We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Genealogy, Acadian history, and so much more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee des Acadiens des Pubnicos

Musee des Acadiens des Pubnicos
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Pubnico
Attraction details
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genealogy, Acadian history, and so much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2016

I came from Colorado to research my Pothier ancestors from Wedgeport. I was told that this museum was an good source of information. I was not disappointed. With the excellent help of the museum staff, I discovered many exciting details about my family. I learned that I was related to the d'Entremonts who are featured in Le Village historique acadien de la Nouvelle-Ecosse, just down the road. This museum has a wealth of detail about the history of the Acadiens during their deportation and their remarkable return to Pubnico. The staff are very knowledgeable and eager to share their history. There are many good books available for purchase, and for the serious genealogist, there are two excellent books worth purchasing if you are doing research for this area. One is "Genealogy, Saint Michael's Parish, 1767-1925, (Wedgeport)," and if you are a descendent of Acadiens, especially the d'Entremonts: "Jacques II Mius-d'Entremont (c. 1679-1759) and Marguerite Amirault (1704-1796), Five generations of descendants." Each cost about $43. I purchased the Saint Michael's Parish book at the Tuna Museum in Wedgeport. This small but interesting museum is well worth a visit.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank anniealfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice M, Manager at Musee des Acadiens des Pubnicos, responded to this review, 25 June 2016
It was very nice to see the links we can do in Acadian Genealogy. Glad we could help. See you in the futur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2015

The museum had a few things that were interesting including a printing press in the basement. It seemed to lack something because there was hardly any people contact. Be sure to pay the fee for both the museum and the village which is a short distance down the road. The Village is more interesting because you talk to a lot of people

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh_Lazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2015

This museum offered both interesting things to view but geneology as well. I was most impressed with the display of the device placed inside the dykes to separate salt and fresh water to be able to utilize more land for farming. There were ladies quilting while we were there to provide a look back.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting outdoor museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2015

This charming museum contains numerous buildings celebrating the region's Acadian heritage and is peopled by local Acadians eager to share that heritage with the visitors. For me a highlight was a conversation in Acadian French, discussing some differences in grammar and vocabulary from international and Quebec French.

Visited October 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steffi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice and informative.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2015

We stopped at this local museum after visiting the historic Acadian Village; it is a nice small museum/heritage center about Acadian History & Culture. The staff is excellent; they’re very knowledgeable and can answer many questions. The museum also has a nice collection of some 15-20 duck (decoy-type) wood carvings which are very life-like made by a deceased local artist; and, they have a fantastic collection of some 100 old cameras on display. Finally there’s a garden in the rear where they were growing vegetables and herbs.

If you are in the area and have some time, please consider visiting this museum, it will be time well spent.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank SandF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Musee des Acadiens des Pubnicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing