We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my usual hotel”

Stravinsky Eten . Drinken . Slapen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stravinsky Eten . Drinken . Slapen
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This was my first stay, it was not quite what I expected. The first surprise is that there is no reception area, check in is within the restaurant. The other surprise is the included breakfast is served in a brown paper bag in your room by ticking from a small selection printed on the bag. Real breakfast does not start until after 9:00, so no use if working.
The room layout was a bit odd too, fine on your own, not sure I would like the "in room" toilet if I was sharing.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016

We've had lunch here. It took quite a while before the waitress came to bring us a menu. The menu is not very extensive. The glass for the wine were filthy. The wine was good. The waitress dropped and explained that simply cutlery at other guests at the table. The food was disappointing, the flavors were not really coordinated. A little disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

The location of the hotel is right above a restaurant by the same hotel. The staff is quite nice and helpful, but the place seems a little disorganised, though this might have been since the hotel only recently opened when we stayed there. Upon our arrival we found that they had no notice about our reservation and the manager was not to be found. So one of the girls from the restaurant had to run around looking for him. We were offered complimentary drinks for the trouble, which we appreciated.

Once the manager was found, he quickly checked us in to a room on one of the upper floors. If you have luggage or walking troubles, beware, there are no elevators here. The walk to the third floor wasn't too bad since we didn't have much luggage.

Now the room itself is quite interesting. We've stayed in other "modern" and "contemporary" hotels but nothing like this, ever before. The double bed was quite high and at the end of the room, literally jammed into the windows. So you had to hop on to it and the person on the side of the windows couldn't get off without hopping over the other person. The shower cubicle was literally right in the middle of the room and the sink was right behind it, hidden from view. But the weirdest thing was the toilet which was in plane view of the whole room. No doors, no curtains. You better be highly comfortable with your partner. ;-)

Due to there being bars and restaurants in the area, the hotel can get loud at night. Light sleepers beware. Of course, higher floor rooms on the back side of the hotel are better than the rest in terms of noise.

The best thing the hotel has going for it is the location, which is central in Hengelo. There are quite a few parking spots nearby as well, if you are driving yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sehgalanuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I know the title may be intriguing but i didn't wish to be negative about this place.

The plus:
its right where you need to be in the centre and a 10 minute walk to the train station-perfect!, the staff are friendly and attentive and are able to speak or at least willing to try to speak other languages. There is a lovely seating area at the front to watch the world go by but equally nice inside. The drinks service is quick but the food takes a little longer. Breakfast is basic, we had the extra 5 euros breakfast which had yogurt separate granola and if asked for, separate flavor such as honey. There was cheese and ham and brown bread and butter and also fresh orange, this was the standard extra. They do a wicked smoothie of healthy stuff which was also nice instead of the food option.
The needs looking at:
The menu in dutch seemed extensive, the menu in english seemed very small? i struggled to find something i liked and yet i like vegetables and flavor some food, i opted for the courgetti dish which was spiralized courgettes with what looked like shreaded veg, it was nice, no extra parmesan was offered and it would have possibly been nicer with some flavored bread as i was still a little hungry after it. The men had steaks which looked good but it came with half a tomato with cheese and some coleslaw and mixed veg in little silver buckets? this is not necessary, please dont play with food it just needs to be on the plate served nicely!, the fries came after they had finished their steak again in buckets! so not so good. The hotel room number 307 was on the top floor, 6 flights of stairs, no lift! the room was nice, modern, compact cant complain, but!!!!
The downside:
At the end of the bed is the shower, yes that's right at the end of the bed, not in another room, just at the end of the bed! then the toilet is to the left of the shower! yes that's right not in another room, just open to the room, there is small piece of board that you can look at your loved one over and have a chat whilst you empty your bowels of the courgetti you had the night before! and if you speak loudly enough he might not hear you doing that! this room is not recommended for people who aren't too comfortable with crapping in front of each other.
All in all the stay was nice but with reservations, would i stay here again?, no but i like a little more comfort, would i recommend it? yes for the lone traveller! would i eat here again?, no not for an evening meal but maybe for sandwich, was the food good? yes but needs to cater a little better, my recommendations would be be to take a look at the apfel down the road and emanate something like their menu.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back, front was noisy
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry_jacklin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

They serve very good food at the restaurant. The ambience is nice and simple, but waiters are very helpful. The cuisine is European and some traces of nouvelle cuisine; dutch food is of a very high quality also for foreigners. I will be back there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cc_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hengelo
0.3 km away
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
4.5 km away
Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede
7.6 km away
Het Wapen Van Delden Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Tuindorphotel 't Lansink
4.6 km away
Hotel Frans op den Bult
Hotel Frans op den Bult
#1 of 1 in Deurningen
16 reviews
4.2 km away
Landgoed Hotel & Restaurant Carelshaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stravinsky Eten . Drinken . Slapen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stravinsky Eten . Drinken . Slapen

Address: Burgemeester Jansenplein 20, 7551 ED Hengelo, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Restaurant Grand Cafe Stravinsky)
Region: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Hengelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Price Range: $93 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stravinsky Eten . Drinken . Slapen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing