do you really expect!!

Room Tip: make sure you request a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kayleigh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

All inclusive with 3 teenage boys was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CARANorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
1.2 km away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#21 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,164 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Platja d'Aro
Hotel Platja d'Aro
#19 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
81 reviews
1.2 km away
ALEGRIA Nautic Park
ALEGRIA Nautic Park
#10 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
716 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
400 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Aromar
Hotel Aromar
#15 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Platja Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Platja Park

Address: Avda Estrasburg 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: $51 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Platja Park 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H·TOP Platja Park hotel is a family oriented hotel, located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain), and it is just 550 metres from a sandy beach. It is situated at 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32KM from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. The modern 208-rooms offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc. • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service) • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room) • Wi-Fi • TV plasma • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Platja Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park Platja D'Aro, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing