We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Seas and Stars”
Sea N Stars: New owners Newly renovated. 300 feet from beach. Sleeps 10 in beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea N Stars: New owners Newly renovated. 300 feet from beach. Sleeps 10 in beds
Fully stocked kitchen with granite counter tops and 2 sinks. New Kitchen Aid cooktop and bar seating for 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Sea N Stars: New owners Newly renovated. 300 feet from beach. Sleeps 10 in beds
Fully stocked kitchen with granite counter tops and 2 sinks.
New Kitchen Aid cooktop and bar seating for 3
Indoor dining seats 6 comfortably.  Outdoor screened dining for 6.
Comfortable great room with vaulted ceilings surrounded by sliding doors to the screened decks.
Enjoy the warm Florida sunshine through the bank of windows and doors.
Stairs leading to entertainment loft - a great place to for the kids to hang out
Entertainment loft with all of your favorite board games, tv and wii
Nice desk space and wifi for a quick check in to the office
The Day House is light and airy.
Full bathroom off great room.
Washer and dryer
Queen size bedroom
Full bath in between queen and king size bedrooms
Master suite with queen bed.
Ensuite master bath.
Vertical staircase to the Night House sleeping loft.
The teen/tween sleeping loft offers a cozy, nautical inspired space sleeps 4 in beds.
Gate leading to stairs while in sleeping loft
Secluded screen decks for a quite lunch
Curl up and read a book on one of the many decks
Panoramic island views from Sea N Stars crow's nest.
Sand path leads down to beach 300 feet away. Beach chairs and towels provided.
Private screened decking with dining table and chaise lounges with the sounds of the surf.
Exterior rendering of Sea N Stars
House floor plan featuring a Day House and a Night House
Your rental comes with membership to the Club with 2 heated pools, hot tub, tennis, & playground
Enjoy the most pristine white sand beaches in all of Florida.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
North Captiva Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jetstrick...
Clinton, TN
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seas and Stars”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was the most lovely home. Loved the concept of the Day and Night House. My family spent 8 days in this fantastic home. Everything so well thought of. Comfortable beds. Great kitchen to cook in, owners thought of everything. So loved the sunrises and sunsets from the balcony. Golf cart rides, beauty of the island and the solitude. So may stars. I should also not forget the caretaker Pam, lovely person. Can't wait to return, one of my favorite vacations ever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay on North Captiva Island at Sea N Stars was wonderful. We had a party of 8, 4 adults and 4 teenagers. The house was very spacious and we never felt cramped. One plus about the house was having the day house and night house. If you got up early you didn't need to worry about being quiet if you were in the day house. The house is well stocked with beach towels, pots, pans, dishes, spices and games up in the entertainment loft.
We were worried about the teens being bored but they found plenty of stuff to do around the island. The rooftop was a big hit. We spent many evening up there watching the sunset and many afternoons enjoying the sun and the views.
The caretaker Pam was wonderful and very responsive to our questions. Would highly recommend staying at Sea N Stars. North Captiva Island is a hidden gem!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DetourAhe...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I am writing this from the perspective of one of 3 families that traveled together to celebrate spring break for our graduating seniors.

The caretaker was very attentive leading up our stay to answer questions to help us plan for what we needed, as this was the first any of us had visited the island. She arranged to meet us as soon as our ferry arrived and allowed us to visit the house well before our check-in time. We were able to leave our extra items at the house and explore the island and the club house while waiting for our luggage and groceries to arrive. She prioritized cleaning the day house so that once our luggage and groceries arrived, we were able to start to put items away - many of which had been sitting in containers and coolers in the Florida sun for hours during their transit from the grocery store (we pre-ordered from Publix....which was an experience all of its own).

The house is very well equipped, nicely decorated, and a great layout to accommodate a group. The day house is very open without being too loud when everyone is in it. The kitchen includes two sinks and separate work areas to allow multiple people to prep or clean up for meals. The upper game area is stocked with a great collection of games and activities when you need a break from the sun, or the weather prevents you from doing outdoor activities.

The sleeping part of the house is a completely separate building, joined to the day house by a covered, screened in deck area. When the weather was cooler, we could leave the sliding doors to the covered area open, making easy access between them. Otherwise, every time you went between, you were opening and closing two sliding glass doors (only an issue if you were carrying items). the sleeping area includes 3 separate bedrooms, a shared full bath, and a second full bath only accessible by one of the bedrooms. The sleeping loft is above part of the other bedrooms and only accessible by a vertical step ladder - not well suited to little kids, or for putting the occupants luggage into. We were traveling with high school age kids, and for the most part, they found places for their luggage in other areas of the house and ended up sleeping in the day house most nights (much easier to access, and they said it was more comfortable than the beds in the kids loft).

Each of the remaining bedrooms have access to closet space and some surface areas for unpacking and managing the volume of clothes we over packed. When folks say you really only need a collection of swim suits, cover ups, and minimal clothes - they are right. All of us over packed. This is especially true when this property comes with a large capacity washer and dryer - allowing you to run a load to catch up on anything you may need to mid-week, as well as on the last day so that you are going home with mainly clean clothes.

The large screened in porch area includes two seating areas (a table and 2 chairs on the back side of the house, and additional chairs and a large dining table facing the ocean). This quickly became our favorite space to enjoy morning coffee and because the largest dining table is the on the porch, we ate most of our meals on the porch (sized for 8, but there are 10 chairs, so we often squeezed two armless chairs as a bench at the short ends to accommodate all of us).

The overall deck configuration is a bit different than pictured. The upper most desk actually extends the full width of the day house and is only accessible by climbing the spiral staircase with 31 steps. Spectacular 360 degree view. The overall foliage is much more mature than pictured too, as the tree adjacent to the spiral staircase is taller than house, providing screening form the adjacent house. It really does feel like you are sitting in a lush jungle-like surrounding when you are sitting on the screened porch.

The view to the ocean is also slightly different than pictured - as the house slightly to the south between this house and the water has recently been re-built and towers well above the house directly to the west (this house sits 3 lots from the beach, but one of the lots is vacant, so there is only house between this one and the water on the same road).

We altered our viewing of the sunsets between various spots on the island, walking the beach, and the top most deck. Same would be said by those that viewed the sun rises. There was not such thing as a bad view or bad sunset/rise. All were breath taking.

The HVAC was very responsive to any changes we needed, and since the night and day houses are on separate systems, we could adjust for our day and night needs easily. We didn't have any issues with adequate hot water, or with drinking water. We included bottled water in our groceries, but would use filtered water from a filtered pitcher included to refill as needed. We used tap water (which is treated with a house system) for cooking, coffee, ice, and mixing for OJ, etc. Now and then we would notice some order when showering, especially when a there were multiple people using water.

All of the bedrooms as well as the day house, are well adorned with ceiling fans - which kept air moving when needed. There is not, however, a ventilation system for the cooktop in the kitchen (but there is a ceiling fan in the kitchen to help move it around the house).

We had made reservations at two of the island restaurants for dinner, one on Tuesday, and the other on Friday (we had a Sat to Sat booking). And we enjoyed a lunch at a third on the island (best sea food we had the entire trip, although expensive, was lunch at Barnacles). We planned for and ordered groceries for everything else - and did pretty well, since we have very little left when we checked out.

Groceries. This is an adventure all its own. We pre-ordered via Publix. Even cross checked our meal planning items with their online shopping list to specific brands, flavors and sizes. Publix charges 10% to shop for you. This does not include the cost of any needed coolers or dry ice - those are charged separately for what is needed/used (about $7 a cooler for the cooler and dry ice). And Publix carries beer and wine, but not liquor. You need to plan to go to a liquor store and buy that separately (most taxi drivers expect this). If there is something you only need a small amount of (sugar, specific spice, etc.) - pack it. If there is an ingredient that is really important to a meal you are planning - confirm it made it into the bags - not just checked off on the list. Depending on the time of year, this is a crazy process for everyone involved - and things can get overlooked or miss-placed. Also take the time to cross check your shopping list as you unpack your groceries - to identify something that may have been missed. If there is something you are particular about (how ripe are the bananas, etc.), plan to pick it up in addition to your pre-order. There is a small grocery store on the island - but items are expensive ($7 for a dozen eggs).

One other item to note about ordering with Publix. They shop twice to fill your order - once a few days before your pick up with items that can sit, and a second very close to your pick up time with items that are perishable or temperature sensitive. That means 2 charges to your method of payment. Prep your credit card to expect that, and your budget. We got the total for the first and thought that was the total for everything. Turns out, it wasn't.

This house, along with most on the island, will come equipped with a standard size fridge - which can be tight to keep a weeks worth of groceries for a family of 4, none the less a group of 10. Plan to use some of the coolers with ice you make using the provided trays, or you buy from the island store to keep things like drinks cool until there is room in the fridge. Also consider buying one ready-made size of juice, and refill as needed during the week using frozen concentrate. We also kept empting the ice bin for the ice dispenser to keep the ice machine making ice. The coolers can and will leak if left with standing water - so watch for that as you keep them filled.

There are adequate pots and pans, but not an electric flat grill for things like pancakes. We made do with small batches in the largest size pan available - but it was a slow process to get to the quantity needed for 10 of us. There is a plastic pitcher and plastic wine glasses (in addition to various glass and dinnerware). And important for many, both a drip coffee maker and a French press.

The house also has 2 separate grills - neither large enough to accommodate grilling items for 10 people. One is a propane grill that we could have about 6 burgers on at a time. The other is a ceramic style grill (like the Big Green Egg). There was not, however, lump charcoal available for use, and the heat seal was nearly non existent, so although we are experienced using this style grill, using this particular grill with briquette charcoal came with challenges. Neither grill needs lighter fluid - so don't include it with your grocery order (in fact, it will just end up getting added to the supply of unopened containers found in the garage area...). We also ended up doing all of the side dishes in the oven or stove top, since we had limited grilling surface to work with for the size of our group.

Overall, the house worked great for us - but the real reason we were there was to enjoy the island itself. We thoroughly enjoyed not feeling like we had to drive somewhere to fit one more attraction in, or to be tempted to take in another local site or store. We truly unplugged. And because the island includes both houses and State park, we enjoyed being completely by ourselves at many times during our stay - either on the beach, on the trails through the south end of the island, or just walking down the street back to the house. The club area provided the pool and tennis courts as well as kayaks - all included without additional charges. All of which we took advantage of. We saw lots of wildlife, including dolphins and manatees. We enjoyed fishing from shore, runs, walks, and exploring the island by foot and golf cart. And with a group of 10 - we were thankful to have 3 carts for our use, including one that sat 6.

Definitely a destination and house I would go to again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flammlitw...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful property on an amazing island”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This is a great home on North Captiva. It really had everything we could want. Great place for the entire family and literally steps from the beach (where my son fished every morning). A day and night house make up the property. The day house has an extremely well equipped kitchen, living room and family loft area. Comfortable couches, table/chairs, dinning room, 2 large tv's, etc. (It did rain one day and we played bingo, wii, watched movies all in the comfort of the family loft.) Night house has 3 real bedrooms and a lofted bedroom for the kids. Beds were comfortable and again, everything there we could want. The view from the crow's nest (deck really) was incredible and we had drinks up there for sunsets. Gas and charcoal grill, plenty of outdoor toys and golf carts all included. Overall a great place on a beautiful island. We did have a bit of a problem with the golf carts in the beginning but the owner was extremely responsive and problem soon solved. Easy to recommend! And North Captiva is the best place to unwind and unplug!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlainLind...
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chic and Comfortable Beach House”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

As the title says, a chic and comfortable beach house not on, but close to the water. Architectural distinctive with a good kitchen and open areas. During our week's stay, we were rained out for half of the time, and the house provided a good space for reading and entertainment. The house is well equipped and we found ourselves taking a lot more things that what ended up being necessary.
It comes with two golf carts, but at the time of our stay, one of them was in really bad conditions, therefore we couldn't use it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: over all meet expectations
Liked least: golf cart in bad conditions, house keeper too eager to get us out asap in the early morning
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowaSue
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stay here with kids!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This place has three big things going for it: the proximity to the beach (it is 1 house back) the lush privacy of the lot, and the uniqueness of the home. Our families loved all three. When we were at the beach and a kid needed to run back to the house, no big deal...it is very close. We traveled with two families (5 kids ages 11-18). They LOVED the sleeping loft and the dayloft. There was enough room (w/ 1 sleeping mat provided) for all 5 kids to sleep in the loft. The parents took the two outside bedrooms, and the middle bedroom acted as a changing room for the kids. There are beautiful flowers, foliage, and wildlife (lizards, birds, and a turtle hole right on the property.) The screened deck and top deck were also a big hit.
Things we are glad we packed: itch cream (for bug bites) and a water filter pitcher (the water is pretty bad-tasting; this is coming from people who always drink the local/faucet water when traveling.) There was a filter pitcher there, but the filter was SLOW. Also, the frig water has a filter, but you would have died of dehydration before getting a glass filled up. Also, we packed floaties, which the kids and adults loved in the water.
A few drawbacks: one of the carts became unusable while we were there and with a March stay, there were no backups available. The one we were left with had terrible steering and really bad breaks. We made due, though. Also, only a small styrofoam cooler was available. It would have been worth it to purchase a $35 hard-sided cooler on wheels on the mainland. No icemaker in the frig; however, with a decent supply of ice trays, we kept up on icemaking to help keep drinks cool at the beach. The only tv with a DVD player is upstairs and the speaker is blown (sounds extremely tinny)...this was ok for the kids, but the adults couldn't take it. The downstairs tv is great, but no DVD player.
Great amenities: a lot of beach buckets, chairs, and umbrellas, stocked kitchen, beautifully decorated, plenty of games for the kids, comfy beds, lots of beach towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: taste of the water
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDonna L
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day and Night House is a Great Concept”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Sea N Stars has most everything you will need for a relaxing vacation. The home allows for separate sleeping quarters connected by a screened in portico/porch. Having the bedrooms away from the common/shared areas is a great concept for restful sleep not to mention very comfortable beds. One thing I will mention and they don't hide this but wanted to make it clear to anyone renting. The house offers 3 bedrooms (Q, Q, K) and then the sleeping loft (can sleep 4 up there). The loft is only accessible by a ladder (straight up). As 8 middle aged ladies, we managed it but it's not an area you want to sleep in if you need to make your way to a bathroom in the middle of the night. I wouldn't want my children up there either attempting to climb down the ladder when half asleep. Other than that, the home is exceptional and we will definitely consider going back!

One recommendation for the owner - the one golf cart (not the camo) could use new tires. The current tires make the cart extremely hard to maneuver and not very enjoyable to drive. Also, how do you turn on the outside shower? Couldn't figure that out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Day and night design.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing