We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Island Rendezvous
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice place to stay. Spacious and clean. Close to the village centre. One disadvantage: the room on the ground level do not have much privacy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    119
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
208
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This establishment is made up of units and a old house alongside that is divided in two. The front half is called The Front Villa the back half ..... The Back Villa. There is a small kitchen, large lounge with TV, large bathroom, large bedroom with double bed - actually two single beds pushed together but comfortable, and hall way. The floors are polished timber so tends to make a bit of noise when moving around. The bathroom had a modern shower along with a claw foot bath. The toilet had one of those old pull chain cistern which I haven't seen for years but it functioned well and was located inside! Although our stay was peaceful I could see a noise problem if the other half was occupied by more noisy people but I guess that would be minimal as the place only accommodates two people. The location was good, easy walking distance to the shops, and opposite the tours base. We had the idea, from magazine photos etc, that White Island could be easily seen from the shore of the town but this isn't the case - you need to take a boat tour to see it. There is an observation point above the town that give good views of the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The White Island Rendezvous is a well-appointed motel opposite the dock from where PeeJay's White Island Tour boats leave. This review is specifically for the Back Villa where we stayed, which is separate from the main motel. The villa is a charming residence with interesting features. It had a well-equipped kitchenette for self catering, but breakfast at the Rendezvous' cafe was included and could optionally be delivered to the villa. The Back Villa has a pleasant seating area out the back, which we made good use of. The bathroom has a claw foot bath as well as a shower, and a separate toilet with the first pull-chain flush we've seen for decades (and very efficient it was). The staff at the Rendezvous were very helpful, leaving instructions for our arrival when a major storm in the Hawke's Bay area delayed us by several hours. We were called in the morning to let us know the White Island Tour was on for that day - and what a trip that was; another highlight of our seven weeks in New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

It is a typical motel situation but the deluxe units are very roomy and tastefully decorated in bright mediterranean style. The facilities included microwave and sink like a kitchenette, queen size bed, free wireless internet, r/c air and LCD TV. It's a short walk to the main shopping street and the esplanade is just across the road. If you're up for it, there's a great path up the ridge above the town through the dense vegetation to the lookout via a fortress used by the maori chief. It's all within walking distance if you're not in a rush and active enough.

Room Tip: Our was a ground floor deluxe unit, probably better than the first floor. All rooms should be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel months in advanve so that we could easily go to White Island. Unfortunately weather cancelled the boat out. We booked one of the villa rooms since it was only a few dollars more. WOW. It was like having a large four room backelor apartment to ourselves with our own kitchen, dining room/living room king bed and a bathroom that could fit 20.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Room was clean and fully equipped with usual motel fare. Bed was fine. Near to three beachside restaurants. Hotel breakfast very good & copious. Whakatane a bit disappointing. Not much there. Nice to sit outside Irish bar, the Craic, in Whakatane Hotel. No time for White Island tour, but the shorter Whale Island visit was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We booked the front villa which looks lovely from the outside. We found this villa more like an older style holiday house let. Old furnishings in the bedroom and an uncomfortable bed. The bathroom drawers contained items left from previous guests. That said, the location is good and we had breakfast delivered both mornings which arrived on time. We did the White Island Tour which is really well organized and staff friendly and informative. I personally would not stay here again but the convenience of the location for the White Island Tour is a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 km away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.3 km away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.4 km away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.3 km away
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
#10 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Island Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Property: White Island Rendezvous
Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing