We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We availed of the rainy day promo. Kahuna is more expensive than the other resorts in the area, but we absolutely loved our stay here! Nice views, nice pool, nice and clean rooms with modern amenities, ref, flat screen tv and dvd player. Well worth the promo price! Very relaxing, whether you surf or not, you can enjoy your stay. Staff was accommodating and friendly. They also have a spa.

Food is not that cheap by Philippine standards (around 200+ for breakfast meal), but I guess it's the typical "resort" price. The view makes up for it. Taste is okay as well.

Would love to return. We stayed in a garden cottage. The more expensive suites have a private pool. More promos please!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

My new Bride and I recently stayed here at Kahuna and we can not speak highly enough of the resort. From the gardeners right through to the General Manager all the staff here at Kahuna really made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough for us. We got married during our stay here and spent our honeymoon at the resort. After arriving back after our wedding once opening the door to the room we were greeted with the most special thing we could have seen they had dressed our bed with rose petals win two beautiful swans made from towels as shown I a pic we have added. It was truly very special to us and touched us deeply. The food the service and overall quality of this resort was second to none. when next in the Philippines we will certainly be coming back to stay hopefully we can spend our first year anniversary here. Thanks to everyone at Kahuna for making our wedding and honeymoon a very very special occasion.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and in our opinion its the best room seeing the sunset from our bedroom was very...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferralkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here last March and I've been meaning to write a review for a while.

We enjoyed this resort, all the staff and excepitionally friendly and welcoming, and the rooms are comfortably appointed.

The bar and restaurant offer a good choice of food and beverages, which are reasonably priced. My only slight comment would be a lack of a decent veggie option for breakfast.

The salon is a must visit, truely the best facial I have ever experienced!

We had a lovely time at Kahuna and I would dearly love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skystar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We were at the Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa last May, 2011 (sorry for this late review). We made the reservation from Vigan when we realized the number of days we wanted to spend there were simply long as we were able to finish the tour around the province already... what to do? We decided to give Kahuna a call. The reservation was hassle free and they gave us directions how to reach the place.

The rooms given to us fronting the pool area were nice and clean. Menu is simple, nothing extraordinary. Parking is convenient and safe.

The staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doc4kids_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My wife and I stayed one night on our tour of northern Luzon. The Kahuna is conveniently located at St. Juan just off the highway and perfect for those either touring or looking for a beachfront holiday base. A delightful small beachfront resort with "cottage" rooms or family house alternatives. Well kept and well serviced. We much enjoyed the good food in the restaurant, and the band, the view of the stars from our bathroom and the general relaxed atmosphere of the place (-all helped by one of the most stunning sunsets we have ever seen). Aside from a couple of minor housekeeping points we did enjoy our stay and will recommend the resort to friends and family - and hope to be back again ourselves one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiribelnMuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Being in the perfect place at the perfect time. That's how I spent one summer weekend in Kahuna. You get the value for your money especially with the food. You get a spectacular view of the sunset and the beach by their dining area. The rooms were cozy and the mountain view as you take a shower in your room was spectacular, it's really a one-of-a-kind great experience... you get to enjoy communing with nature at the privacy of your own room. Definitely will comw back here.

Room Tip: Book in advance for best accomodation
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lliamiell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The service is excellent and prompt. The crew is warm and very accommodating.
The rooms are very cozy...
They offer a subtle touch of local flavor with comfortable modernity.
By far, it's the best hotel on the La Union surfing strip.
No other place in San Juan could offer an experience like Kahuna!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan_Buensuceso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
6.7 km away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#2 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
440 reviews
6.9 km away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
50 reviews
2.8 km away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
P&M Final Option Beach Resort
12.7 km away
Marand Resort & Spa
Marand Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bauang
21 reviews
0.5 km away
Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel
Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel
#1 of 12 in San Juan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

Address: National Highway, Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, Luzon 2514, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $115 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the most privileged surf destination in San Juan, La Union. Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa is a boutique beach resort and spa with Balinese inspired cottages that peer out into the beach.The calming sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to take pleasure in.The charming 31 rooms, Kahuna Bar and Restaurant, and day spa, face an ocean cove and sandy beach.The architecture resembles a fusion of Filipino and Balinese style beach house with white stucco walls and a native grass roofs. Luscious plant life enhances the estate. Well thought out decoration details and functionality guarantee our guests get stimulated throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahuna Beach Hotel San Juan
Kahuna Beach Resort And Spa San Juan, La Union, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing