We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well situated hotel”
Review of Tohsang City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tohsang City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, well situated hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for a week here while visiting family in Ubon in one of their upgraded rooms, with a lovely modern bathroom. This hotel is clean, well looked after and the staff were friendly and efficient. Convenient location but away from the congestion of the main retail areas. Breakfast buffet is quite good, the lack of variety became evident after a few days though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    57
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
28
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

If you are new to Thailand you may be thinking Ubon where?
I completely understand that and if I were to explain what brought me here it would take far too long. Therefore, let’s simplify things by admitting that I love nature and I have learnt to love Issan food and Ubon, as a base to access and sample both was good enough for me. On my first visit I had booked at the relatively new Sunee hotel, which looked lovely on the internet and certainly had an imposing sight but it always seems to be booked with many social events and if you have been to Thailand before you will know that the locals love their music and love playing it loud. Nothing wrong with that of course and you may wish to join in the proceedings but, if like me, you have spent the day touring around you just look forward to a good night sleep overnight. Perhaps I am being unkind to the Sunee Hotel and to be honest it may be a case that these large style hotels have lost their allure on me. Thus, I prefer finding small haunts where personal service as long as it can be delivered still has, arguably, a different meaning and value.
With this in mind I retreated to the Tohsang, which in days gone buy was “the” hotel to stay in when in Ubon and although this hotel may have lost its leading status in town it certainly has not lost any of its charm. The decor appears a little grand in places and its facade is more attractive at night when the shimmering lights on the front entrance water features make it resemble more to a spa resort than a hotel. The rooms could do with a furniture upgrade and the bathrooms look a little dated too but other than that service is very good, beds are incredibly comfortable and the air conditioning works effectively and the size of the rooms certainly spacious. Breakfast is included (check promotions and rates depending on the time of the year) and the restaurant has an elegant appearance with live music too albeit often traditional thai music with a piano player or a ping player. If you require a wheelchair this location may not be ideal because of the many ramps you will need to negotiate to reach the upper floor rooms but if you are after a good rest and a hearty breakfast including fruit, cereals, a hot counter and freshly cooked omelettes and French toasted bread in a clean environment this place may do it for you. Most of the staff will speak some basic English, there is a free of charge access to a safe locker (you will be given your own key) and Wi-Fi and you will be able to request a morning call. If arriving by plane, the hotel will provide a free of charge pick up service. One more thing, I fell in love with a very cute old fashioned telephone next to the reception counter, which reminded me of bygone times.
Giorgio Federico

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Federicoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed here three nights on the recommendation of a local aquaintance. The property is on a quiet street, but convenient to the city center and major roads. The room was comfortable and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. I only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was buffet style with a good selection. The staff was great. About half of the staff I dealt with spoke English, but they were able to understand my needs. All were very efficient and friendly. I'd recommend this location, and will stay here again on my next visit to Ubon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phuket
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We been there for five nights, and we had five nice quiet days. Hotel is old fashioned but clean and well kept, staff are polite and efficient. Our check-in been fast and without any time lost, room been as described on their Internet home page. Bathroom is well stocked with necessary amenities, bed are well sized and comfortable, we really appreciated our daily plate of fresh fruits in the fridge. Coffee shop/restaurant has is piano and solo singer in the evening, with an extensive menu, food is good quality and dishes are consistent, buffet breakfast on other side is little poor, a lot of plates, glass, jar and so on with the same stuff inside, I should advice the hotel to reduce the size of the buffet, and make it clearer and better quality (it will be the only thing I found stained the hotel's image). Internet connection was perfect in the room, room are clean and staff not annoying. Large secured car park and easy access to rooms and lobby from there. Check-out was easy as check-in not extra hassle. Good stay in overall .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoba2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We enjoyed our one night at the Tohsang City Hotel, after arriving in Ubon R. and before going on to the rocket festival in Yasothon. The location is convenient, central, 10 min from the airport, close to a street with several food options. The rooms are basic but clean and functional. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast had reasonably good options. For the price ($34/night through agoda.com), we were very happy with what we got. A very good option in Ubon R. and we would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Stayed here for only 1 night, so perhaps didn't get a great feel for the hotel. What we saw of it was fine though.

Hotel is located very conveniently for the airport (only 10 minutes by car, and the hotel provides a free shuttle service to / from the airport), but it's a bit of a walk into town.

Rooms are fine, functional and clean but not exactly luxurious. OK for the price though.

Staff seemed friendly and helpful, all speaking good English.

We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, but breakfast was good, with a few of the local specialties that the sister hotel Tohsang Khongjiam also serves. There's not as much choice here as there is at Khongjiam, but it's fine for the price, and what's on offer is of good quality.

All in all, very good value and fine for a quick visit to Ubon Ratchathani town.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This hotel is some way from the centre on a road where tuktuks/taxis are rare: too far to walk to the centre. It is always depressing to stay in a hotel where one appears to be the only guest. In the restaurant ( the best in town according to one guide) four people (non-residents, I think) ate while a pianist tinkled away. Noone at breakfast. Room fine with usual amenities. Service OK.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
2.7 km away
Sunee Grand Hotel
Sunee Grand Hotel
#3 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
212 reviews
2.6 km away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
91 reviews
1.8 km away
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
#4 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
T3 House
T3 House
#2 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
118 reviews
2.4 km away
Laithong Hotel
Laithong Hotel
#5 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
60 reviews
2.3 km away
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
#6 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tohsang City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tohsang City Hotel

Property: Tohsang City Hotel
Address: 251 Palochai Road, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tohsang City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in the centre of a residential area, where it is calm and serene, a great getaway for the busy traveler. This part of Thailand is rich in natural parks and mountains to visit and climb, with many serene rivers to natural beauty to appreciate. Nearby the hotel itself, a short walk takes you more towards urban life where the famous Indochina shopping centre can be found, and visitors can also find locally great nightlife and entertainment districts within walking distance. The hotel caters for a relaxing trip in a calming dignified location, where first rate service and excellent hotel facilities make his a popular destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tohsang City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing