We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-24
Expedia.comUS$108
Priceline
Orbitz.comUS$108
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
18
56
28
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
56
28
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small city hotel building on arrival street canal weather boats wine lit annex window
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 122 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Hotel was very welcoming on arrival. Disappointed to find we were not in hotel building but a little way up the road, however room was fine. We had a set 3 course meal in with the price and it was excellent. Recommend to visit around Xmas time as all the streets and boats on the canal are lit up and it looks absolutely beautiful. Buffet breakfast perfectly fine. Very strange to say this but only negative I could find was the really cheap almost not there toilet paper - just makes the place feel cheap - such a shame. Next evening we sat in the bar playing cards and drinking the local beer and chatting to the lovely barman. Lots of great places to visit if you love walking and the sea and geese (which we do). Finished our holiday off wonderfully. Picture from just outside hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lorrainesmith111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

This hotel was the first on our summer break, and I found the hotel and location, absolutely delightful.
On arrival the hotel reception said your room is in another building, my heart sank, but I was judging far to soon. Our room was a short walk from hotel main building, it was delightful a very large room with a steam room attached,you could not ask for more.
We ate in the hotel (booking advisable) we got last table the food matched the building and surrounding area perfect a great start to our holiday. We will be back but next time we will spend more than one night. Thank you Cafe De Posthoorn

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidbarker77792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2019

Clean, well situated, okay breakfast. Nothing to complain. Rooms can be a bit cold during winter but it is due to the old building that has been renovated beautifully, just turn on the heater. would visit again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hye93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

This hotel located on the main canal, is a classic in the heart of Dokkum. It has a terrace with a fine view facing the water. We stayed in the hotel annex, a few minutes walk from the main hotel. Our room was large, clean, modern and quiet...brilliant. The hotel has a great cuisine and our breakfast, included in the room rate, was nummy and extensive in its selections. We will not hesitate for one minute to stay here again, given the location, our room and the very reasonable rate. The only drawback for some might be the free parking lot, located about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There is no long term parking near the hotel.

Room tip: We enjoyed room #28.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lldekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for a drink whilst on a cycle ride and the terrace overlooking the canal looked really pretty and inviting. We chose a quiet table and a waitress came over straight away and took our order. The Dokkum coffee was tasty and it was a good place to stop and enjoy the weather and drinks.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carolem325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews