We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
11
11
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
11
4
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2016

Always a nice place to stop on a walk and get a quick pit stop. A really beautiful and tranquile place to spend an hour or two.
In the summer it gets a bit busy vut have a bit of patience and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2015

I hesitated before I decided to write this review as we would prefer to keep this our little secret weekend retreat but as an avid Tripadvisor user I feel it is my duty to share with others our experience.

The hotel is actually more a restaurant with (large) rooms. If you are looking for a hotel convenient for business in Haaksbergen this would probably not be the best choice. If you are looking for a relaxing walking , bicycling or horse riding short break in the Dutch countryside – with a very good meal in the evening – this is definitely one for your short list.

The hotel is set in almost a chocolate box setting next to a watermill. The surrounding countryside is ideal for walkers ( there is a network of signposted walks), ideal with cycling ( it is situated between ANWB cycling numbers 52 and 82) and I believe you can with prior arrangement bring your own horse as there is a stable next to it. The countryside is a mix of cornfields, and fields of cows and sheep mixed in with woodlands and small villages. No big tourist highlights but very Dutch countryside.

The rooms are large. This is our second stay ( forgot the first time to write a review!) – Our first stay we were upstairs in a split level room – this time we stayed downstairs with a large bathroom with bath and shower. The room still has the original farm building features with a very barn door behind the bed and wooden beams. Being a barn conversion with small windows it is on the dark side and the brown carpet and dark furnishings doesn’t help. But it is very clean and fits in with the surroundings. There is a safe, coffee and tea making facilities, a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a sitting area.

We were allowed to bring our two small dogs at a surcharge. It was very handy that there is a back door for quick access to the outside in the morning. We did have a bit of a fright though to discover the “friendly” dog of the neighbors was a very large Doberman Pinscher and it wasn’t behind a fence!. It didn’t seem so friendly when we tried to returned our hotel bicycles at the back of the hotel with our small Dachunds still in their baskets. I managed to return the bicycles without our dogs and the dog was friendly towards us humans!

There are hire bicycles available – there were perfectly acceptable. We managed to cycle at least 55 km with them! Our dog baskets fitted on the back with no problems. As I mentioned the ANWB bicycle point route goes passed the hotel ( Between 52 and 82). We can recommend the route “De natuur rondom Haaksbergen” – you can download this route for free from the website route.nl.

We had a four course meal on the terrace in the evening which was very good! ( see separate review) The waiters are friendly but correct. The food and wine where excellent. It was fully booked but the service was not too rushed and not too slow. Only slight niggle would be that it would have been nice to have a small chocolate of biscuit with the coffee at the end of the meal – but then nothing can be 100% ;)

Breakfast is served per table which we love. Last visit we were lucky enough to sit outside on the terrace but this time it was slightly too cold and slightly too many wasps. Not that we minded as the interior is characterful and rustic. We were given a large selection of rolls, brown and white bread, molenwegge and croissants. There was a selection of jams, cheeses, meats, fruit , yoghurt and a very fresh boiled egg. It is a more personal breakfast than a buffet and there was plenty of it served by a very friendly blond lady.

The next sunny weekend we will definitely be booking again – as long as it isn’t booked full because of my review!!

We had booked the “Fiets of wandel Arrangement “ – included was the cycle hire, coffee with “Molenwegge” ( a sort of raison bread – with a thick layer of butter) ,the room for the night, breakfast and a 4 course meal. We can definitely recommend this arrangement for couples looking for peace and quiet, a good walk or cycle and a good meal after!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2015

This review is for the restaurant. The restaurant is located in a picturesque setting with a lovely terrace and comfortable indoor area. We all chose the 25 euro, 3-course special menu and enjoyed the food. The service was extremely, extremely slow, which is the reason for the lower review. This could have been due to the fact that there was only one waitress and we were nearly the only table in the restaurant as it was during the week.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2011

B'ij de Watermolle is situated a short distance outside the modern and unexciting town of Haaksbergen, next to an historic watermill - there is a very pleasant covered dining terrace and an outside cafe area overlooking the mill pool, an excellent place to relax on a sunny day (which we were fortunate enough to have). The establishment is perhaps closer to a restaurant with rooms than a hotel, and - not surprisingly in view of the location - is popular for weddings; service was friendly but informal. We tried the chef's special menu (€44) and were impressed; the individually served breakfast (no buffet) was also good.

The room we had was split level (I wouldn't recommend this hotel to disabled guests) and somewhat dark, with traditional heavy oak furniture, but it was comfortable and spacious, with tea and coffee making facilities,free wifi and "his and hers" bags of toiletries, although strangely no hairdryer.

The area itself boasts little in the way of tourist attractions, but the hotel would be a good stopping-off place if you were undertaking a walking or cycling tour.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_at_folly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I had to ask the staff to come to the bedroom twice to vacuum clean. Three areas had been completely overlooked and it was filthy. The bath plug did not work and staff were unable to find a replacement. There were no tea bags in the bedroom only coffee. A bottle of water was spilled over our table and we received no apology only a look of complete boredom from the waitress. The breakfast eggs were uncooked and had to be replaced for the third time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews