We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maay R

We had so much fun, felt like home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 20, 2018via mobile
We stayed for 4 nights, the family of dimitris resort are amazing, full of good energy and they make you feel at
home.
The rooms are nice
And
The swimmingpool is amazing and the view is beautiful.
They can also help with a texi from the airport

We really recommend.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$94
  • Trip.com
    C$86
  • Vio.com
    C$85
  • Lol.travel
    C$90
0.6 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free parking
Pool
C$110
C$100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$110
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    C$110
0.6 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$108
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
    C$107
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$97
  • Algotels
    C$104
0.2 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$98
C$90
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    C$98
  • eDreams
    C$90
0.9 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free parking
Pool
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
athina studio  looking to the mountain
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
zwembad
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Dimitris Resort Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Matala
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
42
55
37
23
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
55
37
23
32
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 189 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2018

Booked directly using the poor check bookings site. Sent a note to cancel for a partial refund which was ignored for a week (even though all previous communication was instant) was then told that I had to use the check bookings site to cancel - by which time I was too late for a refund -and in any case it was not possible to cancel using the site. Awful communication from the owner who started talking about getting his legal team involved. - not the Cretan hospitality I have been used too for 30 years.

So I told this story to a few friends and low and behold a number of others have had the same experience. One friend lost 500 euros because the rooms he booked were not cancellable and he was not allowed to let a friend use the room as it is not allowed. This was for the Matala weekend where rooms would relet immediately.

There are plenty of other lovely rooms and hotels in Matala so avoid this place if you can!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davewJ6398PD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DimitrisHou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear Dave
About your commetns i thing is not "all the truth"
you have use the Real Time Reservation System from CHECKBOOKING ...when you make a Reservation you receive a username and a password if you wish to make any "changes" or "cancel" your Reservation till 14 nights before the arrival date....you never use them and from our side we can not have access in your "data' to make any change in the Reservation becouse this is Unlegal from Europian Law.
About your friend who you say "he lost 500 euro" he make a Reservation to our Hotel from BOOKING.COM under a NON-REFUNDABLE mode and as you already know these Reservations can not change or cancel thats why the Price in these reservations are really low ( -40%) ...this is the truth ...i understand that you probably you dont know to use the Technology of Internet to make changes or to follow "Term and Contitions" but our Hotel do...
Also from our side we prefer to co-operate with guest who understand how the Internet work and to follow the "Term and Contitions" of a Net Reservation ....please try to forget what you can do in Greece 30 years ago becouse this style and this "philosophy" make all this financial problems in the Country.
Thank you again and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer.

Houstoulakis Dimitris
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Had a great stay for a week October 2017. The rooms were spotless and cleaned nearly every day. The breakfast was very good and as much as you would want to eat. We also had the half board option and the evening meals were 3 course traditional Greek cookery. The pool was first class and very clean. The property is well set back from the road so is quiet. Elaina ran the facility and was warm and friendly. If you are a natural complainer this may not be the place for you but if you don't like friendship, hospitality and generosity you probably shouldn't be in Greece anyway! the hotel has a slightly hippy bijou feel other guests with children loved the atmosphere and some had visited several times. Note the pool has a deep end.

Room tip: The whole hotel is quite
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Briam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

We spend three weeks in September in Dimitris´ in Matala and it was a nice experience for all of us. We booked for two rooms - one was in the house nearby the breakfast premisses and the nice swimming pool, the rooms are on the second floor (a little bit higher stairs - no elevator), the other in the building only one minute walk distant, with rooms also on the ground floor with a charming veranda. Our rooms were not five stars but corresponding with the price we had chosen - big enough for two and every day cleaned. If You are not in a honeymoon trip, book for a room with two separate beds as the double bed is not wide enough and every move next to You will awake You. All offered equipmets were functional - just a little bit weak shower. Only a couple of wire hangers in the wardrobe. Pack the hangers in Your suitcase as well as drying line, there is no facility for drying Your swimming costume and towel used at the sea.
Breakfast in a form of buffet is sufficient and nobody will limit Your appetite and hunger - good coffee or tea, outstanding greek bread and feta cheese, pastry, ham, eggs, butter, jam, excellent yoghurt, honey, fruits ... The stuff - mother and her doughter and the aunt are friendly and always willing to meet Your needs and wishes - our thanks to all of them!
The swimming pool at the breakfast premisses is 1st class - spacious and clean, surrounded by a lot of couchettes. The nearest Matala beach is reaaly just a stones´
throw away, but alwas crowded. We decided for the nearby beach Komos - much bigger (1 km long) without any beach facilities but possible to swim or sunbathe without swim suit. In Matala there are many taverns with delicious dishes. We realy enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: A very quiet location, parking at the premisses, helpful stuff, outstanding swimming pool and nice family atmosphere.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladislav49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night (2 persons) for around 54€. We became a very good breakfast, the rooms are simple but clean and roomy. We had a working AC and the pool is very nice and clean. The beach is just 5 min. from the accommodation but it's nevertheless a quiet place. There are good parking places direct in front of our room. Good Wifi in our room. The stuff are very friendly! :) thank you! We would come again!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marisolg429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

This "Rent Rooms" [you can see this stenciled on the side of the dormitory block], has recently changed name to "Dimitris Resort Hotel". First of all it is not a Hotel and is certainly not a Resort. The rooms seem to be at least 30 years old, they still have minuscule cathode ray tube televisions that must be at least 15 years old with hardly any foreign stations, the sheets are only changed on certain days even if they have been dirtied in any way.
The bathrooms are horrendous, minute shower in which your body cannot avoid touching the shower curtain whilst holding the actual shower head above you, as it does not keep in the position you put it. The towels are similar to sand paper, as they are washed and then dried in the harsh sun.... but to look on the bright side you get a free body scrub!!!
In a hotel or resort there is always someone at the reception during the night in case of emergencies, which is completely missing in this structure.
The only positive side is the pool area which is very nice.... but i wonder is it so nice because the owners and family hang out there during the day?

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pufftah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DimitrisHou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Dear Sir
first of all i wan to thank you for your choose to use our Hotel and Creta Island for your holidays this summer.
About your comments i have check your reservation and i see the follow:
1) you have choose the more cheepest package from OTA and you have agree with the standards of the accomotation (20 euro per days include the breakfast for 2 persons) is "what you pay is what you get"
2) in the DIMITRIS RESORT there are also Villas and Houses with 350 euro per night so you have the choise to use one of them if you pay ofcource
3) Also in the DIMITRIS RESORT there Hotel Rooms with 4 stars facility but the cost as we inform you is 120 euro per night.
4) you have choose BY YOUR SELF this package and i thing is very unfaith to complain now and to talk about our RESORT with this comments.
5) we call the place RESORT becouse is a complex of different building (25000 sq.m - 9 buildigs in the same area) for all the amounts.
Thank you again and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer.
Regards

Houstoulakis Dimitris
Owner of DIMITRIS HOTELS RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews