We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had the time of my life! 😍”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

It was my first solo travel. And I've always wanted to try Kahuna. Everything was perfect,from the welcome drinks,to my room,the pool,the beach, food,and every staff had their best smile to offer! Thanks Kahuna!
I'm making a comeback,soon! (And try their spa,coz I didn't have much time. It was really the surfing I want to experience) ‍♀️

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mayla Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Can't count how many times we've stayed in Kahuna, it's always a great experience staying there! Rooms and bathrooms are always clean, service is top notch, food is great! Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit La Union.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

This was our second visit to Kahuna Beach Resort. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient at check-in. Rooms and hotel grounds were clean. Beautiful location at the beach north of the traffic of San Fernando, La Union. Several hotels located in this vicinity - this is our favorite.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblinRon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

A little pricey compared to the resorts in the area. We were unable to book suites from their website as standard rooms are the only available. It can only accommodate up to 3 persons.

Anyway, when we reached Kahuna I really like the atmosphere. The Balinese designed cabins surrounded by gardens. The infinity pool. The open-air cafe overlooking the sea.

Finally a beach resort. Unlike most these days with rooms made of 4 concrete walls and small windows, and airconditioned restaurant which defeats the purpose of going to the beach.

Cons:
I've read on most reviews the cafe takes very long to serve food. I say it's true.

Limited parking. I got a good spot since I was early but our convoy cars were asked to park by the roadside outside the compound since it was full. Luckily by night some of the guests have emptied some slots.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aaron Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Kahuna beach is great for surfing and swimming - just mind the jellyfish! Surfing gear plus instructor are available right at the beach fronting Kahuna Bar. More maintenance though is called for - dogs are allowed at the beach but their owners should be more responsible so mind where you step in the sand!

Small swimming pool for the kids (and some adults not into laps). The Bar is well stocked with beer, some alcoholic drinks, and tropical fruit shakes. Food was just fine (nothing to rave about), but service was a lot better.

Rooms are a little bit small for 3 pax. And I was really bothered by the giant glass window without shutters. I prefer to do my bathing in private - not in a place where there is a chance of being seen by someone - how embarrassing!

Firm beds and soft pillows - we requested for more and there was no extra charge! The spa was super expensive (like the 5-star hotel spas in Manila) so we passed.

Overall, the resort is small with nice landscaping, and you can while away the time at Kahuna Bar sipping a cool drink as you watch wave after wave crash into the shore. How's that for spending an idyllic summer?

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the parking areas.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

I just checked in. Rooms looked old, tired and badly need a renovation. A/C is weak and ceiling fans are useless, don't work. When my staff reserved the room via phone and email confirmation to Karen Olivar, Reservation Officer, the email specifically said king bed.Karen replied with confirmation form and booked us in a garden room which only has queen bed. I was told when I arrived here that all their garden room only has queen bed. I wish Karen was paying attention and told us that. I would have stayed somewhere else like the Thunderbird Resort in the next town cause they have King Beds in a similar room. The front desk clerk, offered us a king bed for 3 times as much. Hmmm, blindside me when I can no longer cancel my reservation and leave me with a choice of room I don't like or pay 3 times as much. I should have gone to Thunderbird. Thunderbird is also a recipient of Excellence by Trip Advisor. This place is not excellence, this place will challenge your patience. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NelPBookAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Having arrived at this lovely resort for an event aspired dinner and prize giving ceremony - catered and hosted by the kahuna resort . I can only say that the staff and the food were outstanding ..special mention to the general manager and his staff who made our event magnificent .. Anyone travelling to this part of the Philippines would be mad not to stay at this great resort ...

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
6.7 km away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#2 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
440 reviews
6.9 km away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
50 reviews
2.8 km away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
P&M Final Option Beach Resort
0.3 km away
The Little Surfmaid Resort
The Little Surfmaid Resort
#10 of 15 in La Union Province
95 reviews
12.7 km away
Marand Resort & Spa
Marand Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bauang
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa

Address: National Highway, Brgy. Urbiztondo, San Juan, Luzon 2514, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $114 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the most privileged surf destination in San Juan, La Union. Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa is a boutique beach resort and spa with Balinese inspired cottages that peer out into the beach.The calming sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to take pleasure in.The charming 31 rooms, Kahuna Bar and Restaurant, and day spa, face an ocean cove and sandy beach.The architecture resembles a fusion of Filipino and Balinese style beach house with white stucco walls and a native grass roofs. Luscious plant life enhances the estate. Well thought out decoration details and functionality guarantee our guests get stimulated throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kahuna Beach Hotel San Juan
Kahuna Beach Resort And Spa San Juan, La Union, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing