We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,685)
Filter reviews
6,685 results
Traveller rating
3,746
2,073
556
183
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,746
2,073
556
183
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river kids club swim up bar water slides coconut bay the grill st lucia atlantic side adult pool buffet restaurant a la carte restaurants something for everyone sea grass gift shop french toast caribbean night entertainment staff
Filter
Updating list...
6,213 - 6,218 of 6,685 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2008

My boyfriend and I went for a relaxing trip at the beginning of October and that’s exactly what we got. The ocean splendor couples massage was wonderful! The swim-up bar was great! The beach has a lot of seaweed, so it’s best to stick to the pools. Biggest complaint was the shower. The temperature fluctuates a lot. Very friendly staff and a good amount of entertainment, including live music almost every night. (I really enjoyed the band Xtra Luv.) This was an excellent value for a 3 star resort. I will definitely be back, but I probably would not go when kids are out of school as I could see that they would be all over the place!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank froggie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Family of 2 adults, 2 children (aged 9 and 13) stayed from 28th Dec 2007 - 8th Jan 2008 and had a fantastic time. The resort was perfect for both children - neither attended the kids club (designed for younger kids) but there was plenty going on for them. Our youngest loved the pool, waterslides and lazy river, whilst the older one enjoyed the table tennis and pool competitions.

Pool area was fantastic - always a breeze so it never got too hot, and always plenty of sunbeds and towels available. However - be aware that there is very little shade around the pools, except under the few trees. The pool with the swim up bar could have done with more regular/rigorous cleaning - it was often obvious near the bar that drinks had been spillled in it!

Beach - a beautiful stretch of coast - perfect for beach walks, but limited swimming due to the fact that it is the Atlantic side of the island and therefore quite rough. Consequently there is quite a lot of seaweed washed up on the beach, but this is cleared regularly and doesn't seem to bother most people.

Rooms were perfectly adequate, although bathrooms are in need of an upgrade - shower regularly flooded onto the floor. They could be significantly improved by adding nicer table and chairs/sunloungers to the terrace. Kept very clean, with regular new towels etc.

Food - on the whole very good for an all inclusive. The main restaurant was efficient and never seemed overcrowded, the food was reasonable, but breakfast and lunch always seemed better than dinner, which became a little monotonous. Of the two upstairs restaurants, both were excellent, but the food in the Italian frequently not hot - be warned, if you want to book these, there is a queue at the booking desk by 7.45am. Arrive later than this to book and you are unlikely to get a table. The beach grill was ok for lunch (the kids loved it), but the bbq days were infinitely better!

Bars - brilliant selection of cocktails - the kids worked their way through the entire list of non alcoholic ones!

Staff - were extremely polite and friendly and dealt with every query efficiently. Just remember that everything works on "Caribbean time" - don't expect an instant response to every request.

Spa - absolutely brilliant - the staff were full of fun and laughter, always cheerful and friendly, and the treatments were excellent. I have experienced many spa's around the world and this was without doubt one of the most enjoyable.

Outside the hotel - jeep safari island adventure was great - the guys that run it, particularly Lloyd and Mervin were brilliant - very entertaining and the kids loved them! Sulphur springs for a mud bath were great fun as was the waterfall. We also went whale and dolphin watching - saw huge pod of dolphins and then some pilot whales (make sure you take sea sickness tablets as it can be quite rough!).

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank reddersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Stayed the week between Christmas and New Years (1/3)with three teenagers. Ride to resort might take five minutes from airport. Hotel property is expansive for a relatively small number of rooms. Check-in was easy and as we discovered throughout the week...always with a smile and laughter. We had two adjoining rooms on the fourth floor which provided nice views but largely are no different from any other floor. Frankly you are never in your room...so not convinced the extra charge is neccessary. Rooms were spotless the entire stay. Be sure to close jalousie windows in bathroom if you leave a night light on as the bugs will sneak in...we closed it after the first night and never saw another bug the entire stay.

Pools are large and never crowded and the hotel was full while we were there. Lines for the buffett are fine as long as you are not in the door the first 5 minutes. Loved the beach as the breeze was wonderful and you could easily use the pools or the ocean. Liked watching the horses gallop along the edge and while there is sea grass...a short walk along the largely deserted beach brings you to many places with zero seagrass. Kids loved the activities from soccer to tennis to basketball and ping pong tourneys, water volleyball etc. CocoBoy...well done!!

The staff here is beyond incredible...never stopped smiling and their love of laughter and music is infectious.....bands, bands and more bands made for a fun week. The Sax player one afternoon was (and got) standing ovation good. Kudos to Crazy Charlie and Big Ted and all the bartenders. Omnipresent yellow clad Security made you feel safe at all times. We opted out of the hotel tours and booked our own with a taxi to the botantical gardens, Soufreire, the volcano and a lighthouse with views to the edge of the horizon ...all for $150 US. Very international flavor our week with most from Europe, Canda and South America. Many topless ladies around the pools and beach which was nice to see...everyone was very comfortable with it even when combined with thongs on the beach...zero gawkers. The spa was excellent . The open air lobby was THE central gathering spot and made for meeting others very easy and a very relaxing area to sit down in at night and just relax with all the other guests...its huge and very comfortalbe.

Negatives: A calm sea for swimming would be great but I think I still opt for that breeze...it was never hot. The west side of the island was HOT. The pools need to be cleaned more often of sand and leaves which pile up, and trash that blows into them over the day. A few brightly painted trash barrels around would help....impossible to find them. Finding coffee at Breakfast is either a waiting game or an impossibility...invest in some more machines.

For the price..this place is excellent for families. For a couple looking for a quiet getaway...not for you.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank family_travel_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2008

The pools were great! Unfortunately the pool and the good food was the best part. The beach was dirty, the rooms were infested with bugs, the staff was rude to 2 women in their 20's visiting for a holiday, and they were just disrespectful and not helpful when we needed to change rooms because of the bugs. 2 women should not have to repeatedly ask for alcohol in their drinks!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stluciaStlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2007

First let me start by saying ignore all the
negative reviews, not even close to being true..... I can only tell you
that after being at many resorts, in the past- Hats off- to the staff at
the Coconut Bay Beach Resort. They all were all so nice, and the resort
is absolutely incredible for kids and adults alike. I think i liked the
water slides more than the kids....Coco Kids is the best kids club we
ever saw- thanks to Nasha, and Noella, and crew. We never thought of
leaving our kids at a kids club at other resorts, but Coco Kids were so
good with all the kids we would fully entrust them with our little ones.
The kids loved the tee shirts, hats, backpack, they received free-and the
even the bathrooms in the kids club are beautifully decorated according
to gender. The restaurants and hosts left us without any compromises, and
the nightly shows were anything but dull. The resort is very clean, and
well appointed to satisy even the most pickiest person....i highly
recommend, and I would rate it a 5 star all inclusive....especially have
been to many over the years that claimed to be 5 stars but fell way
short... We will make Coconut Bay our yearly vacation spot......

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
31  Thank shynherbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews