We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut Bay - St. Lucia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We were at the Coconut Bay from Dec 23 to 30, 2007. The people at this place are very nice and do their very best to entertain. The beach is a bit rough as it is on the Atlantic side, but you can still get in for the most part. The resort is perfect for children. Lots of activities, swimming pools and other children. There is an adult wing and separate pool if you need peace and quiet. It is close to most of the tourist sights. Castries is a one and a half hour bus ride (shuttle from the hotel) at a cost of $15.00 US return. This is not a five star resort, but very clean and comfortable for the price. We used Joy's Safari for a boat trip with snorkelling, etc. He has a 30 foot motor boat and this is a great day out. He can be contacted directly for trips. This is a beautiful island, very hilly and the roads can be pretty tricky. I would not recommend driving there.

19  Thank mcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,720 - 5,726 of 6,190 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2008

My boyfriend and I went for a relaxing trip at the beginning of October and that’s exactly what we got. The ocean splendor couples massage was wonderful! The swim-up bar was great! The beach has a lot of seaweed, so it’s best to stick to the pools. Biggest complaint was the shower. The temperature fluctuates a lot. Very friendly staff and a good amount of entertainment, including live music almost every night. (I really enjoyed the band Xtra Luv.) This was an excellent value for a 3 star resort. I will definitely be back, but I probably would not go when kids are out of school as I could see that they would be all over the place!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank froggie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Family of 2 adults, 2 children (aged 9 and 13) stayed from 28th Dec 2007 - 8th Jan 2008 and had a fantastic time. The resort was perfect for both children - neither attended the kids club (designed for younger kids) but there was plenty going on for them. Our youngest loved the pool, waterslides and lazy river, whilst the older one enjoyed the table tennis and pool competitions.

Pool area was fantastic - always a breeze so it never got too hot, and always plenty of sunbeds and towels available. However - be aware that there is very little shade around the pools, except under the few trees. The pool with the swim up bar could have done with more regular/rigorous cleaning - it was often obvious near the bar that drinks had been spillled in it!

Beach - a beautiful stretch of coast - perfect for beach walks, but limited swimming due to the fact that it is the Atlantic side of the island and therefore quite rough. Consequently there is quite a lot of seaweed washed up on the beach, but this is cleared regularly and doesn't seem to bother most people.

Rooms were perfectly adequate, although bathrooms are in need of an upgrade - shower regularly flooded onto the floor. They could be significantly improved by adding nicer table and chairs/sunloungers to the terrace. Kept very clean, with regular new towels etc.

Food - on the whole very good for an all inclusive. The main restaurant was efficient and never seemed overcrowded, the food was reasonable, but breakfast and lunch always seemed better than dinner, which became a little monotonous. Of the two upstairs restaurants, both were excellent, but the food in the Italian frequently not hot - be warned, if you want to book these, there is a queue at the booking desk by 7.45am. Arrive later than this to book and you are unlikely to get a table. The beach grill was ok for lunch (the kids loved it), but the bbq days were infinitely better!

Bars - brilliant selection of cocktails - the kids worked their way through the entire list of non alcoholic ones!

Staff - were extremely polite and friendly and dealt with every query efficiently. Just remember that everything works on "Caribbean time" - don't expect an instant response to every request.

Spa - absolutely brilliant - the staff were full of fun and laughter, always cheerful and friendly, and the treatments were excellent. I have experienced many spa's around the world and this was without doubt one of the most enjoyable.

Outside the hotel - jeep safari island adventure was great - the guys that run it, particularly Lloyd and Mervin were brilliant - very entertaining and the kids loved them! Sulphur springs for a mud bath were great fun as was the waterfall. We also went whale and dolphin watching - saw huge pod of dolphins and then some pilot whales (make sure you take sea sickness tablets as it can be quite rough!).

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank reddersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Stayed the week between Christmas and New Years (1/3)with three teenagers. Ride to resort might take five minutes from airport. Hotel property is expansive for a relatively small number of rooms. Check-in was easy and as we discovered throughout the week...always with a smile and laughter. We had two adjoining rooms on the fourth floor which provided nice views but largely are no different from any other floor. Frankly you are never in your room...so not convinced the extra charge is neccessary. Rooms were spotless the entire stay. Be sure to close jalousie windows in bathroom if you leave a night light on as the bugs will sneak in...we closed it after the first night and never saw another bug the entire stay.

Pools are large and never crowded and the hotel was full while we were there. Lines for the buffett are fine as long as you are not in the door the first 5 minutes. Loved the beach as the breeze was wonderful and you could easily use the pools or the ocean. Liked watching the horses gallop along the edge and while there is sea grass...a short walk along the largely deserted beach brings you to many places with zero seagrass. Kids loved the activities from soccer to tennis to basketball and ping pong tourneys, water volleyball etc. CocoBoy...well done!!

The staff here is beyond incredible...never stopped smiling and their love of laughter and music is infectious.....bands, bands and more bands made for a fun week. The Sax player one afternoon was (and got) standing ovation good. Kudos to Crazy Charlie and Big Ted and all the bartenders. Omnipresent yellow clad Security made you feel safe at all times. We opted out of the hotel tours and booked our own with a taxi to the botantical gardens, Soufreire, the volcano and a lighthouse with views to the edge of the horizon ...all for $150 US. Very international flavor our week with most from Europe, Canda and South America. Many topless ladies around the pools and beach which was nice to see...everyone was very comfortable with it even when combined with thongs on the beach...zero gawkers. The spa was excellent . The open air lobby was THE central gathering spot and made for meeting others very easy and a very relaxing area to sit down in at night and just relax with all the other guests...its huge and very comfortalbe.

Negatives: A calm sea for swimming would be great but I think I still opt for that breeze...it was never hot. The west side of the island was HOT. The pools need to be cleaned more often of sand and leaves which pile up, and trash that blows into them over the day. A few brightly painted trash barrels around would help....impossible to find them. Finding coffee at Breakfast is either a waiting game or an impossibility...invest in some more machines.


For the price..this place is excellent for families. For a couple looking for a quiet getaway...not for you.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank family_travel_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

The pools were great! Unfortunately the pool and the good food was the best part. The beach was dirty, the rooms were infested with bugs, the staff was rude to 2 women in their 20's visiting for a holiday, and they were just disrespectful and not helpful when we needed to change rooms because of the bugs. 2 women should not have to repeatedly ask for alcohol in their drinks!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stluciaStlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

First let me start by saying ignore all the
negative reviews, not even close to being true..... I can only tell you
that after being at many resorts, in the past- Hats off- to the staff at
the Coconut Bay Beach Resort. They all were all so nice, and the resort
is absolutely incredible for kids and adults alike. I think i liked the
water slides more than the kids....Coco Kids is the best kids club we
ever saw- thanks to Nasha, and Noella, and crew. We never thought of
leaving our kids at a kids club at other resorts, but Coco Kids were so
good with all the kids we would fully entrust them with our little ones.
The kids loved the tee shirts, hats, backpack, they received free-and the
even the bathrooms in the kids club are beautifully decorated according
to gender. The restaurants and hosts left us without any compromises, and
the nightly shows were anything but dull. The resort is very clean, and
well appointed to satisy even the most pickiest person....i highly
recommend, and I would rate it a 5 star all inclusive....especially have
been to many over the years that claimed to be 5 stars but fell way
short... We will make Coconut Bay our yearly vacation spot......

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
31  Thank shynherbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2007

Do not be scared that the resort was minutes away from the airport. The direction the planes depart do not fly over you. Our expectations are simple when we travel to the islands. Give me good weather, nice beach, calm blue water, good food and alcohol that gets the job done. With the exception of the water, I was satisfied with our stay. Next time, I'd stay on the north west side, or the Caribean side where the waters are much calmer. Rooms were clean, food was outstanding--that's if you like pork chops, jerk chicken, plenty of rice dishes..I do and loved it. Couple things that are a must....try the atv ride--3 hours of fun through the banana trees, out to a private prairie where you'll see wild cows, horses and goats. You'll go to a private beach and just have a blast. Try the catamaran. We traveled on Passion. Bring your own snorkle gear though. If you like to play golf, St lucia Golf resort in my opinion is not worth the $$$. Nice club house, but I was expecting better views of the caribean. Wide open, you'll not need many sleaves of balls. What will be exciting is t a new resort called Le Paradis...Greg Norman is designing a new golf course which will have one of the worlds most exciting holes. A par 3 175 yard beast against the winds of f the Atlantic to a green protect by bunkering and the ocean. People were nice, decent shopping in the capital, Castries. We from the resort, you can rent a car with Avis(on site) or St lucia National- just off the grounds-you'll get a better deal with these folks, Avis did not want the business. 1.5 hour drive from tip to tip. Overall, I cannot complain.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
25  Thank redskin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
20.1 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
33.5 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
35.5 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.4 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
39.9 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range: $387 - $1,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, complimentary WIFI, 8 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing