We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
179
130
32
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
130
32
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath the kitchen single bed short walk into town mountain bikes room was spacious a wonderful stay shops and restaurants new zealand backpackers unit motel accommodation reagan facilities balconies dorm
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 365 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Was such a chill vibe to the whole area, with ample BBQ areas you can come in from your day of fishing and just cook up your catch and chill out looking out to the pool/spa. Play pool, ping pong or just laze.

Room Tip: look for air con, its normally quite warm up there
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ants811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We booked to stay in the anchor lodge backpackers, when we got there they had overbooked so we were upgraded to sharing a cottage with another couple, it was beautiful a twin room and our own bathroom when we expected a 9 bed dorm.

Beds were extremely comfy best sleep I've had in a long time.

The location was also great.

The guy who checked us in was lovely, genuine and extremely polite and helpful, I wished I caught his name as he deserves recognition!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank -Miss-Williams-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

The position is great. The room is lovely. The receptionist, Linda, was very informative and informed us of the best places to see around the area. No complaints at all. The motel is within walking distace to everything.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We arrived without a reservation and ended up with a large family acomodation in a building a short distance away. The place was huge, with two balconies, a large living room and super quiet in the evening. As spacious as it was, it was also very clean. I highly recommend this for a family.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank distancewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile


A lovely place to spend time.... the hotel is just a couple of hundred metres from the centre of town, with a fairly wide choice of places to eat. The Anchor offers a clean and friendly centre to the whole peninsula - a small pool and gratis mountain bikes are on offer too. Perhaps the jewel in the crown though, is the comprehensive information file! Packed with great ideas for enjoying the locality, we took advantage of the suggested itinerary for a day's tour; stunningly beautiful! We're just sorry we didn't arrange to stay longer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank IanGBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews