We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and wonderful setting!”
Review of Nosara Surf Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nosara Surf Villas
Ranked #16 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and wonderful setting!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This is our second trip to Nosara(Playa Guiones). We wanted our Teenage children to experience it with us this time. We stayed in the smaller 3 bedroom home and were very comfortable. It was nice to have our teenagers disconnect from the internet world for awhile and appreciate Costa Rica. This home is as close to the beach as you will get, and also close to the local hangouts. We rented a golf cart and ATV's but really no need to get a vehicle unless you plan on going out further to explore. Megan's brother Mitch was wonderful and he gave us lots of great tips and even gave our 3 kids some surfing tips and even spent the time with them out in the ocean.

I loved the compound and we were always on our porch in the morning for our cup of coffee and to see all the creatures that wonder around in the mornings. Having a private path to the ocean is a great perk!

Megan and Mitch set up our fishing trips and coordinated our transportation, which was a great help! The Gilded Iguana even cooked up our Mahi Mahi for us for dinner.

If you are thinking of taking a trip to Nosara and you have any questions, please feel free to email me(info@carolkemper.com). I would highly recommend the Nosara Beach Villas!

Room Tip: This was not a hotel, but a home in a lovely compound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Realtrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crested Butte, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I give Nosara Surf Villas my very highest recommendation. It is set in a beautiful tropical location, with a trail through the forest leading to Playa Guiones. This was great for heading out to the beach for morning and evening sessions. The pool and patio provided a beautiful spot to relax and hide out from the midday sun. Our room was clean, spacious, and well-maintained. The place had the feel of our own private beach getaway. Megan and Jean-Baptiste are some of the friendliest folks we met in the area, and made sure our stay was comfortable while offering up great tips on area activities and restaurants. Book with Nosara Surf Villas with the confidence that this will more than likely be the place you'll want to stay on return trips to Nosara.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed here for just about a week with two girlfriends. The villas are about a three minute walk to the ocean along a lovely beach path. We had the most incredible time learning to surf and soaking up some much needed sun. Our hosts, Meghan and JB were the sweetest, most charming and accomodating people. They went out of their way to make sure we had an amazing trip, even giving us a couple of lifts into town on their ATV to attend yoga classes and buy plane tickets for the next leg of our adventure in Costa Rica. The villas are a short walk from a few great restaurants / bars and a little grocery store where you can stock up on sundries like suntan lotion, fruit, snacks, larger grocery items and booze. The villas are private enough though, that you really feel like you're in your own special hideaway. The suite we stayed in had a small kitchen equipped with stove, fridge and cooking / eating utensils. We chose to eat out most of the time, opting for all the fresh fruit plates, smoothies, comidas and other delicious local fair available - but it was nice to be able to prepare the occasional snack or cocktail in our own kitchen. The furnishings were simple but comfortable. The room had an air conditioner and a fan. There was a small pool surrounded by chez chairs for lounging and the villas attracted a good mix of likeable fellow travelers. The real highlights are the proximity to the beach and the wonderful couple who run the establishment. I highly recommend staying at Nosara Beach Villas!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2 Garden Level Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

First of all Megan and J-B were both very generous and helpful with anything we needed. The area is great with a small town a short walk from the villa and the beach even closer. Plenty of cool iguanas and birds to look at while grilling in the beautiful outdoor dining area. The supermarket in town doesn't always have the best meat available and sometimes gets wiped out quick but there's also several resteraunt/bars right nearby which all serve excellent food at very reasonable prices and at the same time offer free wifi. Horseback riding was great and if we ever needed a taxi or anything to be arranged, Megan and JB made the calls as they know everyone around.
Thank you so much Megan and JB! I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mketch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

i am currently living in San Jose and had been wanting to get to Nosara for a long time. I was going to be traveling solo and came across Nosara Beach Villas who had a single cabina for rent for a very affordable price. My initial plan was to stay for 3 nights but ended up there for 6. The owners Megan and Jibe were the most hospitable and welcoming people i have come across in all my travels. The unit known as the Monkey Cabina has a king size bed with a toilet and sink.There is a shared outdoor shower which was perfect considering the temperature never dipped below 80 degrees. Other amenities available on site included a gorgeous pool, BBQ and bikes and quads for rent. The property has a private path that leads right to the beach and is within walking distance to restaurants and a grocery store. Nosara is known for yoga and surfing and Megan and Jibe were very helpful in showing me all the best spots! For someone who is ok with simple accommodations, i highly recommend this property and this unit,. They also have fully furnished houses that can hold up to 10 people that i would so consider if coming with a large party.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRCR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Perfect location! 3 minute walk to the beach, a pool to jump in to cool off, and a mini supermarket 5 minutes away. It's also nice because its tucked back from the street and adds the sense of privacy. The rooms are cozy with lots of shelves and a full kitchen to use. The bikes and surfboards that you can use for FREE are crucial and saved us lots of money! Megan and Jibe, the managers are super nice and very helpful.

Highly recommend and we hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsoccer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We had the most gracious hosts, wonderful recommendations for local restaurants, surf instructors and activities. It was the most relaxing vacation we've been on, ever! (In 35 years!) Walking distance to the beach. Hammocks, quiet, yoga, friendly, helpful staff. We would definitely return. Thanks JB and Heather, we loved it! (K & B Magraw)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aphrad1te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.0 km away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 km away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 km away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Mango
Villa Mango
#1 of 19 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.0 km away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#4 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara Surf Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Surf Villas

Property: Nosara Surf Villas
Address: 50 M No of Hotel Casa Romantica, Playa Guiones, Nosara 05233, Costa Rica (Formerly Nosara Beach Villas)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Pura Vida! Small grouping of private surf front lodging with residential management. Year round locals happy to assist or to leave you to your leisure. Surfari, family, group, yoga retreat base in the jungle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nosara Surf Villas Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing