We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
10
18
10
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
18
10
9
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2017

I was staying in this hotel only one night due to snowstorm in Istanbul and we were rerouted to Sanliurfa. Rooms was not Clean and they all seems to be smoking rooms. When coming into my room the ashtray was full of cigarette buds. The only good thing in the hotel was breakfast lunch and dinner. Location is also ok Close to the market Place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thomasal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We were part of a tour and had to spend the night here. The place looks old, the pool is share with birds, and the fact that they keep you passports at the reception mm is not good. I don't if it was us just us that were expecting more, but in my opinion is not a nice place, however I think is the only hotel round the area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mbo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Filthy dirty hotel, please if you are visiting sanliurfa DO NOT stay in Harran Hotel! I have never stayed anywhere so bad arrived last night & was shown to our room. Carpet was strips of carpet glued to the floor, corners had curled up, couldnt walk on it without shoes as it was so dirty & certainly hadnt been vacuumed. Next stop bathroom... Big stain on the bath, someone elses hair stuck to the shower wall, floor filthy, at this point wanted to vomit. Towels were stained, bed & pillows stained, i could write my name in the dust. Bare wires hanging from the ceiling. No facilities (kettle etc & i need my coffee ) staff extremely rude, on a main road so extremely noisy! Air conditioning remote control didnt work, had to stand on a chair to turn it on/off... No English speaking staff, tried to ask for clean towels... Impossible! He felt if the towels were wet, shrugged his shoulders & walked away. At check out i was shooed away like a cat! Just a dreadful experience. Now checked out & moved to another hotel, no way i could have spent 5 more nights there. Ive now made a complaint to the online booking service hopefully to get a full refund!

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2015

Rapid change has overtaken Sanliurfa in recent years, thanks to the wealth brought by the GAP project, but the Harran Hotel still holds it own as the place that locals all recognise as the class hotel. Having been dumped un-ceremonially on the ring road below the bus station late at night, we were eventually rescued by a single woman in a taxi who recognised our plight. Both she and the taxi driver – Omer, who took us to Gobelitepe the next day – were suitably impressed that we wisely knew to stay at the best place in the city!
That said, we were specially saddened – arriving as we did, late and still irritated by Mardin Seyahat for improvising a ring road into a bus-stop – to discover that the hotel went ‘ici-siz’ five years ago and stopped selling alcohol. We had stayed here on previous trips to Urfa (in the late 1990s and as recently as 2008) and enjoyed eating in the hotel restaurant with a reasonable red. But no more! And the page in the menu listing beer and wine has simply been covered over with a piece of paper and sticky tape! That said, the waiters are charming and the kitchen managed to put out a very decent meal for us at eleven at night: we had lamb shish and a chicken casserole (‘kavurma’) that showed a master-hand (‘usta’) at work behind the scenes and were as good as you will find in top end restaurants anywhere in Turkey.
The Harran is a classical business hotel of its era, a proud testament to a commercial class in need of a public place to conduct business over drinks by the pool. New hotels have been sprouting up all over Urfa; some catering to the top end of the business classes brought by the wealth of the GAP project, others suited to those on pilgrimage to the sacred pools of the balikligol, as well as small boutique hotels for independent and secular tourists. The Harran has been updated many times. We were travelling on the cheap and were happy and lucky to get a room at the front at a busy time. The Prime Minister was campaigning in the area, and special security forces were already taking up hotel rooms. Everything in our bathroom worked but showed its age; lots of hot water but taps were often reluctant to turn off; the bedding had seen better days. The cleaner was charming. The breakfast was substantial and varied as ever, and for a room in a decent hotel in Urfa at an exceptionally busy time, the price was good value. The new lobby area overlooking the pool and moving the restaurant to take in the pool area are great improvements.
The Harran has been slowly upgrading many of its rooms, and we would certainly go back and will continue to recommend it to friends and anyone who asks where to stay in Urfa.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2014

We were part of a group tour. The room was nice and clean and comfortable. The Hotel is in the centre of town within easy walk to all historical sights. It is also close to restaurants. They had a the usual Turkish breakfast which some people liked. The shower was slow to heat up in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RossCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews