We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
43
7
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
7
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful bathroom few minutes walk beautiful hotel comfortable beds short walk to the beach costa rica pura vida tgi renovation pools spa property surf board jungle yoga
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 55 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2018

A lovely spot - the remodeled hotel feels like Costa Rican paradise, whether you are a surfer or not (we were not). Decor feels like it's out of a decorating magazine, lovely pool and restaurant, close to the beach, and quite mosquito/fly free due to their organic bug repellant throughout the property. Our stay was really relaxing, the pictures look just like the property...or maybe it's even better in person. They had live music at the restaurant one evening, but it was very family friendly and quieted down by 9pm, so no worries on late-night parties. Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Tamar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan G, Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Tuesday night is when the whole town meets at The Gilded Iguana. It has been a tradition since long time ago. Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy you liked our bug mist repellant. We will be looking forward to welcome you very soon in Nosara and the Gilded Iguana surf hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been in Costa Rica for 2 weeks now. We were renting a home but wound up getting “stuck” here when our son came down with a double inner ear infection. Not a bad place to ah e to get stuck.

We searched Nosara for a few hotels but wound up staying at the Gilded Iguana. And we are happy we did!

First, the rooms and the hotel grounds are kept extremely clean and nearly bug free due to their organic misting system that keep the bugs away. Second, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. If you don’t speak Spanish don’t worry most of them do. They also get to know you. Third. It’s a short walk to the beach! Fourth, the restaurant has a lot of good food—- and you get complimentary breakfasts during your stay. Fifth, you’re within walking distance of some really good local foods and you’re not inundated with tourists.

I would highly recommend staying here if you’re planning a visit. You can rent surfboards and body boards from the hotel and use the spa. We really enjoyed the pool as well after the beach.

Pura Vida!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan G, Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your sincere comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and also because of the good impression you took back home. We will be happy to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

This place blows away all the other hotels in Nosara in all aspects- the room, the amenities, the service, the design.

We went with our 4 year old and newborn because Harmony was booked the first nights we were there. We fell in love with the Gilded Iguana. The staff are amazing and go above and beyond in helping out in all ways. They brought us a crib, helped us find a sitter, helped us get food quickly when our son was having a meltdown, and generally were just incredibly friendly.

The rooms are large and beautifully designed with luxury linens, balconies/porches, and air conditioning that works.

We actually left to go to our reservation at Harmony Hotel and were so disappointed after being spoiled at the Gilded Iguana that we left and checked back in at Iguana.

Amenities are great with gorgeous pool, reading nooks, great wifi, water coolers around the property, kids pool, toys available for kids, etc..

Highly recommend!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank nycwanderlustgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan G, Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Our goal is to make you happy and hopefully welcome you back in Nosara and The Gilded Iguana. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

We just spent 3 nights at the hotel with our 2 kids and as a family that surfs, we were very appreciative of the details that catered to the sport. The salt water pool is amazing, there are outdoor showers everywhere and the surfboard lockers are a really nice touch. The suite was spacious and the beds and pillows super comfortable.

The daily included breakfast is tasty and the menu options for lunch and dinner were great for the entire family.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fletchsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan G, Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Our hotel was designed by surfer lovers and we want to offer the most enjoyable and comfortable stay to make a lifetime imprint during your vacations. We will be thrilled to welcome you again in The Gilded Iguana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2018

My daughter and I spent 7 nights at the Gilded Iguana and it was one of the most enjoyable places I've ever stayed at. It was quiet, relaxing and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. A special call-out to Andres who greeted us with a big smile and warmth every morning when we sat down for breakfast. Also thank you to the front desk staff - Lauren, Jorge and Adrian - who were ready to answer my questions with patience, friendliness and they provided great restaurant suggestions. The room was very comfortable, everything was super clean and very well kept. The pool is amazing too and the beach is a short walk down the road. Everything was perfect, thank you TGI for a memorable trip to Nosara, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sus2018908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan G, Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you for your review and sincere comments. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you very soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews