We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I loved my stay in Kahuna.

The rooms are quiet, cozy, and comfortable. The food served at the bar is superb. The entertainment is great!

I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiselleandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

This resort truly has everything every member of the family is looking for. Let's start with the kids. Kiddie pool, clean beach and sand perfect for digging Daddy a hole and leaving him there. :) The kiddie pools are the cleanest that you can get with the resort religiously sticking to strict cleaning and filtering schedules along with the fact that in the area, Kahuna is the only facility that has top of the line pool maintenance equipment. Kiddie menu at the resto is also available and the resort can hook up your kids easily with Surfing lessons from professional surf instructors. Teens, of course will enjoy the pool and the beach as well. The beach and the shore is very active throughout the day and I'm sure your teeny boppers will enjoy swimming, surfing, goofing around or simply hanging out in the resto or poolside with their latest wifi gadgets that you bought for them with money that was supposed to go to that new set of wheels or in car entertainment system you've always wanted. Anyway you have it, best value for money. And of course let's not forget you, the Mom or Dad that works the entire year and only has a few days of the year to enjoy it and thus needs to look for the best value for money vacation spot, honestly I would really recommend this place. A 45 minute plane ride via Zest Air (M,W,F) will cost you around 3K++ round trip. Go via land will be 6 hours, plus you get to enjoy NLEX and SCTEX, stop over at the best restos along the way. (But that's for another review) For me, it beats riding an overloaded boat from Batangas Pier risking life and limb only to find that the Puerto Galera shore cannot possibly fit millions and gazillions of people...same case could be made for Bora. Other places down south could be more expensive and taxing due to travel time. In short, Logistics and Travel..thumbs up. Rooms, very classy. You can check out the website for more details but all I can say is that I slept very well, felt very comfortable and bathed in a beautiful balinese inpired bathroom. I saw the resthouse bathrooms as well and you will be surprised that 2 out of 3 baths are equipped with a high tech space teleport machine looking shower which doubles as a jacuzzi, and as a "water coming from everywhere" jet squirting-amajiggy. Very Impressive. Food, the resto offers a wide range from Filipino favs like Crispy Pata to Italian Pizza and Pasta, Sandwiches and other pica pica good with a couple of cold brews. Speaking of brews, I enjoyed a lot with the Wild Kahunas playing Friday and Saturday night. The manager tells me that these guys play on special event weekends so I would advise that you ask them when these "special weekends" will be. They have an awsome song selection which ranges from 70's rock n' roll to 90's alternative / grunge, to current songs your kids may have recently bought at itunes with your credit card. All in all, a really great place to be with your family, your wife or also just yourself. The staff are friendly, the place is classy yet affordable, the band is great and the water is just fine...so jump in!!

Room Tip: Go for the rest house if it fits your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerichoD04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The best accomodations as we were billeted in the guest house -- fully airconditioned 3 bedrooms 3 baths with 2 jacuzzis and a private pool overlooking the ocean and surfers. Giant LCD TVs in every room.

Paradise in comfort is what it is.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenduA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Eventhough the cost of the rooms were more expensive than other local resorts the additional price was well worth paying.The chalets were very privite as they were generously spaced out in large landscaped gardens.It was possible to sit outside (chairs were provided) your chalet totally in peace and quiet.

The actual rooms were spotless,and the furniture and decor would not have been out of place in a 5 star hotel in Makati.Our room had all the mod cons you could need, air con,ceiling fan,safe,flat screen TV & Video,mini bar etc.The en- suite bathroom was spacious and equipped to European standards.All linen and towels were new,clean and well presented. Worth noting the free exellent range of soaps,shampoo,deoderants etc.
The rooms could only be described as premier.

The pool area again was spotless and well equiped with expensive sun loungers and parasols.A nice touch was that the pool attendant always bought you fresh towels or asked if you required anything without any prompting. All the staff at this resort were polite and attentive.

The resturaunt and bar area was bright, well equiped,and had the advantage of looking directly out to the surfing area.We noted several Filipina TV personalities were amongst the guests while we were there.It was obvious that this resort was for 'the well heeled'.Perhaps the most enjoyable aspect of our stay was the warm welcome the management of the resort extended to us and all the guests.It was not uncommon that the owner of the establishment joined in with the resident groupe and attempted to sing (not very well).

The actual location is ideal for surfing.The resort backs onto a beach area where one of the best surfs in La union is evident .Although we are not surfers there were skilled instructors at hand and you could hire surf boards if you wanted to participate.

The only downside to our stay was the inexperience of the waiters in the resturaunt.The menu was extensive, although in our opinion not exclusive enough for the very high standard of the other facillities.We should also mention that the cost of the meals were not expensive. The main problem were simple mistakes like providing a knife but no fork, forgetting to bring suaces, and on one occasion serving the starter and main course together !!

We mentioned these negatives to the General manager, who informed us that he was most delighted that this information was forhcoming.The manger told us the resort had only been open for 3 months and thay were constantly monitoring the staff and setting a rigid training programe to remedy any aspects that were not up to standard.
We are convinced that on our next vist to the resort these minor gripes will have been resolved.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akfaustino, Director of Sales at Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2011

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa! We appreciate your review of our resort and the comments you gave that will surely help us make our service become better. We hope to see you again as our guest at Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank elritam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
6.9 km away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#2 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
58 reviews
6.7 km away
Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - ...
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
464 reviews
2.8 km away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#2 of 5 in San Juan
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
P&M Final Option Beach Resort
12.7 km away
Marand Resort & Spa
Marand Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Bauang
24 reviews
7.8 km away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

Address: National Highway, Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, Luzon 2514, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $131 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the most privileged surf destination in San Juan, La Union. Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa is a boutique beach resort and spa with Balinese inspired cottages that peer out into the beach.The calming sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to take pleasure in.The charming 31 rooms, Kahuna Bar and Restaurant, and day spa, face an ocean cove and sandy beach.The architecture resembles a fusion of Filipino and Balinese style beach house with white stucco walls and a native grass roofs. Luscious plant life enhances the estate. Well thought out decoration details and functionality guarantee our guests get stimulated throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahuna Beach Hotel San Juan
Kahuna Beach Resort And Spa San Juan, La Union, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing