We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great facilities.”
Review of Kaissa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaissa Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great facilities.”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

An excellent place to stay. All the staff were great, and really helpful. Every request was met with a quick and pleasant response. The apartments were frequently cleaned, linen and towels were changed every couple of days, and the whole place was kept very clean - rooms, pool, surrounds. We really enjoyed the appartment terrace with its table and four easy chairs. It was an ideal place to stay with a number of excellent tavernas within easy walking distance, including the Hotels own one. The taxis being on strike was a bit of a problem and it was a twenty minute hike to get to the road to catch the local buses. As a place to stay the appartments were great, as an area there are places closer to more activities and shopping areas.
Kevin & Debra Perry (London)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    117
    39
    22
    20
See reviews for
95
137
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

ve read a number of reviews about Kaissa Beach Apartments and some of them have been mixed. I've got to say that you only get what you pay for, they are typical of Greece, basic, simple, sometimes dodgy plumbing but above all clean. We paid approx £750 for two weeks so can't complain. The complex is very good, decent pool, decent bar, internet availability, great staff. The staff in particular make this place what it is, Natasha and Kelly are brilliant, they will help you in any way and socialise with the guests. The apartments are cleaned twice weekly and towels/linen changed twice weekly. There are lots of very noisy cricket type insects that make a hell of a racket but don't bother you otherwise, this combined with being underneath the flight path make it noisy sometimes. Ear plugs are an idea, also there is a family of cats with kittens on the complex and a resident dog Snoopy. Very friendly though.

Air con is 6 euro a day and safety deposit box 2 euro daily. I would say get the air con and maybe take a chance with the safety deposit box.

Now if there's a downside it would be the resort itself, Gouves is very tired, there are a couple of beaches but very mediocre. The problem is that in Goves there are number of all incusive hotels that are putting the tavernas out of business, compound that with the financial downturn in Greece then the results are catastrophic for the Greek family businesses. Its a real shame because the tavernas in Gouves are brilliant, we didn't get a bad meal all the fortnight. Best of the bunch would be Paradise, Friends 2, Iliota, Philpos
.
Everywhere is quite expensive because of the state of the Euro, two pints 6 euro, typical meal for two 30 euro, breakfast 5-6 euro. If you get the chance go to Aghios Nikolias on the bus (5.20 euro), it take about an hour but its really nice. Take some high factor sun screen because its hot, two days it reached 42 F .

All in all very nice and would use Kaissa again if you could lift it up and put it somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room as the patios are not very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed here for one week with my 19 year old daughter in July 2011. Kaissa Beach Appartments were ideal for us - excellent bar area serving drinks/snacks throughout the day - basic food such as omelettes, baguettes or jacket potatoes, breakfasts etc. For traditional Greek food there is a taverna directly next door and plenty more eating places nearby. Good sized pool with plenty of sunbeds. The staff were all extremely helpful - nothing too much trouble, all with the laid back approach famous to Greece. Yes, there were a couple of occasions where the water and/or electricity went off but was only for a short while. Our appartment was situated on the second floor with balcony and sea view if you looked past the appartment across the way. The receptionist said ours was one of the smaller appartments at the complex as there were just the two of us, but I honestly found it to be perfectly adequate for us with separate kitchen/eating area (though we ate out most times) and ample bathroom/shower space. I would recommend these appartments for anyone with young families or couples looking for a relaxing holiday. However, unless you wish to spend most of your time at the pool, it would be best to investigate the bus service (as we did with success by travelling to Heraklion) or hire a car as Gouves is basically a couple of streets with the usual bars, tavernas, tourist tat shops, you get the picture. The beach on the doorstep is basically a narrow strip of shingle/rocks - you would have to walk for about 10/15 minutes to the sandy beach where you can hire two sunloungers and a parasol for 6 euros a day. Also, I would not recommend the tourist train ride which tootles around the local area several times a day and costs 9 euros for adults and I think about 5 euros for children for the privilege of being taken past what is basically barren desert to view choice english graffiti on derelict buildings, the local launderette, rusting farmyard machinery and people's private residences with their washing blowing on the line. I could take tourists on a more interesting route around my local area here in Rochdale. I would use these appartments again, but would plan my holiday to take in areas outside the immediate resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josh1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We've just returned from a week at the Kaissa Apartments and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although basic, the apartments had everything we wanted and were clean. The complex is really lovely with a nice, pool and bar area. A stone's throw from the beach and 5 minute walk to all the restaurants, the Kaissa really is in the perfect location. We sampled food from a different restaurant every night and would thoroughly recommend the Chilli Lounge, Filoxenia and Mylos. Crete is an absolutely lovely island with stunning scenery. We will definitely be back and the Kaissa will be where we will base ourselves again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JacHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We visited Crete for the first time and we have to say it was really lovely. After reading some of the reviews I was not actually looking forward to our stay at the Kaissa. However I have to ask if they actually stayed at the same place ??? Our two bedroomed apartment was cleaned thoroughly every other day by very nice ladies; yes they are basic like on any other Greek island but we had everything we needed; the pool was cleaned every morning as were all the path ways. The staff were always very helpful and polite they all made us feel extremely welcome especially Natasha who runs the bar in the evening. There are lots of places to eat and drink within walking distance of the apartment’s; we especially liked the Atlantis restaurant and Paradise restaurant but we did not have a bad meal the whole time we were there. If you have booked to go here then you should have a lovely time. I have put sleep quality quite low - this is due to a local dog that barked all night every night however the staff cannot be blamed for this, the beds were very comfortable!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKMTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Beautiful grounds, pool and bar areas. Very pleased with the accomodation for the price. I had a studio apartment which was spacious and clean with comfortable beds, a large shower and contained everything I needed. Studio was cleaned and bins emptied every other day and towel and linens changed every fourth day which was more than adequate. I found the reception and ground staff courteous and helpful and Natasha and Kelly at the bar were beyond compare. Sociable, friendly, helpful and great hostesses, introducing everybody and making you feel more than welcome and included. A great plus if you are travelling alone, really made my holiday memorable, I would definately return. Everything you need from good restaurants, supermarkets and great beaches within a short walking distance. Regular bus service to the rest of the island as well as local car hire if you wish to explore, however this was a lazy beach, pool and bar holiday for me and it worked wonderfully. I had a ground floor studio near to the pool and wasn't disturbed by any noise from the bar and was happy that people regularly passed my patio area as everyone was friendly and stopped to say hello or chat - made lots of friends in the passing! Great that Kaissa is the first drop off from the airport and last pick up on the return journey. Some noise from aircraft (especially on the beach) and you can't avoid that whether you're staying in 5 star or 2 star accomodation, but you soon get used to it and it certainly didn't disturb me of a night. Overall an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank julieandjohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

just got back from a great holiday at the kaissa beach dont take any notice of the reviews give the kaissa beach a go you will be very surprised add a great time the hotel staff were so helpful and the bar staff were lovely kelly and natasha met some really lovely people on the 2 weeks there who return year after year so must be good crete was a great place lots to do and see and the weather was hot what more do you need hope to go back again next year and we dont always say that about a holiday so go give the kaissa a go and have a lovely holiday see you next year julie and mick or as some no him as billy bs lol

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickybeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.8 km away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
382 reviews
38.6 km away
Elounda Water Park Residence
0.7 km away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,835 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
210 reviews
11.2 km away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#25 of 52 in Stalis
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaissa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaissa Beach Hotel

Property: Kaissa Beach Hotel
Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaissa Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kaissa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaissa Beach Bungalows And Apartments
Kaissa Beach Bungalows & Apartments Hotel Gouves
Kaissa Beach Hotel Crete/Kato Gouves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing