We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Scottish hunting lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
343 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Proper Scottish hunting lodge”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is a proper Sottish hunting lodge in Carrbridge. The public areas were exactly what you expected, tartan carpets, deer on the walls, comfortable lounge etc. We had booked into the coach house were put in the main house, which was nice. However I would say the bedroom, while large and everything worked, was in need of an upgrade to bring it up to the standard of the public areas.

The service was friendly throughout, and our only one small problem was sorted out immediately. The breakfast was very nice - i can recommend the kippers, and my fiance can recommend the full Scottish!

Room Tip: The pub in town does decent pub grub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    61
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
135
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Really nice hotel, owner was very welcoming and could not do enough to make guests feel at home, food is to a very high standard. Rooms are a good size and very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onelife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed here with my husband and friends as a 2-night stopover on the way back to Cornwall from Lewis. The landlady was very welcoming and, had we wanted to, we would have been allowed to bring our dog in with us. The hotel is probably correctly graded at 3 star, but the food, especially the choice at breakfast, is worth more than 3 stars.
The only fault we found was that our shower didn't work. This was not a major problem as the bath filled very quickly and there was plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KernowDeskadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Firstly, this hotel is not in Aviemore, it is 7 miles outside and a good 30 minute drive to the slopes. I paid for a delux double, our friends paid for a double. When they arrive (two days before us) they were offered the room we eventually stayed in and they said no as it had a maroon bathroom and badly needed decorating. They were put in a slight less offensive room (only three clashing flower prints). So we stayed in a room our friends had turned down and they paid £10 less per night than we did. The toilet made such a loud noise every time we flushed it, we though the pipes were going to burst.
The lounge was pleasant and the food was decent, but the room was certainly not luxurious in any way. I have spent less than £95 per night on much better hotels in the past.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Have stayed here several times at this stage. Can't do enough for you. Food in the bar is excellent and the restaurant even better. Nothing beats driving up on a Friday evening and having your tea by the fire in the bar and then a quite drink in the lounge/library by the roaring fire. Great night's sleep and lovely big rooms (...having used both double rooms and have now graduated to family rooms). Great access to Speyside, Inverness, Fort George and Aviemore and the hills. Will be back up in the new year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MulesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Wonderful location,very accomodating!! Superb breakfast and lovely evening meal.
The owners go out of there way to make your stay comfortable,no faults whats so ever,.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We are a family of three, (soon to be four) and I stumbled across the Dalrachney lodge, an erstwhile hunting lodge, online. After surfing through many sites and looking for great deals, I decided to finally call them up - and am I glad I did! I liked the fact that they were in Carrbridge, a small township in Inverness-shire and since we were interested in going to the Highland Wildlife Park in Kincraig, exploring Aviemore and a few Cairngorm trails, the location was perfect for us!

Travelling with a two-year-old can sometimes be tedious but Helen, the proprietor, made sure that my pregnant self was fed every few hours and our two-year-old was suitably occupied. The warmth and hospitality of Helen and her staff were outstanding and they didn't mind our daughter's occassional yells, screams or tantrums. They seemed genuinely fond of kids and Helen and her team went out of their way to make sure that we were extremely comfortable.

The room that we stayed in was beautifully refurbished and expansive, retaining the old rustic flavour of the hunting lodge with ornate furniture and, it also had a lovely view overlooking the grounds and the River Dunlain. The rates were extremely reasonable, considering that the bathroom, which was across our room, was practically the size of our hall back home in Edinburgh.

We were very impressed with the service of the staff and their attention to detail and they made sure that they accommodated all of our wishes and small requests. We haven't often come across a place so tolerant of children and genuinely concerned about their well-being as well. We all had a fabulous time walking around their lovely grounds, just basking on the grass alongside the Dunlain river. We are definitely going back again with our second, in a few months' time hopefully. Last but not the least, the food was delicious and the chef utilized local products - hats off to the chef!

This is one of the THE best places we have ever stayed at in the UK!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
12.2 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.4 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
5.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
737 reviews
8.6 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
8.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrachney Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Property: Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 2 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Some Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing