We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice and informative.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee des Acadiens des Pubnicos

Musee des Acadiens des Pubnicos
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Pubnico
Attraction details
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice and informative.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2015

We stopped at this local museum after visiting the historic Acadian Village; it is a nice small museum/heritage center about Acadian History & Culture. The staff is excellent; they’re very knowledgeable and can answer many questions. The museum also has a nice collection of some 15-20 duck (decoy-type) wood carvings which are very life-like made by a deceased local artist; and, they have a fantastic collection of some 100 old cameras on display. Finally there’s a garden in the rear where they were growing vegetables and herbs.

If you are in the area and have some time, please consider visiting this museum, it will be time well spent.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank SandF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
172 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a super, hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2015

Our B&B hosts suggested we visit here. We were not disappointed. They called to make sure it was still open. It was open until 5. We arrived about 4:30. A young man gave us a great tour in the house/building. He seemed to really know what he was talking about and to enjoy being there. When 5:00 came, Bernice sent him home, and was our tour guide for the garden. What a wonderful tour. I learned many great things about the Acadiens and their history. Until I came to NS a few months ago I had never heard of Acadiens. Bernice had such a great knowledge of both the Acadiens and the garden. We even got to taste test some delicious raspberries, gooseberries and a berry whose name I don't recall. She was a wealth of knowledge of the herbs.
I would highly recommend that anyone visiting this area make a stop here and enjoy.
When you get your ticket, also get one for the Acadien Village. It is cheaper that way.

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank CoalLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A small museum but with cameras and a garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stopped here on the way back from the Village. Although some of the material reflected what we had already seen in the village, there was new material and some other artifacts. They also had a display of cameras (not really sure why) and a garden out the back. Both were interesting.

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank NeilP451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quaint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2015

My favorite little wayside museum ever! The staff was amazingly informative and so very nice. The area is quaint and it is a little-known history of bias against an ethnic group. The live music was so much fun!

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank mama_in_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Very informative visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2015

Came from North Carolina to do genealogy for a week and stopped by this museum. The tour guide knows her stuff and shared her wealth of knowledge with us. You can learn about surnames, gardening, early life, and a host of other things. We even purchased fresh made jams there. Will go back if I return to Nova Scotia. I could not possibly retain all the info given to me.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Musee des Acadiens des Pubnicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing