We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
31
29
21
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
29
21
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 93 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2020

We used to go to Ternaard. When we wanted to book that again, we found out it has closed down. After a little search we found the same owner in Dokkum where he opened a new hotel and restaurant. The hotel is very good and comfortable. The beds are excellent. The shower, wow, that is what you want! The restaurant is fantastic with very good biological food. The owner and chef of this hotel/restaurant knows what his guests like. He started again in Dokkum where he stopped in Ternaard. We enjoyed every minute of it. Staff is the same. Very friendly and gentle. We were very happy to have refound this hotel/restaurant in a different city. Will certainly go back. The only negative about it is that there is no parking space. Not far to walk but with a walking disabillity like mine its a challenge.

Room tip: 5 steps down to the groundfloor rooms. No elevator yet, will be in the future. Tell them if you have a disability.
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

What a gem in such a beautiful place. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We were greeted in such a friendly and courteous manner. We didn't want to leave. One very nice part of our experience was that we met a few locals in the hotel bar and had a great time conversing with them. The food was great too!

Room tip: Ask for a spacious room.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndreaK-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

Stay at this hotel during a business trip.

There are only two hotels in town.

This one is a *** house with simple gusts rooms furnished in the 70'ties :)

Quite friendly and enough to rast. Bit a price of 90 EUR is to expensive for this location

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank JacDab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017

We spent two nights at Abdij. We had two of their "comfort" rooms in the newer building, although we were able to experience the ambience of the adjacent historic building during meals in their noteworthy restaurant.

Our rooms were clean and efficient. They provided a baby cot for our use. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful at check-in and throughout our stay.

This hotel is in the heart of Dokkum and an easy walk to all of the local sites. Reasonably priced, it will be our hotel of choice when we return to this beautiful town.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100karlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

Hotel in a historical building of the old abbey on a quiet square opposite the church. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast with a varied menu. Rooms are cozy. It could be more light and mattresses are too soft and does not hold together. Bathroom well equipped and comfortable. Room stinks a little musty.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews