We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
28
75
53
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
75
53
15
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 191 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was out of this world the staff were all brilliant Jose the entertainment man and Christine in the restaurant (who should be a manager plus the reception staff the ladies cleaning the rooms who work so hard . The chef and his staff. The bar staff especially George absolutely fantastic and both the hotel managers who are so good. Most of customers in the hotel were Spanish,French,Russian we were the only English in total nine of us but they all made us welcome so thank you all for one of the best holidays I have had .xxz

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemedplaya, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear Joan S
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monterrey for your recent holiday in Costa Brava.
Its great to read that you had a lovely holiday with us and that the service, standards and the friendliness of our team at the hotel ticked all the boxes for you.
Thanks for your feedback and we hope that we will see you again on future occasions
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations Team MedPlaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Overall the hotel was very nice. Placed in a quiet area very near the beach and just a nice walk far from the center.

The rooms are beautifully furnished and clean and the bathrooms are also very nice. The only setback is that you have to pay 3 euros per day in order to use the small fridge. We had never faced that before in any other hotel.

The staff were very helpful and kind and the common areas are fine but simple. The restaurant is a little bit small but the food is good quality and well cooked though not much variety in the breakfast.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Txell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2016

The hotel was clean, but I felt like they did the minimum on the extras. Wifi is included ONLY in the hotel lobby, but in the rooms you need to pay 5 euros for it. We paid for it, but it wasn´t great only like a phone data kind of speed. We could only use one electronic device with this code... One thing I did not like, is that they didn't offer parking, so I had to go park in the street somewhere near. Then the bathroom was fine, but the only amenity that the room included, was like the inside of a public hand soap utensil(like if you open a public soap). I did appreciate that it was clean, but I wasn´t fully pleased, it was fine for one night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemedplaya, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Dear Jonathan K
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us at the refurbished Hotel Monterrey in Costa Brava.
We are sorry to read that there were areas where you felt we could do better, but pleased that overall you were satisfied with the hotel and service.
We hope that we will see you again at a MedPlaya Hotel on future occasions
Kind regards
Guest Relations Team MedPlaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2015

Stayed a couple of nights at this hotel and for the cost I thought this was a decent small hotel.
The staff were freindly and polite and although not a great choice of breakfast and dinner it was good enough. At least the restaurant was not like a canteen as it was fairly small with a pleasant atmosphere.
Bar area was nice as was the pool area.
Hotel was well positioned about 5 minute walk to the centre of playa de aro.
All in all a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bjfkdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemedplaya, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2015

Dear bjfkdf
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monterrey for your recent stay in the Costa Brava
We are pleased to read that this popular hotel met with your expectations.
As you might be aware we have some planned refurbishment during this winter and hope we will see you again next summer to check them out!
Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again
Kind regards
Guest Relations Team Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2014

+ location is very good: 1 minute to the beach, but 15 minutes to the city-centre (walking)
+ dinner is good and varied (we didn't have lunch there)
+ airconditioning available and functional
+ quiet neighbourhood
+ excellent diving club very close (Dossotaigua)
+ clean rooms
+ despite their appearance the bed do sleep comfortable
+ friendly staff

- no minibar or refridgerator in the room
- outdated rooms, really needing a new paint and update, also the furniture
- breakfast quite monotone and lacking key components, every day almost the same
- people in bar, restaurant don't really speak anything else but spanish
- free internet only in bar and reception and REALLY crappy (slow, not working,...)
- paying internet in rooms (5 euro/1 day, 10 euro/3days, 20 euro for a week): fast and decent connection
- children everywhere, crying, yelling, respectless towards the other guests
- rooms not really soundproof at all
- showers are moody: no pressure, hot/cold/...
- faulty doors that make a lot of noise when opening or closing
- pool area: a joke, unhygienic and in dire need of a remodelling

In short: OK hotel if you're not looking for anything that's close to being a quiet, romantic, peaceful and esthetic appealing place.
Price/quality: maybe ok for this region, but in general absolutely not.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suemedplaya, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your holiday with us at the Hotel Monterrey last August.
We are sorry that there were some aspects of your stay which did not meet with your expectations and wanted to let you know that many of these have been addressed and that we have made some important changes in the Monterrey for Summer 2015, including the upgrading of our menus i the restaurant, a larger buffet and updated decoration in public areas of the hotel.
We hope that if your return to Platja d'Aro you will come to see the changes we have made
Kind regards
Guest Relations Team Med Playa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews